We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Interesting visit

We popped past on the way from Queenstown to Dunedin. A good and informative way to spend a few... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
TheJazzyGirl
,
Canberra, Australia
via mobile
An excellent excursion

This was a fantastic excursion for adults and children. The guide gave us information about the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Susan A
,
Adelaide, Australia
Read all 167 reviews
153
All photos (153)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good36%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“gold panning”(44 reviews)
“guided tour”(25 reviews)
“pan for gold”(21 reviews)
About
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
803 Kawarau Gorge Rd | State Highway 6, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
Website
+64 800 111 038
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Cromwell
from US$ 139.02
More Info
from US$ 115.27
More Info
from US$ 136.22
More Info
from US$ 108.28
More Info
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
84
57
14
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
84
57
14
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold panning guided tour pan for gold self guided real gold nuggets interesting visit gold rush jet boat ride chinese settlement movie set working machinery information given harsh conditions panning area great tour great insight
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We popped past on the way from Queenstown to Dunedin. A good and informative way to spend a few hours. You get to cross a bridge over a beautiful blue river. We did the guided tour to learn about the history of gold mining in...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank TheJazzyGirl
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a fantastic excursion for adults and children. The guide gave us information about the mine and how it came to be and he was very entertaining and informative. We had teenagers with us and they were absolutely enthralled by all this information. He...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Susan A
GoldfieldsMining, Guest Relations Manager at Goldfields Mining Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review Susan. We are glad you all enjoyed the place so much. I have responded to previous reviews about how hot it has been here this summer..so it is quite amusing to hear how cold you were during your visit. I...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is good value for money and interesting having a wander around and hearing the history of gold mining in the area. It's fun to even try some panning for gold - but the guide soon leaves you to your own devices which was a...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank DACWgtn
GoldfieldsMining, Guest Relations Manager at Goldfields Mining Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, once the guide has given the panning demonstration at the end of the tour, they have to come away to start the next tour.

Reviewed 11 January 2019

Sadly, we didn't leave enough time to really get our money's worth out of this. Best to leave 1.5 - 2hrs and do the tour properly. There is a great collection of mining relics here, as well as old buildings typical of the era.The guides...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank tmiller1079
GoldfieldsMining, Guest Relations Manager at Goldfields Mining Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you tmiller. We figure $25 for 2 hours entertainment is superb value however! You are right about a hat and sunscreen. We are experiencing some very hot days here.

Reviewed 6 January 2019

Costs 25NZ$ per adult and 10NZ$ for children, join a tour and learn some history about the place, handle some gold nuggets and the pan fir some gold. You can walk and see the old Chinese settlement which has been reconstructed, it is not in...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Duncan60
GoldfieldsMining, Guest Relations Manager at Goldfields Mining Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Duncan. Good call about the heat. It can be very hot later in the day.

Reviewed 5 January 2019

Good fun for all the family and our family all had a go at panning. Ten pans produced one decent flake and one smaller, of gold. They were worth I'm told over 30 dollars. Well worth a go. There are also some guided tours which...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Pat H
GoldfieldsMining, Guest Relations Manager at Goldfields Mining Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad you found a little something and perseverance was rewarded! Sorry to hear you didn't join our guides for a tour, as the admission price includes an hour with them as well.

Reviewed 17 December 2018

You have to cross a suspension bridge of sorts to get to the entry point. The tour and gold panning was $60 for 2 adults and 2 kids. The tour took in the history of gold mining in the region and some of the old...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank AJG35
GoldfieldsMining, Guest Relations Manager at Goldfields Mining Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you AJ. Indeed we have had some very hot days here this season. I guess you can say you got to experience conditions as they were for the early gold miners in high summer! However your thought about shade at the panning area is...More

Reviewed 10 December 2018 via mobile

Through the tour you get to see a few of the machinery that they use for gold mining. These machinery are actually still working and they give you a real life demonstration of how it works! After that they will demonstrate and let you have...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Flymehigh
GoldfieldsMining, Guest Relations Manager at Goldfields Mining Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2018

It sounds as though you did it all here. Always good to enjoy the guided part of the tour and see the old machinery running. Thank you for your review

Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

The staff at goldfields are wonderful , extremely helpful and informative. I have always wanted to go gold panning and it was so much fun! We then walked around the historic Mining village which was just awe inspiring, we loved this place and would highly...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank AmandaLeighSergent
GoldfieldsMining, Guest Relations Manager at Goldfields Mining Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2018

Thank you so much Amanda. We are glad you finally got to go gold panning!

Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

We made a spontaneous stop here with our two sons aged 6 and 10 and had two hours of adventure, learning and inspiration! The Chinese village was the highlight for the boys, imagining what life would have been like for the first miners... very harsh...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Ferunk
GoldfieldsMining, Guest Relations Manager at Goldfields Mining Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2018

Thank you for your review Dora. So glad you and your family stopped here by chance and had such a good time.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 nearby hotels
Anderson Park Motel
46 reviews
5.78 km away
Cromwell Motel
66 reviews
5.83 km away
ASURE Central Gold Motel Cromwell
136 reviews
6.09 km away
Colonial Manor Motel
162 reviews
6.12 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 41 nearby restaurants
The Winery Restaurant at Mt Difficulty
524 reviews
5.46 km away
Carrick Winery & Restaurant
301 reviews
6.49 km away
Monsoon
94 reviews
5.98 km away
Wild Earth Outdoor Kitchen & Cellar Door
351 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 63 nearby attractions
Highlands Motorsport Park
637 reviews
4.03 km away
Mt Difficulty Wines Cellar Door
157 reviews
5.45 km away
Domain Road Vineyard
30 reviews
3.93 km away
Cheeki Cherries
120 reviews
2.72 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
menctomas
26 September 2016|
Answer
Response from David L | Reviewed this property |
Not sure about public transport, We hired a car
0
Votes
Stephen G
31 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from NancyTR | Reviewed this property |
No idea, sorry.
0
Votes