We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wookey Hole Caves

Wookey Hole BA5 1BB, England
+44 1749 672243
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Day out

Cave tour was great, the tour guide was very good with great humour. The complex itself was lacking... read more

Reviewed 23 July 2017
Lee M
via mobile
Brilliant fun

I visited this attraction a couple of days ago and it was throughly enjoyed by both the children... read more

Reviewed 23 July 2017
janebP4608DI
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
Read all 3,355 reviews
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
A series of caves that sheltered Stone Age people.
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good28%
  • Average18%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“crazy golf” (376 reviews)
“circus show” (304 reviews)
“penny arcade” (390 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
LOCATION
Wookey Hole BA5 1BB, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1749 672243
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"crazy golf"
in 376 reviews
"circus show"
in 304 reviews
"penny arcade"
in 390 reviews
"paper making"
in 267 reviews
"dinosaur park"
in 104 reviews
"other attractions"
in 189 reviews
"soft play"
in 167 reviews
"local children"
in 34 reviews
"cinema experience"
in 50 reviews
"ice cream parlour"
in 67 reviews
"great family day"
in 55 reviews
"guided tour"
in 129 reviews
"indoor play area"
in 56 reviews
"cave aged cheese"
in 43 reviews
"year olds"
in 35 reviews
"mirror"
in 599 reviews
"maze"
in 437 reviews
Filter

441 - 450 of 3,340 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Cave tour was great, the tour guide was very good with great humour. The complex itself was lacking really, to much like a circus and going away from the witch and caves theme. The diving museum was very informative, the 4d cinema great for the...More

Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

I visited this attraction a couple of days ago and it was throughly enjoyed by both the children and adults. Main highlights were the 4D cinema and the great talk by our tour guide Sally, who was very knowledgeable about the caves.

Thank janebP4608DI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

I cant say how disappointing this visit was and at £19/person. I wont be recommending this as a place to visit to anyone going down to Somerset for their holidays. The caves were good but the "Resort" itself was run down and very very tired...More

1  Thank W7360QSkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WookeyHole, Manager at Wookey Hole Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear W7360QSkaren, Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry you were disappointed with your visit, we actively promote our Resort as caves and attractions, offering an all in one ticket price, it is of course up to the visitor what they wish to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We like Wookey hole caves and have been more than once, but this time I left feeling disappointed. It's quite a lot of money for a family of four, over £50, so average for a day out I guess, but this I don't feel is...More

Thank LMD123-456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WookeyHole, Manager at Wookey Hole Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear LMD123-456, Thank you for your recent review. The caves admittance for one tour is usually enough for visitors, as there is so much to see and do. The glow-sticks are normally a welcome addition for children and parents, it is a nice distraction and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

We went on the Wookey Hole cave trip,and we're lead to be believed that the tour would take 2hrs,it didn't it lasted about 40 mins,and at £18 each we were not happy at all.The tour's good but not worth £18.

Thank stuart p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

So since my last visit some 15+ years ago there has been some investment at Wookey Hole. The fact that there are now Dinosaurs added little interest to the short time we spent at what should have been a full day's activities, bearing in mind...More

Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WookeyHole, Manager at Wookey Hole Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Jon D, Thank you for your recent review. The caves have long been on a guided tour, offering visitors an insight to the history of the caves with an experienced guide. Tours are usually 40-45 minutes in duration, it is quite tricky to make...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

The caves are ok, but at £50 for 2 adults and a child are overpriced. The website states there are '20 fantastic attractions' included in the ticket price. This might be true if you visited in the 1970's, they are tired and a complete rip-off....More

1  Thank Antoknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WookeyHole, Manager at Wookey Hole Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Antoknee, Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry you thought our attractions were overpriced and tired. Our ticket prices are actually in line with our local competitors and we believe that our many attractions offers great value for money, for all the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Almost £50 to get in for 2 adults and a child. Top Tip: book tickets in advance to save 10%. Don't do it from the car park. Only had GPRS signal, took FIFTEEN MINUTES and 5% of phone battery to buy tickets. Managed to drink...More

Thank emjayjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WookeyHole, Manager at Wookey Hole Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Emjayjay, Thank you for your recent review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the caves, they are normally the highlight for many of our visitors. Families usually love the indoor play castle, along with the circus show, 4D cinema, dinosaurs and adventure golf....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

To reach the other attractions you have to do the cave tour. Fine for the adults but our grandchildren 9 4 and 2 years old were bored and they couldn't see very well because of all the adults. One or two small children were crying...More

Thank Janis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WookeyHole, Manager at Wookey Hole Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Janis C, Thank you for your recent review. We believe there may have been a misunderstanding regarding the route around the attractions, the caves are optional, you can access the rest of the attractions via two other routes, without having to enter the caves....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Very disappointed in this attraction and all it had to offer. The adult price was £19 pound but I had a 15% discount voucher from the hotel which still did not make up for the disappointment. It was just like a walk through a plain...More

Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WookeyHole, Manager at Wookey Hole Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Carol B, Thank you for your recent review, and we are sorry to learn you were disappointed with your visit to the caves. This is most unusual and we have never heard our caves called plain and uninteresting. We have also recently opened up...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Wookey Hole Hotels
Wookey Hole Hotel
1,122 reviews
.30 km away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
223 reviews
2.69 km away
The White Hart Hotel
353 reviews
2.69 km away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1,031 reviews
2.73 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Wookey Hole Inn
356 reviews
.33 km away
The Ring O'Bells Inn
173 reviews
2.54 km away
Strangers with coffee
249 reviews
2.67 km away
The Bistro
18 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wookey Hole Magical Mirror Maze
410 reviews
.24 km away
Ebbor Gorge
126 reviews
1.34 km away
Wookey Hole
112 reviews
.17 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Anna M
23 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from PaulineReading | Reviewed this property |
Our tour around the caves took about 45 minutes so it depends what else you want to do.
0
Votes
aimeewills
19 November 2017|
Answer
Response from denisegodfrey588 | Reviewed this property |
No I haven't done the winter wonder land, is that £140 for just one night stay?
0
Votes
Kita B
18 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Elaine P | Reviewed this property |
Hi The only extras are the penny arcade - if you want to go on the slot machines - only old pennies can be used and so need to be purchased, ice-creams, food and souvenirs. Included in the price: Free car parking, caves... More
0
Votes