We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Magpie Inn

1 Combs Ford, Stowmarket IP14 2AP, England
+44 1449 612727
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Sunday carvery

Remember to pre book as it's very busy on a Sunday and today was no exception. The food served... read more

Reviewed 18 March 2018
189pamr
,
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
via mobile
Lovely meal

We had a lovely evening meal this evening lovely service with friendly staff. We had the steaks and... read more

Reviewed 3 December 2017
Jane C
via mobile
Read all 11 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
A 15th Century traditional Freehouse Pub, recently refurbished to a high standard with many oak beams, offering fantastic friendly family atmosphere, a well created menu and good selection of real ales, specialist evenings ie Seafood nights, Caribbean nights etc and live music. Every Sunday a full Carvery with over 10 fresh vegetables, and 3 roast meats, recently became the 1st Gin Palace in Stowmarket with at present over 130 Gins in stock but still growing. Well worth visiting our web site.
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good18%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
18 Mar 2018
“Sunday carvery”
2 Dec 2017
“Lovely meal”
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
1 Combs Ford, Stowmarket IP14 2AP, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1449 612727
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Remember to pre book as it's very busy on a Sunday and today was no exception. The food served was fantastic, lots of meat wide variety of vegetables all in a very friendly pub. Would highly recommend any day of the week well done Magpie...More

Thank 189pamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen M, Owner at The Magpie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you for you recommendation and we are glad you enjoyed the carvery. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely evening meal this evening lovely service with friendly staff. We had the steaks and there very large burgers. Delicious good value for money would definatly recommend.

Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattStott, (Tech Support) at The Magpie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We get all our steaks from a local butcher and hand make the burgers , so we are glad you enjoyed them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

26th to 29th of May. This will be SUFFOLK'S premier gin festival. Music from man in the hat on the Friday 26th. 130 gins at the moment with another 30 coming in...... even an alcohol free ????????

Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Did the surf n turf with a drink for a tenner, food was very good no complaints. I think it's value for money.

Thank chelseabob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm C, Owner at The Magpie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear chelseabob5 Many thanks for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your meal and yes it is certainly value for money, look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

We had a late booking, the restaurant was full, a good sign! We had a choice of three platter sizes. The staff were helpful very polite and friendly.The choice of meats was fine, nut roast had been offered on booking but was off the menu...More

Thank timcarey2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm C, Owner at The Magpie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear timcarey2016, Thankyou so much for your review, I do apologise about the nut roast was a very busy day on the Saturday for vegetarians eating hence we ran out sorry, we as a team all try to assist people when we can, even going...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

But I am taking my vegetarian daughter and family there tomorrow and trust me, if she likes the food as she thinks she will, then the Magpie continues to be the best on the East Coast. THIS CONTINUES TO BE THE BEST EATERY IN THE...More

Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm C, Owner at The Magpie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Dear Sharon D, Thankyou for this fantastic review I am not sure what has happened to your mentioned review, but again thankyou sos so much for being so truthful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Very impressed with the staff, barmaid very attentive and welcoming. Engaged well with the children. Great deal on a Saturday surf and turf! Lovely meal, steak was tender our needs were well catered for. We'll be back, thank you for a lovely meal in a...More

Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

Saw some Groupon vouchers going for this place at £18 for 2 courses plus drink for two people which I thought was too good to be true. Based on that I wasn't really expecting much. However, the menu was great, the food wasn't world class...More

Thank ashc1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2015

went here last Sunday, partly because it had been recommended by a friend and because we live in bury st edmunds and it was the xmas fayre weekend so needed to find somewhere out of town to eat. We booked a table the day before...More

Thank sues1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

This is such a nice place to visit, lovely food and real ale. My wife and I recently popped in for lunch, unfortunately the owners were on holiday so the menu was some what limited, however it was more than sufficient, the food was well...More

Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Stowmarket Hotels
The Cedars Hotel
215 reviews
.85 km away
Limes Hotel
107 reviews
4.58 km away
Travelodge Ipswich Stowmarket Hotel
148 reviews
5.10 km away
Travelodge Ipswich Beacon Hill
119 reviews
6.66 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Petite Pancakes
58 reviews
.95 km away
The Mill Bar and Grill
309 reviews
1.06 km away
Chinese Chequers
186 reviews
.71 km away
Osier cafe
41 reviews
.88 km away
Nearby Attractions
Museum of East Anglian Life
177 reviews
.81 km away
The Regal Theatre
74 reviews
.63 km away
John Peel Centre for the Creative Arts
14 reviews
.90 km away
The Royal William
15 reviews
1.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Viv C
16 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jen M | Property representative |
Yes we have a range of vegan meals available. They vary so unable to provide a menu
0
Votes
Colin_Briggs
23 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Jen M | Property representative |
We have noticed the other entry under night life but cannot find a way to delete it.
0
Votes