We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders

58A Amala Pl, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-2111
Save
Review Highlights
What a Rush!

We came to scout activities for our group for an upcoming conference and had a first class... read more

Reviewed 26 January 2018
troberts14
,
Menlo Park, CA
via mobile
Wonderful morning

Today we had the pleasure of getting to ride down the beautiful crater with Preston and Trevor... read more

Reviewed 21 January 2018
Randi M
,
Dallas, Texas
via mobile
Read all 317 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good10%
  • Average4%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“bike ride” (110 reviews)
“sunrise tour” (24 reviews)
“van driver” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
LOCATION
58A Amala Pl, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-2111
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bike ride"
in 110 reviews
"sunrise tour"
in 24 reviews
"van driver"
in 14 reviews
"base camp"
in 10 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 17 reviews
"beautiful sunrise"
in 12 reviews
"the sun rise"
in 9 reviews
"blocking traffic"
in 4 reviews
"watching the sunrise"
in 9 reviews
"national park"
in 9 reviews
"these guys"
in 14 reviews
"warm clothes"
in 8 reviews
"picked up from our hotel"
in 4 reviews
"rain gear"
in 6 reviews
"granola bars"
in 5 reviews
"cafe mambo"
in 4 reviews
"single file"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

We came to scout activities for our group for an upcoming conference and had a first class experience with Cruiser Phils. Preston and Trevor were our guides and were fun, knowledgeable, respectful, and obviously have a passion for what they do. The sprinkled in facts...More

3  Thank troberts14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Today we had the pleasure of getting to ride down the beautiful crater with Preston and Trevor. Great tour guides. They were very knowledgeable, kind, entertaining, and valued everyone’s safety. The sunrise itself was gorgeous and we had plenty of time for photos along the...More

Thank Randi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserPhil, Owner at Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Aloha Randi, we loved having your party as our guest's. Mahalo for visiting our shores. Inside tip " Sunsets" from any beach are breathless! see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

Tour was awful! Might as well utube it and save your money. Bikes were 100 years old! Try another bike company. This one is terrible!!!

5  Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserPhil, Owner at Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

This guest did not go on the tour. They called in sick,the night before. Because she is not happy about our refund policy, she has decided to play this hand. Mahalo for visiting Maui!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Granted, the weather did not cooperate atop Haleakala but our spirits were not dampened by the rain the morning we were there. The ride down the mountain was on a 55 lb bike with drum brakes. The weight of the bike and the drum brakes...More

1  Thank Winnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserPhil, Owner at Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you Winnie, see you next time. Aloha Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

After reading negative reviews, I was hesitant to book this tour. Boy, am I glad that I didn't listen. This is hands down one of the most exciting excursions I have ever done. We were picked up in Kihei, on time, at 3:15 am. *My...More

Thank jburms5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserPhil, Owner at Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Mahalo and A hui Hou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

I’ve read the negative reviews of Cruiser Phil’s and if you’re looking for 5 star amenities, stay back at your resort. If you’re looking for a 5 star experience, this is your ride! The office, the bikes and the departure snacks are not top of...More

Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

First and foremost...do whatever you can to have PRESTON as your guide. I can’t stress that too much. I have an entire family of four, including sophomore boys in college and high school that would echo the same. The 90 minute van ride through winding...More

Thank gymdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

Watching the sunrise and biking down Mt. Haleakala is a definite must do in Maui. My husband and I had an awesome experience with Cruiser Phil's. Our van driver, Marcus, and Bike Leader, Tre (Trever), were very knowledgeable about Maui and provided interesting facts about...More

Thank stephaniescalera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

We participated in the sunrise tour at Haleakala National Park. In order to see the sunrise we were picked up from our hotel at 0250 hours and were driven to Haleakala National Park. The ride to the park was approximately 90 minutes (which we could...More

Thank Margie_444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

What a fantastic day! The way it started out I thought it was going to be a bust. The volcano was covered in a thick freezing fog, and you couldn't see 10 feet in front of you, let alone the sunrise. But our guides Trey...More

Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserPhil, Owner at Cruiser Phil's Volcano Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Mahalo Tom, yes Mother Nature does remind us upon occasion how wonderful our surroundings are. We all just got to take the time and notice. Glad you loved all the rainbows. Thanks for visiting Maui.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 54 hotels in Maui
Maui Seaside Hotel
1,144 reviews
1.08 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Maui Kahului Airport
580 reviews
1.31 km away
Maui Beach Hotel
591 reviews
1.40 km away
Sprecks Plantation House
29 reviews
5.25 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tasaka Guri Guri Shop
124 reviews
.71 km away
Acevedo's Hawaicano
34 reviews
.79 km away
Kahului Ale House
216 reviews
.54 km away
Thailand Cuisine
100 reviews
.63 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hana Coast Gallery
53 reviews
.68 km away
Maui Mall Megaplex
26 reviews
.64 km away
Bext
30 reviews
1.16 km away
Hike Maui
1,472 reviews
1.00 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
hrmdds
14 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Darrin L | Reviewed this property |
Harold, there is no pressure for everyone to ride. As a matter of fact, grandparents and the 10 year old can sit in the van that brings up the year as the bike riders roll down the hill. That is how the tour is done. Tour... More
1
Vote
hrmdds
14 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Meghan B | Reviewed this property |
You don't need to ride bikes down. There is a van that follows the group and anyone not comfortable riding bikes can go in the van. I'm not sure if cost is different if you don't ride bikes.
0
Votes