We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Glacier Helicopters

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Main South Road | SH6, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 3-752 0755
Today
09:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 17:00
Description:

Glacier Helicopters offers a range of scenic helicopter flights from 20...

Glacier Helicopters offers a range of scenic helicopter flights from 20 minutes to 40 minutes. Charter flights are available and can vary from 20 minutes to several hours duration. Flights depart from Franz Josef Glacier and Fox Glacier. Our flights encompass the Mount Cook National Park, and both Franz Josef Glacier and Fox Glacier. Glacier landings are our specialty. Our helicopter flights allow people with limited time to “get away from it all” and experience area of New Zealand’s wilderness renowned for its outstanding natural beauty.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 176.28*
and up
Franz Josef Glacier Helicopter Flight with Snow Landing
More Info
US$ 227.69*
and up
Fox and Franz Josef Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Fox Glacier
More Info
US$ 227.69*
and up
Fox and Franz Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 310 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 236
    Excellent
  • 28
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Fantastic experience

We did the helicopter tour over both the Fox Glacier and the Franz Josef Glacier . We were lucky to be able to do this trip as it was cancelled the day before due to weather and... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 November 2016
Brandylady
,
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 277: English reviews
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

We were chasing them for 2 and a half days. After several cancellations due to weather I had to ask them for a flight when I assumed the weather will be good, no initiative from their side. Finally this one was cancelled 2 hours prior to departure with the remark of weather conditions. Unfortunately the sky cleared and we again... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DaMatze
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi DaMatze, we look forward to sharing the beauty of the area with all of our visitors and are deeply sorry you were unable to join the tour. Unfortunately, the unique terrain and rainforest climate make the weather here very difficult to predict. We do our best to reschedule, however this time of year is very busy and many days... More 

Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Couldn't hear what the pilot was saying. It was a one way conversation. He just wanted the job done , without worrying about the experience for the tourists. We had a three year old who weighed in at 16kg with his snowgear on. And was charged for child fare. I did similar flight at Milford sound and the flights were... More 

Helpful?
Thank guyver1382
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi Guyver1382, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. Hospitality is highly important to us, and we’re very sorry to hear your visit was anything less than spectacular. We are looking into the situation and taking measures to ensure this kind of experience is not repeated in the future. More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2016

We enjoyed our 30 min helicopter tour over both Glaciers and the surrounding mountains. We had excellent views as it was a bright sunny day. And the staff was very helpfull to transfer the forgotten glasses to their office in Fox, where we collected them. Many thanks again !!!

Helpful?
Thank Nadine_Annie
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi Annie, Thank you for flying with us and for the great review. We are happy that we were able to get your forgotten glasses to you. Come back and see us again next time! More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2016

We did the helicopter tour over both the Fox Glacier and the Franz Josef Glacier . We were lucky to be able to do this trip as it was cancelled the day before due to weather and we found out the ones behind us were cancelled too due to more bad weather coming in - it's comforting to know this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brandylady
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi Brandylady, thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We’re glad to hear you consider our trip to be one of the best you’ve done. We love sharing our spectacular glaciers, but safety is certainly our first priority so we’re happy your plans were flexible to reschedule for the next day. Thanks again for joining us at... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016

Great to see Frans Josef and Fox glaciers from air because you cannot ski in this area. The pilot was very professional and could told additional information about the formation of glaciers. The price was quite high and the photos should have been included to the total price, now we had to pay extra after the flight.

Helpful?
1 Thank helenaI9647OO
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi Helenal9647OO, thank you for joining us on your trip to the West Coast! Our pilots are all Kiwi and happy to share the spectacular scenery and information about their homeland and glaciers. The photos are not included because they are offered separately by the pilots, not the company. There is no obligation to purchase photos, and visitors are encouraged... More 

sunshine coast
Level Contributor
278 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2016

Did 2 glaciers 1 landing 30 mins. Service was efficient, knowledgeable, and safety highest priority. Friendly pilot, and explained things to all on board thru headsets.

Helpful?
Thank ozdrifter
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi Ozdrifter, thank you for the great review! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our Fox and Franz Josef Twin Glacier flight! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Chose the 20 minute flight up to the Frans Joseph glacier. The views were spectacular despite the low cloud and well worth the trip as completely different from the ground view. Unfortunately due to weather we were not able to land on the glacier as is normally included in the 20 minute flight. This was obvious once we were flying... More 

Helpful?
Thank GSAdventure91
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi GSAdventure91, the unique terrain here makes the weather very difficult to predict, however we aim to give as much information as possible, and of course safety is always our first priority. We are happy that you enjoyed your flight even without the landing. The perspective from the air is certainly worth seeing. More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016

We had a reservation for Sunday, but the weather was not good on the Glaciers. We planned for that and had a couple of days lined up and we were able to get out the next day. I appreciate the company not taking a risk in questionable weather. Monday was a perfect day, and we were on an early flight,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeffnudi
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi Jeff, safety is always our first priority. The weather can be difficult to anticipate due to the uniqueness of the terrain here on the wild West Coast, and we’re glad you planned extra time to allot for the change in conditions. Thank you for including us in your holiday travels, and for taking the time to leave a review.... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

This was an amazing experience. We chose to do the 20min Franz Josef flight and it was worth every cent! The guides were able to accommodate me, being early on in the third trimester of pregnancy, and my husband, as combined we had a very high weight! I was worried we would not be able to fly due to these... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ezza31784
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi Ezza, thank you for a great review! We’re glad to hear you had a great experience with us. All of our pilots are New Zealanders and enjoy sharing our beautiful West Coast glaciers. Congratulations on your new addition to the family! We look forward to seeing you all again next time! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

It was very cloudy when we were at Fox, and I was concerned that it wouldn't be worth going up in a helicopter, but the staff at Glacier Helicopters were extremely helpful and clearly used to managing things when the weather is iffy. We had a pencilled booking and they confirmed once they had a weather/cloud cover update. The 20... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cumulus_Sunday
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your time and review. Matt loves sharing the beauty of the area. Our pilots always stay updated on the weather conditions so we can offer the best experience. More 

Travellers who viewed Glacier Helicopters also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Glacier Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Glacier Helicopters and other visitors
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Glacier Helicopters staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?