Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park

Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park

Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park
4
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
About
The Otorohanga Kiwi House and Native Bird Park is a great place to see NZ's iconic kiwi birds up close & active in special moonlit nocturnal enclosures. There are 20 kiwi on site involved in the captive breeding programme and 4 or more on display in the nocturnal enclosures. There's also a great range of other native New Zealand birds & reptiles. We are just 15 minutes from the world famous Waitomo Glowworm Caves and are owned and operated by a non-profit organisation dedicated to New Zealand conservation. Everything we earn is re-invested in the care of the animals and the operation of the park. Daily Keeper Talks: •10:30am kiwi •11:00am kea & kaka (native parrots) •12:00pm red-crowned kakariki (parakeets) • 1:30pm kiwi • 2:30pm NZ long fin eels • 3.30 pm kiwi The Otorohanga Kiwi House is open daily (except Christmas day) from 10.00 am - 4.00 pm (last admission 3.15pm). All tickets are valid for 2 days.
Duration: 1-2 hours
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park and nearby attractions

See what travellers are saying
  • Bborell
    Manurewa, New Zealand7 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    These are not circus animals
    Awesome native bird sanctuary. Unlike others I’ve been to around the country this is a bird sanctuary first and tourist attraction second not the other way round. Birds have much larger enclosures with natural settings, space to properly fly and places to roost. I found if you enter and stay very still and quiet for a while the birds tend to forget you and go about their business. For this reason small children might find it hard to get the most out of the birds but still worth a visit. Kiwi enclosure too seemed a decent size. Cameras in the nesting boxes also meant you can see what’s happening without disturbing them. Highly recommend.
    Visited October 2022
    Travelled solo
    Written 24 August 2023
  • Jessica
    Melbourne, Australia41 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Stunning Birds
    Although we didn’t see a kiwi, and we didn’t have time to go back and try another day, like we were offered. There were heaps of other birds there, the ducks that dove completely under the water and swam under the water was fascinating to watch, I’ve seen many ducks, but never any that dove so whole bodied under the water. The Kākā are beautiful and you could hear them as soon as you got close. The Kereru were beautiful and much bigger than you’d expect. All of the birds were in good condition and clearly well cared for.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 2 September 2023
  • Jules
    Diss, United Kingdom4 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    1st on my list was to go here
    Got off the plane from UK & went directly here despite 34hrs travelling. The kiwis put in an appearance several times. So many other birds,reptiles etc to see. Good value for money & enjoyed the various keepers talks,very interesting.
    Visited November 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 17 December 2023
  • billgardner1
    Brampton, Canada17 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fun place to see kiwi birds
    This is a wonderful experience. They have two full grown kiwi birds, who are in a large area, and easy to see. They have natural earth where the kiwi can find normal insects to eat. They do a quite interesting tak about kiwis twice a day, well worth listening to. The rest of the bird and other critters is nice to see. We highly recommend this place to visit, if you are anywhere in the area. Inexpensive relative to other wildlife parks.
    Visited December 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 23 December 2023
  • oceansnz
    46 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Amazing kiwi and more!
    Absolutely loved it. Thank you for all your efforts in helping keep kiwi in NZ. The kiwis are so special. Felt very lucky to see them. Loved the rest of the facility too. Gorgeous enclosures. Very happy to support this important work. You could definitely make a request to visitors for extra donations!
    Visited February 2024
    Travelled with friends
    Written 10 February 2024
  • sunbonnettrio
    Vancouver, Canada6 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nice Experience but you may not get great photos of kiwis!
    We appreciated their kiwi conservation efforts, and we learned a lot from the Kiwi Talk we attended with one of the staff people. Highly recommend attending one of these talks to learn more about kiwis - our staffperson leading the talk was extremely open to questions. Just adjust your expectations - we didn't know they were nocturnal and would be tough to see! Our pictures aren't the best but we did our enjoy our time here.
    Visited February 2024
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 19 February 2024
  • Janka K
    Brno, Czech Republic8,168 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Pet kiwi feathers that are available as samples at the cash desk
    An amazing place where you find live kiwis, a lot of information about them and also some stuffed kiwis to imagine their actual size. And they are much bigger than I had imagined them to be. Live kiwis are hard to spot, because the animals are active during dusk and their living environment is darker. So don't be disappointed when you don't see them in the bright daylight. What I found especially nice about this place is an option to touch real feathers of 3 different types of kiwi. The feathers are available as samples glued to paper and the staff working at the place will show them to you after you ask. Besides kiwis, the place has a small zoo with other native birds and lizards of New Zealand.
