We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Savannah Children's Museum

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 655 Louisville Rd, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
+1 912-651-4292
Website
Today
11:00 - 16:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 16:00
Wed - Sat 10:00 - 16:00
Description:

Exploration Station is the first phase of Savannah Children's Museum. It...

Exploration Station is the first phase of Savannah Children's Museum. It is a one-acre, completely outdoor exhibit area that has been designed by highly qualified educators to promote learning through play. Programming to integrate a richer educational experience for your family is available daily.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 84 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 36
    Excellent
  • 18
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
very different

This is definitely very different from other children museums. Mostly outdoor except for an old train for the kids to color and read books, all activities are outdoors. It looks... read more

Reviewed 7 February 2017
simchaf2015
,
Inwood, New York
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 84: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very lame! Sprinklers weren't working, interactive toys dirty or missing parts. Big disappointment. Rip off

Helpful?
Thank Lorna D
Emily_Beck, Manager of Interpretation, Coastal Heritage Society at Savannah Children's Museum, responded to this review

Dear Lorna, We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at Savannah Children’s Museum and hope that you will find a second visit more enjoyable. Unfortunately, at the time of your visit our Mist Island sprinklers were turned off for the winter season. As you might imagine, the sprinklers are not as welcomed during the... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

This place has a cool concept, however, it's run down and several of the activities were missing pieces or just not in usable condition. The staff announced a story time for 11am. Come 11am the two girls I saw working were sitting together chatting it up. If you have been to other children's museums this one will be disappointing to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erin E
Emily_Beck, Manager of Interpretation, Coastal Heritage Society at Savannah Children's Museum, responded to this review

Dear Erin, I deeply apologize that our program did not run on time during your visit. Since we are not in a traditional museum space we rely on our educational family programming to helps showcase the exhibit stations within our museum. We would like to offer free passes for you and your boys to come back and participate in another... More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

First time visiting Savannah and we decided to take our 4 year old to the children's museum. Complete disappointment. This was an open playground in the middle of ruins. Nothing educational to look at, no displays of any kind and really nothing for children to even play with. They had a slide and a maze which my daughter zipped in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie R
Emily_Beck, Manager of Interpretation, Coastal Heritage Society at Savannah Children's Museum, responded to this review

Dear Leslie, We are terribly sorry you had such a negative experience at Savannah Children’s Museum and hope you will return in the future to give us another chance. Unfortunately, this time of the year is a transition time for our garden between removing plants and planting new seeds, so I’m sure this aspect contributed to our site’s appearance. I... More 

Inwood, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2017

This is definitely very different from other children museums. Mostly outdoor except for an old train for the kids to color and read books, all activities are outdoors. It looks like with time it'll get bigger with more space indoors. For now kids will enjoy it as long as its not too hot!

Helpful?
Thank simchaf2015
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Not really organized. Really not a lot to do! the route is not very well marked. Kinda of over priced. the customs were for very young children, were on the ground and dirty.

Helpful?
Thank hollydunn
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We visited the children's museum in January and the weather was cool and sunny. I imagine that in the summer, it would not be as much fun, when it is hot and sticky. The outdoor play area built out of the ruins of an old brick building is amazing. My kids (ages 6 and 7) loved it and we stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank 824dave
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
407 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2017

This place it within the premises of the train museum and like the latter is missing fixing and maintenance. Still our kids spent here almost 2 hours and they quite enjoyed themselves. There is a small maze that the kids can walk, some slides and different street games. All of the above are outdoors but there is also a small... More 

Helpful?
Thank adventix
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Fun outdoor playground for my 2 year old grandson. We were here a couple of weeks ago for the santa train and came back to play today.

Helpful?
Thank Mhgilker
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2016

First impresion was a bad one: We couldn't find an obvious entrance, only a gate that looks like an exit. Buy your tickets at the railroad museum gift shop. NOT worth the admission fee! An upper courtyard with a sandbox table, a big xylophone, and a railroad baggage car (the ONLY indoor exhibit). A lower courtyard with about a dozen... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieWannabee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2016

When I took my two year old niece I had expectations of an indoor/outdoor interactive museum. Instead it was just a fun playground. While my two year old niece had fun I couldn't imagine kids over five enjoying it for very long and I also found the price to be extremely high for an open play area. They have a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Yara R

Travellers who viewed Savannah Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Savannah Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Savannah Children's Museum and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Savannah Children's Museum staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?