We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Magpie Inn

Closed Now: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Open today: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Review Highlights
Sunday carvery

Remember to pre book as it's very busy on a Sunday and today was no exception. The food served... read more

Reviewed 18 March 2018
189pamr
,
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
via mobile
Lovely meal

We had a lovely evening meal this evening lovely service with friendly staff. We had the steaks and... read more

Reviewed 3 December 2017
Jane C
via mobile
Read all 11 reviews
19
All photos (19)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good18%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
18 Mar 2018
“Sunday carvery”
2 Dec 2017
“Lovely meal”
About
A 15th Century traditional Freehouse Pub, recently refurbished to a high standard with many oak beams, offering fantastic friendly family atmosphere, a well created menu and good selection of real ales, specialist evenings ie Seafood nights...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
1 Combs Ford, Stowmarket IP14 2AP, England
Website
+44 1449 612727
Call
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
9
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
9
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Remember to pre book as it's very busy on a Sunday and today was no exception. The food served was fantastic, lots of meat wide variety of vegetables all in a very friendly pub. Would highly recommend any day of the week well done Magpie...More

Thank 189pamr
Jen M, Owner at The Magpie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you for you recommendation and we are glad you enjoyed the carvery. Please come again.

Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely evening meal this evening lovely service with friendly staff. We had the steaks and there very large burgers. Delicious good value for money would definatly recommend.

Thank Jane C
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

26th to 29th of May. This will be SUFFOLK'S premier gin festival. Music from man in the hat on the Friday 26th. 130 gins at the moment with another 30 coming in...... even an alcohol free ????????

Thank Kevin M
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Did the surf n turf with a drink for a tenner, food was very good no complaints. I think it's value for money.

Thank chelseabob5
Malcolm C, Owner at The Magpie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear chelseabob5 Many thanks for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your meal and yes it is certainly value for money, look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Reviewed 10 February 2017

We had a late booking, the restaurant was full, a good sign! We had a choice of three platter sizes. The staff were helpful very polite and friendly.The choice of meats was fine, nut roast had been offered on booking but was off the menu...More

Thank timcarey2016
Malcolm C, Owner at The Magpie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear timcarey2016, Thankyou so much for your review, I do apologise about the nut roast was a very busy day on the Saturday for vegetarians eating hence we ran out sorry, we as a team all try to assist people when we can, even going...More

Reviewed 4 January 2017

But I am taking my vegetarian daughter and family there tomorrow and trust me, if she likes the food as she thinks she will, then the Magpie continues to be the best on the East Coast. THIS CONTINUES TO BE THE BEST EATERY IN THE...More

Thank Sharon D
Malcolm C, Owner at The Magpie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear Sharon D, Thankyou for this fantastic review I am not sure what has happened to your mentioned review, but again thankyou sos so much for being so truthful.

Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Very impressed with the staff, barmaid very attentive and welcoming. Engaged well with the children. Great deal on a Saturday surf and turf! Lovely meal, steak was tender our needs were well catered for. We'll be back, thank you for a lovely meal in a...More

Thank Lisa C
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

Saw some Groupon vouchers going for this place at £18 for 2 courses plus drink for two people which I thought was too good to be true. Based on that I wasn't really expecting much. However, the menu was great, the food wasn't world class...More

Thank ashc1987
Reviewed 1 December 2015

went here last Sunday, partly because it had been recommended by a friend and because we live in bury st edmunds and it was the xmas fayre weekend so needed to find somewhere out of town to eat. We booked a table the day before...More

Thank sues1963
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

This is such a nice place to visit, lovely food and real ale. My wife and I recently popped in for lunch, unfortunately the owners were on holiday so the menu was some what limited, however it was more than sufficient, the food was well...More

Thank Kenneth S
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
The Cedars Hotel
226 reviews
.85 km away
Limes Hotel
108 reviews
4.58 km away
Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel
164 reviews
5.10 km away
Travelodge Ipswich Beacon Hill
134 reviews
6.66 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 59 nearby restaurants
Petite Pancakes
77 reviews
.95 km away
Mill Bar & Grill
322 reviews
1.06 km away
Chinese Chequers
195 reviews
.71 km away
Cabbages & Kings at The Mix
32 reviews
.62 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 24 nearby attractions
Museum of East Anglian Life
190 reviews
.81 km away
The Regal Theatre
80 reviews
.63 km away
John Peel Centre for the Creative Arts
14 reviews
.90 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Viv C
16 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jen M | Property representative |
Yes we have a range of vegan meals available. They vary so unable to provide a menu
0
Votes
Colin_Briggs
23 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Jen M | Property representative |
We have noticed the other entry under night life but cannot find a way to delete it.
0
Votes