We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wookey Hole Caves

Wookey Hole BA5 1BB, England
+44 1749 672243
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Short but a good day!

The ticket prices are a little expensive (but you save 10% online and it's much quicker) you get a... read more

Reviewed 27 July 2017
Rjenkins88
via mobile
Would never pay for this

We stayed at the hot tub lodges over the road so got free entry. I wouldn't pay a penny to get in... read more

Reviewed 27 July 2017
Beav8792
via mobile
Read all 3,348 reviews
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
A series of caves that sheltered Stone Age people.
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good28%
  • Average18%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“crazy golf” (376 reviews)
“circus show” (304 reviews)
“penny arcade” (390 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
LOCATION
Wookey Hole BA5 1BB, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1749 672243
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"crazy golf"
in 376 reviews
"circus show"
in 304 reviews
"penny arcade"
in 390 reviews
"paper making"
in 267 reviews
"dinosaur park"
in 104 reviews
"other attractions"
in 189 reviews
"soft play"
in 167 reviews
"local children"
in 34 reviews
"cinema experience"
in 50 reviews
"ice cream parlour"
in 67 reviews
"great family day"
in 55 reviews
"guided tour"
in 129 reviews
"indoor play area"
in 56 reviews
"cave aged cheese"
in 43 reviews
"year olds"
in 35 reviews
"mirror"
in 599 reviews
"maze"
in 437 reviews
Filter

421 - 430 of 3,333 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

The ticket prices are a little expensive (but you save 10% online and it's much quicker) you get a good access to everything on site such as the golf, gardens and caves. I wasn't able to go into the 4d cinema as I was pregnant,...More

Thank Rjenkins88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the hot tub lodges over the road so got free entry. I wouldn't pay a penny to get in this place. It's so so so run down, dirty and just weird!!! Didn't even let the boys in the play area inside ....More

3  Thank Beav8792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WookeyHole, Manager at Wookey Hole Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Beav8792, Thank you for your recent review, however we were most distressed to read your comments. Whilst we are thrilled you enjoyed the luxury lodge with hot tub, we feel your comments about our attractions are most unfair. To start with, we are home...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

We visited Wookey Hole with 2 small children but we thought the caves were very interesting, towards the end of the tour the kids started to get a little bored and scared so was happy the tour wasn't too long, I have a fear of...More

Thank Pickypie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Visited with family. It's a cave with some light bulbs in it and a few rocks that vaugly look like things. Some of the rocks are different sizes. Definitely not worth £68 for 2 adults and 2 young children although the dinosaurs are made out...More

Thank supermong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WookeyHole, Manager at Wookey Hole Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Supermong, Thank you for your recent review. It is sad to hear you did not enjoy our spectacular caves, they are a natural wonder and normally the highlight for our visitors. Yes, there are lightbulbs to enhance certain features, and there are many rock...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

visited here on sunday , when we entered caves it was misty drizzle , when we excited some half hour later it was biblical !! absolutely no shelter from the exit all open walkways , totally soaked through before you reach a building . however,...More

Thank binkynsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Had a really fantastic time, well worth the money,Cave tour very good the guide was enthusiastic and fun. 4D experience was really good. Circus show well all I can say is WOW absolutely Fantastic. Mirrors great fun, being able to have ago at making paper...More

1  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

After paying just over £60 for us to get in, we were really disappointed, the place looked tired and run down. The staff seemed disinterested. We were bored after an hour so went home. We would have had lunch there but the variety was awful....More

Thank 19stu321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WookeyHole, Manager at Wookey Hole Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear 19stu321, Thank you for your recent review, it is shame you left disappointed. We actively promote our offering, giving visitors the chance to make an informed decision before entering. The ticket includes over 20 attractions, including the guided cave tour, dinosaur valley, 4D cinema,...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Wookey hole is so much more than just caves. The 40 min tour of the caves was informative and very interesting to hear the long history of the place After the caves you can take your pick of what to do next. There's a good...More

1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Caves were interesting but sadly the rest of the attraction was of poor quality and the refreshment options were diabolical. If nothing else if you are visiting my advice would be to take a picnic or visit Cheddar!More

Thank kathleenac2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WookeyHole, Manager at Wookey Hole Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Kathleenac2016, Thank you for your recent review. We are glad you enjoyed the caves, the entrance ticket includes all of our other attractions too, which we actively promote on our website and leaflet. We pride ourselves on the beautiful caves and an extensive range...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

We paid £68 to go in ,our main reason was to visit the caves which were only 35 mins and we expected it to be much longer, as that was the main attraction. Once we had done the caves, the other attractions such as the...More

2  Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WookeyHole, Manager at Wookey Hole Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Emily K, Thank you for your recent review. The cave tours are scheduled to run every ten minutes during the holiday season, each tour lasting approximately 40 minutes. The adventure golf is included in your ticket price, as detailed on the information sheet given...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Wookey Hole Hotels
Wookey Hole Hotel
1,118 reviews
.30 km away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
222 reviews
2.69 km away
The White Hart Hotel
352 reviews
2.69 km away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1,029 reviews
2.73 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Wookey Hole Inn
356 reviews
.33 km away
The Ring O'Bells Inn
170 reviews
2.54 km away
Strangers with coffee
248 reviews
2.67 km away
The Bistro
18 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wookey Hole Magical Mirror Maze
409 reviews
.24 km away
Ebbor Gorge
126 reviews
1.34 km away
Wookey Hole
110 reviews
.17 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Anna M
23 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from PaulineReading | Reviewed this property |
Our tour around the caves took about 45 minutes so it depends what else you want to do.
0
Votes
aimeewills
19 November 2017|
Answer
Response from denisegodfrey588 | Reviewed this property |
No I haven't done the winter wonder land, is that £140 for just one night stay?
0
Votes
Kita B
18 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Elaine P | Reviewed this property |
Hi The only extras are the penny arcade - if you want to go on the slot machines - only old pennies can be used and so need to be purchased, ice-creams, food and souvenirs. Included in the price: Free car parking, caves... More
0
Votes