We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Garden of Eden Arboretum & Botanical Garden

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 10600 Hana Hwy, Mile Marker 10.5, Hana, Maui, HI 96708
Phone Number:
+1 808-572-9899
Website
Today
08:00 - 16:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 16:00
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Description:

Aloha and welcome to Mauis Garden Of Eden Arboretum. An Arboretum is a park...

Aloha and welcome to Mauis Garden Of Eden Arboretum. An Arboretum is a park dedicated to trees. We also feature hundreds of lowland rainforest species of flowers,shrubs,and ground covers as well.We began this project in1991 with 30 acres of densely overgrown jungle, now after investing more than 20yrs of physical labor and 2 million dollars, we have created one of Hawaii's most visited botanical gardens. We have many plants found nowhere else or are uncommon to Hawaii, such as rare Amazon fruits and medicinal species, endangered hardwoods, spice, exotic nut trees, ferns and so much more...A botanical Disneyland with over 2 miles of maintained graveled walking trails...A truly educational facility with over 700 plants botanically labeled. Try to allow at least 45 minutes to explore.We feature great views and photo opportunities but no direct access to the waterfall or pools.If you are only interested in restrooms (we now have improved facilities) You can do so for free 2 miles down the road.A portion of your entry fee is donated to the nature conservatory. The cost to keep our gate open averages $1,000/dy so we sincerely thank you for your support,,,especially those who have contributed beyond our entry fee. Most botanical gardens have teams of volunteers and use chemicals to curb costs. Our entire staff are well paid professionals, and we are almost entirely a chemical free park. Thank you for visiting, we do take your comments to heart

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 612 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 251
    Excellent
  • 151
    Very good
  • 82
    Average
  • 45
    Poor
  • 57
    Terrible
Beautiful

We stopped here on the road to Hana, and although we thought it was a bit expensive, we thoroughly enjoyed. I think we paid $40 for two adults and two children. I loved the... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Hokemom
,
Buffalo, New York
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

612 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 586: English reviews
CC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

While in Hawaii with my husband, we took a jeep, grabbed a map, and set off for nowhere. We ended up on the Hana Highway- a destination of sorts itself with many opportunities to pull over and take in the vistas or other hidden coves. Be aware the Hana Highway is FULL of many narrow twists and turns! Anyway we... More 

Helpful?
Thank M J
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stopped here on the road to Hana, and although we thought it was a bit expensive, we thoroughly enjoyed. I think we paid $40 for two adults and two children. I loved the trails, the views, and the gardens. I loved that the plants were marked so we could learn the names of plants and trees we had been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hokemom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

i don't think it worth the 16$ box fee entre, but it is a nice cute walk if you want to do a picnik on tha hana road

Helpful?
Thank 826st_phaniel
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place is not bad, but $30 for two people and a long distance view of a water fall? Several other, better views later on the trip and free. Not worth the money, maybe $5 a piece.

Helpful?
Thank MattDav
Atlanta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The garden is much smaller then we expected and it is certainly overpriced at $ 30 + $ 1 (credit card fee) for 2 people. Though there are some very nice views of the ocean, but you can get similar views as you stop at some of the viewing areas at the side of the road. The garden paths are... More 

Helpful?
Thank atlantacitygirl
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
482 reviews
332 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is easy to see that loving care and attention has been devoted to these botanical gardens. Well signposted on Road to Hana, it is good for an hour's stopover, albeit quite a steep price for 4 ($60). Nephew and niece were able to feed the peacocks and ducks, which they thoroughly enjoyed (being normally addicted to technology and superglued... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris S
Level Contributor
195 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Would highly recommend a stopover here on the road to hanna! This place has breathtaking views and is beyond beautiful!

Helpful?
Thank dananddaniel
Summer96708, Guest Relations Manager at Garden of Eden Arboretum & Botanical Garden, responded to this review

Mahalo for the review! We hope to see you next time! More 

San Jacinto, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was one of our stops on the Road to Hana. It was our second stop of the day. We knew there would be an entrance fee ($15.00) but thought it would be per vehicle not per person. So for the four of us to enter it was $61.00 ($1.00 card processing fee). Just like the other reviews said, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank kratzamatatz
Summer96708, Guest Relations Manager at Garden of Eden Arboretum & Botanical Garden, responded to this review

Mahalo for your review. Our websites states that there is a "per person" admission fee. Our 27 acre Garden offers more than 2 miles of well maintained walking paths, hundreds of botanical labels, beautiful overlooks onto waterfalls, valleys, and vast ocean views. We offer covered pavilions that are perfect for family picnics and a spot to relax from the winding... More 

Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were staying right by the road to Hana, so we did this as a side trip from our rental and I'm so glad we did. It is a lovely garden but it's a little pricey (we got the local discount otherwise I definitely wouldn't have chosen this activity) for such a small space. I just expected more ground to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hawaiiheart9815
Summer96708, Guest Relations Manager at Garden of Eden Arboretum & Botanical Garden, responded to this review

Aloha, We appreciate you visiting our garden, and for writing a review. We value our guests experiences greatly, and are constantly looking for viable ways in which we can improve. Our 27 acre Garden offers more than 2 miles of well maintained walking paths, hundreds of botanical labels, beautiful overlooks onto waterfalls, valleys, and vast ocean views. We offer covered... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2017

This place was not on our itinerary when we planned our Road to Hana excursion. To be honest, we just stopped by to use their restroom, lol. Entrance fee is quite pricey at $15 per person. Contrary to their map, this garden is pretty small. You will get to see some ducks and a nice waterfall, though. With a name... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris J
Summer96708, Guest Relations Manager at Garden of Eden Arboretum & Botanical Garden, responded to this review

Aloha Chris, We appreciate you visiting our garden, and for writing a review. We value our guests experiences greatly, and are constantly looking for viable ways in which we can improve. Our 27 acre Garden offers more than 2 miles of well maintained walking paths, hundreds of botanical labels, beautiful overlooks onto waterfalls, valleys, and vast ocean views. We offer... More 

Travellers who viewed Garden of Eden Arboretum & Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Garden of Eden Arboretum & Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Garden of Eden Arboretum & Botanical Garden and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Garden of Eden Arboretum & Botanical Garden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?