We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 2254 Mouse Point Road | State Highway 7, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number: +64 3-315 7579
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
Description:

Marble Point Winery is situated just 13km south from the small alpine...

Marble Point Winery is situated just 13km south from the small alpine village of Hanmer Springs heading towards Christchurch. We are the only vineyard in this area; at 297m above sea level, we are among New Zealand's highest altitude vineyards. Our situation on the banks of the Waiau River and the micro climate it creates allows us to grows grapes where many people thought we would fail. Varieties grown are Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Riesling and Pinot Noir. We are open for tastings 10am to 5pm Daily.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 44 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 30
    Excellent
  • 9
    Very good
  • 3
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Lovely views

We stopped here for lunch on our way out of town...what a view. The lamb was HUGE! We had to have a wine too of course and the chardonnay was a great choice

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 October 2016
finediner78
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on our way out of town...what a view. The lamb was HUGE! We had to have a wine too of course and the chardonnay was a great choice

Helpful?
Thank finediner78
MPsHanmerSprings, Owner at Marble Point Winery, responded to this review

Great You Enjoyed Your Visit More 

White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

The setting is lovely. The winery is nestled is by a river with snow capped mountains as a backdrop. The perfect place to stop off we thought for lunch. We did a wine tasting before so we could choose a bottle to accompany our meal. The woman serving us told us there was a $5.00 charge for tasting but this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kateonthemove
MPsHanmerSprings, Owner at Marble Point Winery, responded to this review

We run 2 businesses here our cellar door and our restaurant, our restaurant purchases the wine at the same wholesale price as any other business and marks the wine up accordingly, the mother in law is $11 a glass or $45 bottle which contains 5 Std. glasses. If in the future we lease the business to another party they would... More 

Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We have been here twice with a car club for lunch. In December 2015 we had a separate back room with a wine tasting followed by lunch. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves. This time we had the main restaurant pretty much to ourselves with a few other patrons lurking around. The setting & view is so lovely. We had a set... More 

Helpful?
Thank Channon R
MPsHanmerSprings, Owner at Marble Point Winery, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate that you have taken the time. More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016

Both of us enjoyed our meal, friendly service and the nice location overlooking the river. Having made a prior reservation, it was disappointing that we had to ask for the wine list, glasses to go with the carafe of water that was brought to the table, a fork that was missing from the setting and condiments after the meals arrived.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hank145
MPsHanmerSprings, Owner at Marble Point Winery, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed our food and friendly and what we consider homely service. Sorry that your experience wasn't quite up to the mark, we are always endeavouring to be the best we can, although it only takes a slight upset with staffing or bookings to arrive late or early and we are unable to provide our usual high standard of... More 

nelson
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2016

Called twice in June, first time told us closed for annual holidays, second time website said open but still closed - 50+ kms from Hanmer for NOTHING. Had been before and food good but wouldn't bother again.

Helpful?
Thank gjbNelson
MPsHanmerSprings, Owner at Marble Point Winery, responded to this review

We are 13km from Hanmer Springs, if you ring to book our answer phone will always be up to date. We were closed for staff holidays from 6th June to 29th. This is the 3rd year we have done this and will continue to close each year around this time for staff holidays for 21 days. We try our best... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

We were here 6 years ago and had very fond memories of a cosy, small boutique winery. With that in mind we returned to recapture the atmosphere that was unique and welcoming. This time around we arrived to discover this place was almost unrecognizable. Not in a bad way though. Obviously success has meant this place has grown to accommodate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donna W
MPsHanmerSprings, Owner at Marble Point Winery, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your visit and our food. It's so nice that you appreciated our "old fashioned" service, exactly what we want to achieve "Home Away From Home" atmosphere where everyone feels welcome More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

We decided to take a drive from Hanmer Springs on a Sunday. We were greeted by a lovely waitress who showed us to our table recommending we remain inside due to the high winds outside (she was right!) We arrived after 1pm which left us with limited range on the menu. The apricot chicken was plentiful but sadly didn't wow... More 

Helpful?
Thank CharBP
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2016

We have driven past so many times waiting for a chance to stop in without kids! Lovely spot we sat out front in the sun and both had a lovely lunch. Husband had some excellent wild venison, was very tasty- they only had so many that day and that was the last lunch plate! I had a vegetarian Lasagna with... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlynaNZER
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2016

Marble Point Winery was the perfect venue for our recent wedding. We were lucky enough to have amazing weather to highlight this beautiful venue. All guests were blown away by the stunning views of the mountains and the Waiau River. Sheryl, Conrad, Olivia and the team at Marble Point were extremely accommodating both in the lead-up to the wedding and... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoshSSmith83
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2015

This was recently the venue for our wedding reception and the staff, food choices and views were all fantastic. The menu options we chose were brilliant with all the guests commenting on the quality, taste and quantity of the canapés and main meal not forgetting the cheesecake! The staff were superb and accommodating throughout and assisted with small bites for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reiverslaw
MPsHanmerSprings, Owner at Marble Point Winery, responded to this review

All the staff say thanks for your wonderful review. Your wedding was a pleasure to host, thanks very much for choosing to come to Marble Point More 

Travellers who viewed Marble Point Winery also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Marble Point Winery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Marble Point Winery and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Marble Point Winery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?