We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hawaii Ocean Project

#44 of 114 Boat Tours & Water Sports in Lahaina Features Animals
Loading Dock Main Booth, Lahaina Harbor, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
+1 808-667-9266
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 99.95*
and up
Lanai Island Dolphin and Snorkel Cruise from Maui
More Info
US$ 99.95*
and up
Maui Sunset Dinner Cruise
More Info
US$ 200.98*
and up
Maui Sunset Dinner Cruise and Royal Lahaina Luau Combo
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Hawaii Ocean Project hosts whale watches and other exciting excursions aboard the Maui Princess, the Molokai Princess, the Lahaina Princess, the Prince Kuhio, and the Kaulana. Our vessels are large, stable, and comfortable, and they offer the best viewing available. Trained naturalists on board share their knowledge of the West Maui marine environment. Whether you prefer a guided day trip around the exotic island of Molokai, A snorkel tour of Molokini, following a pod of Dolphins around Lanai, or a sunset dinner cruise of the coast of West Maui, Hawaii Ocean Project can accommodate you with your Maui Ocean Activity. Our Mission is to provide you with the finest Maui Ocean Activities available. Not only do we offer the finest Dinner cruises on Maui and ocean tours off the coast of West Maui, as well as excursions to Maui's neighboring islands, we are proud our services promote and support marine research and promote the education of Hawaii's marine eco system.
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good21%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“whale watch” (36 reviews)
“dinner cruise” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 20:00
LOCATION
Loading Dock Main Booth, Lahaina Harbor, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
CONTACT
Website
+1 808-667-9266
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unfriendly, unhelpful crew. Crappy food. Drive around in boat more than anything. Had better time on lesser boat last time we did it. Not worth it.More

Thank jldolan
hawaiioceanproject, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Ocean Project, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha jldolan, We are very sorry that your trip was anything less than wonderful. However, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your feedback is invaluable to us, as it can only help us improve. I would like...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our trip was supposed to be to Molokini for morning snorkelling, but due to bad timing, a tropical storm was petering out over Maui and causing surf so bad that no boats were mooring at the crater. Seeing this, our great captain Becca diverted us...More

Thank kimncris
hawaiioceanproject, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Ocean Project, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha kimnchris, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It looks like you had an incredible time with Captain Becca at the helm! Dolphins and turtles!! That's epic. Thank you so much for coming out with us. We hope to see you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was my first time snorkeling. I went with 3 people. The trip lasts half a day: from 7am to 1:30pm-ish. Check-in at 6:30am. The youngest passenger was about 12 month-old. (+) - Captain and crew were nice and helpful. - We felt safe and...More

Thank CaliNini
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Everyone on the staff was so kind, funny, and helpful. Becca was a great leader who told us the best places to find animals and told us all about the reef. The staff was interactive with kids, cooking up great food, and providing whatever we...More

Thank Tammy M
Reviewed 17 June 2017

Went on a snorkel trip to Molokini crater and one other stop while in Maui last week. The snorkeling as was great, the crew for the most part were friendly and helpful both onboard and while in the ocean. The second snorkel stop was actually...More

Thank Deaninejay
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Snorkel Molokini trip was really pitiful. The snorkeling gear was cheapest imaginable - a piece of pvc pipe would have been as good. There was no check valve at the top and no purge valve at the bottom. This was just an open tube running...More

Thank beedub2
hawaiioceanproject, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Ocean Project, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Aloha Beedub2, We love taking guests out to enjoy Maui's amazing ocean environment. Consequently, our captains are very experienced at identifying the best snorkeling locations, based off of weather, currents, and marine life behavior, so that we are able to take our guests to the...More

Reviewed 30 May 2017

We had a great experience. The food was delicious and plentiful. The service was amazing. I would definitely recommend the dinner cruise, and I would go on it again while visiting Maui in the future.

Thank PWalker5
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Molokai was amazing, but I don't believe it rates as the premier snorkeling destination. We saw several varieties of fish, but having been to Honolua Bay the day before and having seen fantastic amounts of coral and creatures, this was a little disappointing on that...More

Thank MicheleNovoa
hawaiioceanproject, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Ocean Project, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Aloha Michele, Thank you for taking the time to review our Molokini Snorkel, and for your kind words about our staff. Molokini rates as a premier snorkeling destination, not only because of its numerous varieties of sea life, but because you are able to snorkel...More

Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

The food was really good. The music was great! The only downside to the cruise was the chairs are bolted to the floor along with the table. And they don't leave much room to get in between the table and chairs. It makes it very...More

Thank Beverly B
hawaiioceanproject, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Ocean Project, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Aloha Beverly, Thank you for taking the time to review our Dinner Cruise. It sounds like you had a really enjoyable evening. As for the chairs, I do want to let you know that we have a remodel in the works. Hopefully, you will join...More

Reviewed 10 May 2017

My husband and I were so excited about this tour! Imagine snorkelling in a volcanic crater! How many times in life do you get to do that? Well...first let me say that the snorkelling was good though the coral is very bleached out and sad...More

1  Thank Cathy P
hawaiioceanproject, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaii Ocean Project, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Aloha Cathy P, We love Maui's amazing ocean environment, and taking guests out to enjoy it. That is why we want all of our guests to have the best time possible, which is why we are very sorry to hear that your experience was anything...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Paia Fish Market Restuarant
465 reviews
1.48 km away
Star Noodle
3,063 reviews
1.41 km away
Prison St Pizza
280 reviews
1.40 km away
Local Boys Shave Ice
106 reviews
1.48 km away
Nearby Attractions
Maria Lanakila Catholic Church
210 reviews
1.32 km away
Old Lahaina Prison
84 reviews
1.23 km away
Village Galleries in Lahaina
45 reviews
1.36 km away
Waiola Church & Waiola Cemetery
18 reviews
1.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Stonica
2 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from hawaiioceanproject | Property representative |
Aloha Stonica!, Excellent question -- Our boats are large, stable catamarans, so they don't rock/bounce like the smaller rafts. That is why we do not have any limitations on pregnant passengers joining us, as long as you... More
0
Votes
Worldisamazing
10 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from hawaiioceanproject | Property representative |
Aloha, We do have limited transportation available for our Sunset Dinner Cruise. I do apologize, but TripAdvisor will not let me link directly to our website, however, if you look under "About Us", then "Bout Tours" our... More
0
Votes
Nicole B
22 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from hawaiioceanproject | Property representative |
Yes! On our Lanai snorkel, one complimentary cocktail is included, and may be enjoyed after you have finished snorkeling. Additionally, on our Sunset Dinner Cruise, a welcome Mai Tai is served, after the boat has departed... More
0
Votes