We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hafren

Closed Now: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Review Highlights
Going to the Movies at the Theatr

Since retiring, we have got into the habit of going to the 'Movie Matineé' at The Hafren, usually... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
FiftyFifty5050
,
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Max Boyce and Bromwen Lewis

Lovely little theatre! Restaurant wasn't open at the time of our visit but thoroughly enjoyed the... read more

Reviewed 5 February 2019
rlilly69
,
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Read all 15 reviews
4
All photos (4)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good20%
  • Average6%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
About
A 548 seat Theatre in the heart of Mid Wales providing a very varied range of shows from Community through to Opera
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Llanidloes Road, Newtown SY16 4HU, Wales
Website
+44 1686 614555
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
11
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
11
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable seats at reasonable prices small town friendly staff theatre entertainment interval max audience stage comedian website venue phone tickets
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Since retiring, we have got into the habit of going to the 'Movie Matineé' at The Hafren, usually on a Wednesday afternoon and showing about once a month. Films are aired at 1.30pm and tickets are great value at £4.00 per head; no assigned seats,...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank FiftyFifty5050
Reviewed 5 February 2019

Lovely little theatre! Restaurant wasn't open at the time of our visit but thoroughly enjoyed the show!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank rlilly69
Reviewed 10 December 2018

This theatre has big name acts during the course of the year, at very reasonable prices. Have seen The Searcher several times and taken the whole family (aged 4 to 65) to see Horrible History Christmas show.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank nannyp00h
TheHafrenNewtown, Public Relations Manager at The Hafren, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

That's very kind of you to say, thank you

Reviewed 24 November 2018

Great to have a nice local theatre with good quality productions at reasonable prices. Good parking.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Karen W
Reviewed 6 September 2018

A good selection of shows to suit everyone's taste, comfortable seats and all seats seem to have a good view of the stage. A good bar area where you can buy a drink before or during the interval of the show. A great asset to...More

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank craigdwilliams
TheHafrenNewtown, Public Relations Manager at The Hafren, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you

Reviewed 18 March 2018

Had been here about twenty years ago; glad that it was still a good venue for entertainment, The staff helpful and friendly. The drinks at pub prices, unusual for a theatre. The theatre itself had excellent views of the stage in all parts as far...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Terry S
TheHafrenNewtown, Public Relations Manager at The Hafren, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you very much for that lovely review Terry, so glad you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Reviewed 30 January 2018

We have been visiting here for many years to see shows, dance, comedians and also listen to concerts. Always encounter friendly staff, as well as when booking over the phone. Great free parking just outside. Comfortable seats, good views. Not one for frequenting the bar...More

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Cecil H
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We've seen a few shows and we have never been disappointed. The chairs are quite comfortable, the staff are really friendly and organised and the facilities are great.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank nikkif924
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Twice I've attended concerts at this theatre and twice I've bought a seat in the front row when tickets went on sale, as I wished specifically to sit in the front row. On both occasions, on the night I discovered I was in the 4th...More

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank Diana S
scooteriow, Public Relations Manager at The Hafren, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Hi Diana, We can't put sit at the back of the seating unit because there is no room there. We only need the 2 extra rows on a sell-out and it would be silly to have those rows full when there is plenty of room...More

Reviewed 27 March 2017

Very good. Lovely bar to go in before show and in interval. Whatever show I have been to was just amazing, feel like I relax back in the seats. Always enjoy myself.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank LizzyEvans1
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
The Elephant & Castle Hotel
213 reviews
2.03 km away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
453 reviews
5.30 km away
Gregynog Hall
170 reviews
6.95 km away
Talbot Hotel
116 reviews
13.91 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 66 nearby restaurants
Cafe Brisco
116 reviews
1.95 km away
La Terrazza Bistro
231 reviews
1.70 km away
Parkers
191 reviews
1.98 km away
Dolau Inn
81 reviews
1.87 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 20 nearby attractions
Mid Wales Off Road
24 reviews
7.02 km away
Newtown Textile Museum
18 reviews
2.08 km away
Dolforwyn Castle
35 reviews
7.48 km away
The Sportsman
19 reviews
1.99 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Hafren staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines