We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pacific Whale Foundation

Certificate of Excellence
Features Animals
As featured in One Day in Lahaina
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 612 Front St, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
+1 800-942-5311
Website
Today
06:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 06:00 - 22:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 116.12*
and up
Molokini And Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip
More Info
US$ 104.12*
and up
Sunset Dinner Cruise: Four Course Dining Experience
More Info
US$ 80.54*
and up
Island Rhythms Sunset Cocktail Cruise

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,228 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 868
    Excellent
  • 195
    Very good
  • 66
    Average
  • 35
    Poor
  • 32
    Terrible
Great evening cruise

Our group of 6 travelers decided to book PWF's Ocean Spirit Sunset Sail out of Lahaina. We lucked out in that on this day, only 20 passengers were booked. This allowed us all to... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
MontTexas
,
Montgomery, Texas
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,196: English reviews
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our group of 6 travelers decided to book PWF's Ocean Spirit Sunset Sail out of Lahaina. We lucked out in that on this day, only 20 passengers were booked. This allowed us all to move freely all around the boat as we took the 2 hour sunset cruise. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food served, including... More 

Helpful?
Thank MontTexas
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We took the Lanai snorkel and dolphin watch and it was a windy day and because it is such a long trip out to the snorkel spot it was very rough riding on the boat !! I got sea sick and I have never got sea sick ever before and have been doing snorkel trips for 8 years! The snorkel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lkygrandma
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We Pacific Whale's Honolua Bay tour in May 2017. We were on the Ocean Spirit which is limited to 50 people or so. This lets you have a much better time then being on one of PWF's 130 passenger boats which we were also on. The boat is new and very clean. The crew was friendly and the conditions were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacob R
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
324 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We chose the perfect day coupled with a great crew not to mention a fantastic sunset! The Pacific Whale Foundation always does an excellent job whether you select the whale watching trips, the dolphin watches or the sunset cruises. All of us were please with our dinners and our server was very attentive. It was nice that we made our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joey P
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed our tour. We boarded the catamaran in the morn. They served breakfast, banana bread and fruit. We went to Lanai to a bay to snorkel. On the way we saw 3 bottle nose dolphins, that was fun to see! Then we snorkeled. We saw 3 turtles and some colorful fish. We got back on board and they had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank merinski
Pomona, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was about 55 min late as we had to wait for passengers from a large cruise ship. Staff at dock were very rude and annoyed and just told us to have a seat and wait. Long boat ride to Lanai and the snorkeling is not good at all. We saw more fish at Blackrock. They try to sell you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank teesus
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This snorkeling expedition was booked via Royal Caribbean and so we did not pick this provider directly. PWF's boat - the 'Ocean Quest' can evidently take 150 passengers. We had 110 passengers + the crew onboard. There was enough place to sit, but many people endured the journey without any shade. After well over an hour we arrived at the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BLeeP2
gregkaufman, Manager at Pacific Whale Foundation, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent snorkel trip. We have built our reputation over the past 37 years on providing fun, safe and informative ectours with excellent customer service. We received no other complaints similar to yours during this time frame, so... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was going to be our last day in Maui and my husband wasn't able to drive up to see the sunrise at Haleakala because of a new rule that you have to get a permit in advance if you want to drive yourself and the next available was in two weeks! I felt bad for him especially after the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Toniava
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We took a leap of faith by going whale watching at the end of the season, and we are so glad we did! We saw two whales and dolphins - absolutely amazing! Highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Doug H
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I travelled on the Ocean Quest for two hours for a dinner cruise run by the Pacific Whale Foundation. While the service was good and technically yes we did float on the water around Maui, I wouldn't label it a dinner cruise. The food was very basic - the chef recommends eating the steak well done and... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravellerAmbler

Travellers who viewed Pacific Whale Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Whale Foundation? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Pacific Whale Foundation and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Pacific Whale Foundation staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?