We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: | Stowmarket Recreation Ground, Off Finborough Road, Stowmarket IP14 1JR, England
Phone Number:
+44 844 576 7535
Website
Today
09:00 - 18:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 - 15:00
Mon - Thu 09:00 - 18:00
Fri 09:00 - 17:30
Sat 09:00 - 16:00
Description:

Stowmarket is set on the banks of the River Gripping. Flyers can expect to...

Stowmarket is set on the banks of the River Gripping. Flyers can expect to have good views over Bury St Edmunds to the west and Ipswich and the Suffolk coast to the east. Appreciate the beauty of Eastern England on your flight as you take in the views over the Home Counties, stretching towards the outskirts of London.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 280 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 150
    Excellent
  • 12
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 107
    Terrible
milton keynes was a excellent flight

we booked to go onto the hotel air balloon in august in knebworth house but it got cancelled booked to go in septmeber to milton keynes so that was us travelling for nearly 45... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 January 2016
tylertiyah
,
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 280: English reviews
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have tow tickets that had expired by 3 months so I contacted customer services today. I offered to pay an admin fee to have them extended but they refused and said there was nothing they could do for me. I am so disappointed with them.

Helpful?
Thank Helen B
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I would urge everyone to take their business elsewhere. Do not be conned like so many of us have been. Virgin Hot Air Balloon Flights customer services are rude, aggressive, and unprofessional. So needless to say, you will never see your money again and certainly won't get what you paid for.

Helpful?
Thank Mauvell1668
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2017

When i booked two tickets I specifically asked if there was an expiry date and was told explicitly that "no there was not" so i went ahead and booked. I therefore had no reason to check that there would in fact be an expiry date. Lo and behold, i have now tried to book the flight and told the tickets... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank kessawessa1
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

In the very small print there is a 11% admin fee, if you cancel, please beware! Even if you cancel after 7 times due to bad weather!

Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne D
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2016

We were given two tickets for a wedding present. Two years on and we still haven't flown. I even upgraded the tickets so I could fly on a Saturday and stop taking days off from work for no reason. So it certainly has been a present to remember.It's seems like a fantastic business plan.I can't really comment about the flight.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MrSpud1969
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2016

I bought 2 luxury balloon flight tickets for my wife at christmas 2014, when we went to book the flight the very rude person on the phone said we had already booked a flight and didnt turn up so we had nothing to book this simply wasn't true (my wife was in tears) After some investigation and with not alot... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Karl P
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2016

we booked to go onto the hotel air balloon in august in knebworth house but it got cancelled booked to go in septmeber to milton keynes so that was us travelling for nearly 45 min. when we arrived we was 10min late tried to call them to say but no answer we had to run to get to the balloon... More 

Helpful?
Thank tylertiyah
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2015

Just had a fantastic balloon experience, flying on the first day I had booked for. Everything worked just as the website said and I thought it was all superbly organised. Russell Collins and his crew were so professional and calm that I didn't feel nervous at all. The weather was perfect, the scenery we floated over in the autumn sunshine... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank emmylou778
VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights, responded to this review

Hi EmmyLou We're thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time on your hot air balloon ride from Ludlow. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review of your experience. We agree, Russell and his crew are fantastic at what they do and always strive to give you the best possible... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2015

Not been able to fly due to weather for over a year now. Had bought this for a special occasion long gone. Asked for a refund as i can't fly pregnant now and they said no but offered to extend the voucher dates. For what though? to be cancelled on again for another year? They

Helpful?
1 Thank radhika p
VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights, responded to this review

Hello Radhika Sorry to hear that you haven't been able to fly as yet. As we explain at the time our passengers buy their flight vouchers, hot air ballooning is a weather dependent activity and we simply won't fly you if it is not safe to do so. We also clearly state when the vouchers you are looking to buy... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2015

Virgin is absolutely hopeless, beautiful weather again today - low wind speed and glorious sunshine, but cancelled AGAIN. This is beyond a joke - extremely expensive gift for an anniversary 3 years ago! Extremely rude and impatient man on phone, also.

Helpful?
1 Thank Freya B
VirginBalloonFlights, Public Relations Manager at Virgin Balloon Flights, responded to this review

Hi Freya, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Hot air ballooning is a weather dependent activity - our balloons travel with the wind and it's vital that we put passenger safety first. Although it may look like a nice day on the ground, it can be a different story 3,000ft up and when it comes... More 

Travellers who viewed Virgin Balloon Flights also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Virgin Balloon Flights? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Virgin Balloon Flights and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Virgin Balloon Flights staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?