We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dive Point Zanzibar

Features Animals
Matemwe, Tanzania
More
About Dive Point Zanzibar
We are a friendly dive centre situated on the north coast of Zanzibar, in Matemwe, near Muyuni Beach, just opposite the famous Mnemba Atoll. We also have a branch on the tip of Zanzibar, Nungwi. You can dive all the north of Zanzibar with one dive centre. Come diving with us and we will show you the exciting underwater world of Zanzibar.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
See all hours
Travellers talk about
Recommended experiences in and around Zanzibar Island
from $139.99
More Info
from $75.00
More Info
from $51.29
More Info
from $34.62
More Info

Dive Point Zanzibar
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
327Reviews7Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 290
  • 25
  • 6
  • 3
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Andrea wrote a review Sep 2022
Hof bei Salzburg, Austria10 contributions2 helpful votes
Well organized and very friendly. Thank you Hamisi and all the great dive and snorkel guides for this great experience we where having with you.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Hoser1979 wrote a review Aug 2022
New Braunfels, Texas2 contributions1 helpful vote
I wish I could post a positive review about this dive operation, but the low level of professionalism and lack of responsibility prevent me from doing this. I am a seasoned diver(300+ dives) and my husband is a PADI Instructor. Issues we faced during August 7-13. We scheduled two dives a day. Unfortunately there was a major incident that soiled our view of diving in Zanzibar: 1. We never received a dive briefing from our assigned Dive Master. 2. On one particular day, my husband and I backrolled into the water, only to be met by an extremely strong down current. We were instantly swept down to 90 feet. 3. At the bottom, we realized our diver master was not there. We looked up and did not see him. 4. We spent the next 30 minutes (at 90 feet) trying to work our way up the sandy bottom and out of the down current. Once we were able to do this, my husband signaled that we needed to go up slowly (even though we rapidly were sucked down to 90 feet after entering the water). 5. Once we surfaced, we realized that there was NO BOAT in sight. The waves were fairly steep due to the windy conditions. We extended our Orange Dive Sausage and floated on our backs for over 20 minutes. We were exhausted. 6. We finally saw a boat in the distance. It moved slowly toward us. 7. After 60 minutes we were loaded back on our boat, where we were informed of 3 things: a. The boat had left us to take the remaining divers to a new location that did not have the extreme down current. b. Our dive master informed the rest of our group that he believed we had gotten on another dive boat. (What???? An assumption???) c. No one ever apologized or explained anything to us. When I returned, I visited the Dive Shop and informed the man in charge that we were very upset and wanted an explanation. He never apologized and would not look at me while I spoke to him. In fact, he told me that our Dive Master told a different story than the one we relayed and that he had tried to signal to us that he was going up. d. I asked him why no one tried to locate us. He explained that the Dive Master assumed we had been picked up by another boat. This was our experience with Dive Point at Sunshine Marine Lodge. I cannot imagine what the outcome would have been for inexperienced divers. But, I do know that I would never dive with this group again. They are inconsistent and totally clueless about their responsibility to guests. I feel I was dismissed and, overall, treated rudely. Unfortunately, this horrible diving memory will never escape my mind. It was a horror that I wish on no one.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from divepointzanzibar, Manager at Dive Point Zanzibar
Responded 5 weeks ago
We are very sorry about the bad experience you had diving with us. We did appoligize to you in the dive center and admitted that that we did make some mistakes that day. It was a difficult day with difficult conditions. Since you wrote this review let us point out few things: - you were in a group of 4 divers with 1 guide. One of the divers from your group had problems going down and the guide tried to solve it. Despite this situation you decided to continue your descent. On your way down you met other divers from other groups going up. The conditions were difficult but it was possible to go back to the surface. As experienced divers (one of you was an Instructor) you should know that one of the most important rule while diving in the current is to stay with the rest of the group. Aspecially if one person has a problem. - the guide escorted the diver with a problem to the surface and went down to get you - he found one diver from your group and together with her was signaling you with his shaker to come up. You did not respond to his signals but you could see each other. As experienced divers (one of you was an Instructor) you should be looking for the rest of your group - the guide decided to escort the second diver to the surface because he saw another of our guides with his group very close to you. This guide was asking you to join him but you ignored him and decided to stay underwater - you stayed underwater for 30 minutes breaking one of the most important rules in diving: if you loose your group you search for 1 (one) minute and go up to the surfce. As experienced divers (one of you was an Instructor) you should know it. - as you stayed for so long underwater the assumption was made (a wrong one) that you joined the other group and countinue diving. The boat moved indeed to another location but it was not more that 100 meteres away. You were picked up as soon as you were spotted. There were many other boats around so you were not stranded in the middle of nowwhere. This is the most popular diving spot on Zanzibar and there is always many boats around - on the boat one of the divers from your own group (the one that came up as the second) expressed loudly her negative opinion about your behaviour on that dive so the agruments we present here are not only ours - on that day we did speak with the leader of your group and appologized. We agreed that both sides could do the things better. We did speak with you later and apologized as well. We admited that we made mistakes but did not want to point out yours. We thought as experienced divers (one of you was an Instructor) you knew what you did wrong and there was no point of getting into a disscusion - about the briefing. This was your forth day of diving with us with the same guide. You received the perfect briefing on day 1. On the next days you received a decription of the dive site. All the dives follow the same procedures so there is no sense to repeat hand signals etc. aspecially that you are experienced divers (one of you was an Instructor) Once again we would like to say that we are sorry for the bad experience. We lerned a valuable lesson from that day and we will do our best not to repeat it. Dive Point Zanzibar Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andreas S wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Only but good experiences with this dive station. We could select the place we wanted to dive, everybody super friendly and funny, especially the divemaster :-) So there where plenty of dive stations in Nungwi, but this one was by far my favorite.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Laila angela B wrote a review Feb 2022
Matemwe, Tanzania11 contributions
Fantastic diving center. Had a great day out in the water with this lovely crew. I had a refresh course in the pool the day before due to that it's been 5 years since my last dive. Did 2 dives the next day. Enjoyed every minute of this day. Hakuna Matata🏝🐟🐠 Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
paul158 wrote a review Nov 2021
Vlissingen, The Netherlands9 contributions1 helpful vote
very professional diving on the north east coast of Zanzibar. Great diving and next to the very nice Sunshine Marine lodge. Lots of fish and healthy coral to see, Walls, coral gardens and many many dive sites around the atol on 20 minutes from the shore with good big wooden boats. Friendly people and good guides. Would love to come back one day. brgds/paul Netherlands
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456