    Visited December 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 24 February 2024
  • Explorer
    422 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Chance to see Kiwi in nocturnal setting.
    This has potential but at the moment is undergoing much needed major refurbishment. It was still possible to walk round to see the birds, geckos & eels but the site is very tired. We did see an active Kiwi in the night zone. I was disappointed that there were no talks. Apparently there have been none all week due to keeper illness. However there was a member of staff in reception who answered questions.
    Visited March 2024
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 23 March 2024
  • Addison M
    14 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Got to see a kiwi!
    There was basically no chance that we were going to see a kiwi in the wild (they only come out at night, they’re small and hard to spot, and they’re extremely rare/endangered), so this was second-best! They had a “dark room” where one kiwi was out and about in his enclosure. We watched him run back and forth for quite a while. He was so cute! And I'm just so glad I got to see one while in New Zealand! This place also had an aviary, a bunch of other rescued birds, reptiles, and a really cute gift shop.
    Visited March 2024
    Travelled with family
    Written 6 May 2024
  • evenstar944
    New York City, New York304 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Worth a Visit to See Kiwi
    If I did not have a chance to see a Kiwi, I probably would have rated this park as average. Overall the park has a bit of a run down and tired feel to it. There were also some closed off areas and what looked to be construction going on, so they might be in the middle of rennovations. There were some winding paths surrounded by lush trees and plants that took you to see the birds and reptiles. There was a nice aviary there as well. I was able to see one Kiwi in the nocturnal house. It ran back and forth along the window foraging for food. It was an adorable sight to see and I thought it looked much bigger than I imagined they would be. No photos are allowed in the Kiwi House, so if you want to get a picture they do have some taxidermy Kiwi when you first enter. The park had some other interesting birds such as the Kereru/ NZ pigeon, oystercatchers, various ducks, kakariri, plovers and geckos. The park offers keeper talks on Kiwi's and other birds. They did not coincide with the time I was there so I did not get to experience them. Overall worth a visit to see Kiwi and if you have a particular interest in native NZ birds.
    Visited February 2024
    Travelled with family
    Written 4 July 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles763 reviews
Excellent
331
Very good
271
Average
92
Poor
39
Terrible
30

PETER S
Sydney, Australia86 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020
We where driving from Auckland to New Plymouth, decided to call in at 12 noon to see the Kiwis .On a .previous trip to the Caves we had visited a Kiwi Breeding place which was close to the caves. This Kiwi House seemed to be very different, only just saw one Kiwi in the flesh only other one was on a TV screen., They told us a Kiwi talk at 2pm, but no Kiwi feeding.. The charge of NZ $26.00 per adult not worth while for the other outdoor attractions. Not very well maintained outdoor areas. If you are in Wellington visit the Zoo ,charge NZ$ 27.00 per adult , we saw two Kiwis running around in their indoor area.Lots of other animals to see. Lots of hills to walk up and down. Parking on the streets a problem.
Written 8 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for coming to see us, we're sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience. There are two kiwi in each enclosure, so seeing one is a good start. We aim to release our kiwi back to the wild, so they are not trained at all - they do things in their own time, and don't seem to give much of a hoot what the humans want, sadly. Seeing one in the enclosure is actually doing pretty well :-) As we aim to keep our critters wild, feeding times vary from day to day, based on the needs of the creature. The talk times are at set times each day, and usually take around 10 - 15 minutes with a Q&A at the end. Kiwi talks are held at 1030am, 130pm, and 330pm, kea and kaka at 11am, kakariki at 12 noon, and the longfin eel at 230pm. Our keeper team is very passionate about the critters and love talking about them and sharing their knowledge. Usually the trick is getting them to stop talking! We are currently embarking on a 4-year redevelopment of the park, so expect progress on the outdoor areas - as with all good things, it will take time but be well worth it in the end.
Written 8 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Maggie P
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 • Friends
I visited The Kiwi House yesterday and I was very disappointed as there were hardly any birds or wildlife available for viewing. Most of the enclosures along the walking route were empty. There were a lot of posters pinned up about the different birds, but the real thing wasn’t there! Poor overall maintenance of enclosures and water areas, place looked neglected. The person with me yesterday had visited this facility many years ago and she said there was a lot more to see back then so comparing it to yesterday’s visit, she said the place had really gone downhill. We did see a Kiwi in the indoor viewing enclosure, outdoors....ducks, an owl, a couple varieties of small birds, an eagle, and a green gecko.
For the adult admission price of NZ$26, I truly felt ripped off.
Written 10 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for visiting. I'm sorry to hear your experience didn't meet your expectations. Sadly NZ wildlife can be a bit cryptic and difficult to see. We find the animals in our collection will take shelter if disturbed or on really hot afternoons. If you'd like to discuss your experience further please don't hesitate to contact me directly at manager@kiwihouse.org.nz
Written 12 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KarenM1_10
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan1,044 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
Since we arrived early in the day we were looking for something to do in the area. We spotted a sign for the Kiwi House and thought we’d give it a try. The park has an aviary, reptiles and of course the star attraction, the Kiwi bird. They provide a map when you arrive, but they have such a well-marked walking path you really don’t need it. Since the Kiwi birds are nocturnal you have to view them in a dark environment with limited lighting. You may have to come back a couple times before you actually see one moving around. I’m glad we came here because this was the best of the several facilities we visited where we could actually view one well. You can’t hold any of the birds or reptiles in the park but my husband actually participated with the guidance of a park employee in feeding an eel. They also have talks scheduled throughout the day involving their animals. If you want to see the animal feedings or hear the talks, call before going to get the schedule because the park is on the small side and you can easily see everything in 1-2 hours, plus time for any talks you plan to attend.
Written 19 April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for coming to see us, and sharing your thoughts - it's very much appreciated Viewing the kiwi can take time, but it's worth it in the end - watching them bop around their enclosure, completely oblivious to the humans watching them, is quite neat. We keep our kiwi as wild as possible as the end goal is to release them to the wild, so their behaviours are as close as possible to seeing them in the wild as we can make it. This does mean, though, that they operate to their own schedule with nary a care to what we may want. We're not doing the talks at the moment, due to the social distancing protocols, but visitors are encouraged to ask any of the staff around the park if they have any questions. Usually the problem is getting them to stop!
Written 6 June 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Em
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 • Couples
What joy seeing kiwi running around their enclosure snuffling up bugs from the ground. Such friendly staff who gave us so much time answering all our questions about the birds and the conservation efforts in NZ. We went on a rainy day and plenty of coverings and birds out. They’re not for profit - so your entry charge really is a donation towards saving these amazing NZ birds from extinction - a kiwi chick had just hatched the day we visited!
Written 7 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks so much for coming to see us, we're rapt that you enjoyed it! We just love answering people's questions about the critters we have here in the park - quite often the problem is to get us to stop talking about them :-) It's even better when they ask a question we don't know the answer to, because we then have a chance to learn something new! The kiwi are super fun to watch, and they don't realise they are being watched, so all their behaviors are as close as possible to how they would act out in the wild. Seeing as we plan to release them to the wild, we do our best not to make them tame. One of the best things about this work is hearing and seeing people fall in love with the kiwi - the fight to get the numbers back up in the face of predation and habitat loss is a massive community effort, and we couldn't do it without the help and support of our visitors :-) To keep up to date with what's happening in the park, check out our Facebook page and YouTube channel - we keep them updated regularly with bits and bobs about the critters we love so much!
Written 12 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Fred
Palmerston North, New Zealand3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022
The park needs a major upgrade, which is currently underway. However, a large section of the park is currently closed for upgrades. It is unfair to charge full price for access of only a portion of the park. The aviary is lovely and peaceful filled with birdsong. It is a pity however that this is ruined by major noisy construction work adjacent (on the property). Maybe it would be better to shut the park completely during renovations. It is not worth spending money on a visit at this time.
Written 1 November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mark Jackson
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020
I could go around the park at my own pace, viewed all parts more than once. Plenty to see. the longer you take the more you see. inside the big aviary just stop and wait for the birds to come to you. All staff friendly and will talk to you about the attractions. Spent 3 hours there, and will return again.
Written 29 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for coming to see us, we appreciate your support! We're rapt that you enjoyed it - the self-guiding aspect has an appeal all of its own, and taking your time can certainly pay off. Some of the critters can be quite cryptic, so taking the time to spot them is recommended. The skinks and geckos are a prime example of this, as well as the humble kiwi. We're more than happy to talk about our birds and beasties - usually the problem is getting our staff to stop talking about them! We do daily talks on the critters - the kiwi at 1030am, 130pm, and 330pm, the kea and kaka at 11am, karariki at 12 noon, and longfin eels at 230pm. The kakariki and eel talks are also close encounter opportunities - you can have a chance to feed the kakariki and eels, and get quite close to them!
Written 31 July 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

388kathg
Wellington, New Zealand69 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2020 • Family
This was amazing! Our bird life really is incredible and to see them up close was special. Well laid out park, super caring staff, and the birds really have an amazing nature park to live in. Highlights are the NZ Falcon, morepork, cheeky kaka, Kakariki and geckos. Go and see it!
Written 1 June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for coming to see us, and taking the time to share your experience - we're rapt that you enjoyed it so much! We're very fortunate in New Zealand with having such an amazing and diverse range of bird and reptile life, and being able to see it up close can be quite thrilling - a lot of NZ natives are "cryptic" and like to hide, so spotting them in the wild can be a case of "possible, but not probable." Our gecko are a case in point - the amount of times you can be looking straight at them and not be able to see them until they move or blink. Their camo is VERY good ;-) Our Keeper staff take turns doing daily talks on the critters at set times. We do talks on the kiwi at 1030am, 130pm, and 330pm, on the kea and kaka at 11am, the kakariki at 12 noon, and the long fin eels at 230pm. The talks are a great way to learn a bit more about some of New Zealands amazing wildlife.
Written 14 June 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Raymond B
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022
We thought we would visit the Otorohanga Kiwi House and see a Kiwi live and up close but boy were we disappointed and left feeling absolutely ripped off and taken for fools. After paying expensive tickets the Kiwi enclosure was so dark that you could hardly see a thing and after trying for 45 minutes to view a Kiwi, we left extremely frustrated.
There were quite a few other tourists/visitors who also experienced the same situation, and it is wrong that this organization can actively promote its product and advertise the viewing of a Kiwi when this is not the case.
They should at least have a disclaimer notifying customers that there is no guarantee that you will be able to view a Kiwi and by not doing so they are bringing the New Zealand tourist industry into disrepute.
Shame on you Kiwi House and Otorohanga for conducting your business operation in such an unseemly manner.
Written 24 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for coming to see us, and taking the time to share your experience. We're sorry you didn't have any luck spotting the kiwi. We are a breed for release facility, and as such, our kiwi are kept wild and not habituated to humans. They operate on their own schedule, which does mean that there are times when they will not be visible. We do have signage up that states this fact, I'm sorry you didn't see it. Did you advise any of our staff about this issue? We also have signage up advising all of our guests that if they have any issues seeing any of our critters to come and ask the staff - we are more than happy to help you out, but we need to be advised that there is an issue before we can sort it out. We likewise offer people the choice of a refund or an extension on their ticket if they tell us that they didn't see the kiwi. Please feel free to email us at manager@kiwihouse.org.nz to discuss your visit, and how we can make it up to you.
Written 24 October 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Chloe G
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2024 • Family
Do not waste your money, it's understandable that Kiwis are nocturnal, however this is basically 2 dark rooms...you would be lucky to spot a Kiwi and even if you manage to spot one, you can't see them well at all.
This is not the only problem half the place is closed or under maintenance. The enclosures were poorly maintained..everything looked run down and many were empty.
It really was a terrible waste of time.
Written 14 April 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Bborell
Manurewa, New Zealand7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 • Solo
Awesome native bird sanctuary. Unlike others I’ve been to around the country this is a bird sanctuary first and tourist attraction second not the other way round. Birds have much larger enclosures with natural settings, space to properly fly and places to roost. I found if you enter and stay very still and quiet for a while the birds tend to forget you and go about their business. For this reason small children might find it hard to get the most out of the birds but still worth a visit. Kiwi enclosure too seemed a decent size. Cameras in the nesting boxes also meant you can see what’s happening without disturbing them. Highly recommend.
Written 25 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 665
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Otorohanga Kiwi House & Native Bird Park (2024) All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

All things to do in Otorohanga
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire