We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northleaf Winery

232 S Janesville St, Highway 59, Milton, WI 53563-1529
+1 608-580-0575
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Nice Wisconsin Winery Ambiance.

We all enjoyed the cute decor and reading the wine and beer related signs. The wine was enjoyable... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
SkipperBill2
,
Belvidere, Illinois
via mobile
Great place!

Two of my friends and I go here on Wednesday’s (or, as we call them, Winesdays) while our kids are... read more

Reviewed 13 May 2018
heatherx23
,
Milton, Wisconsin
via mobile
Read all 76 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
On any given day you can find fun at Northleaf Winery! Complimentary tasting, share a bottle of wine and a cheese tray, try our unique wine and chocolate pairings, paint a wine glass or a wine bottle, or just hang out with us in the tasting room or on the deck. Northleaf Winery is a small, urban, family winery. All wines are made on site in craft batches, from grapes grown coast to coast. The tasting room is in an 1850 building on the National Registry of Historic Places. We give tours of the winery by reservation, and have a free video tour in the tasting room. We have a Bistro & Market next door with a huge deck for outdoor eating and music events, and fondue dinners the last Saturday of each month. A spacious and luxurious Guest House sits above the Bistro for a great getaway for you and your special someone.
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good25%
  • Average6%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“wine glasses” (5 reviews)
“green apple” (3 reviews)
Closed
Hours
Hours Today: Closed
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
232 S Janesville St, Highway 59, Milton, WI 53563-1529
CONTACT
Website
+1 608-580-0575
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine glasses"
in 5 reviews
"chocolate pairing"
in 6 reviews
"green apple"
in 3 reviews
"bridal shower"
in 2 reviews
"clear lake"
in 2 reviews
"great wine"
in 4 reviews
"peach pie"
in 2 reviews
"crackers"
in 3 reviews
"cheese tray"
in 2 reviews
"tasting room"
in 2 reviews
"sausage"
in 2 reviews
"wineries"
in 9 reviews
"sample"
in 7 reviews
"wisconsin"
in 7 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We all enjoyed the cute decor and reading the wine and beer related signs. The wine was enjoyable. Unfortunately, I must admit the service was indifferent. Since we believe the patter is an important part of a wine tasting, we left disappointed. If you don’t...More

Thank SkipperBill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail N, Owner at Northleaf Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi SkipperBill2. Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with the service you received yesterday. Every party is different, and we've found that a lot of people prefer to relax and explore the wines on their own. However, our servers are...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Two of my friends and I go here on Wednesday’s (or, as we call them, Winesdays) while our kids are in youth group. Jamie is usually our bartender and is amazing. We purchased wine glasses, told her a little about ourselves, and then she did...More

Thank heatherx23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail N, Owner at Northleaf Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks Heather! Always great to have you here on Winesdays. But what is it we're neglecting to do that is making this a 4-star rating instead of a 5?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

I have been there many times now. Once we had 12 ladies with us. Other times it was just my spouse & I. The different kinds of cheese on their cheese tray is my favorite, I recommend trying it. Also we have been buying cases...More

1  Thank Lyndsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

We arrived on a very busy Saturday afternoon, and were able to get a table after about 15 minutes. Beautiful spot to sit and do some tastings! Manu wine varieties to sample. They offer samples, and flights of half glasses. We ordered differing sizes, but...More

Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail N, Owner at Northleaf Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hi Elizabeth. Thanks for the nice review! Just one word about the sizes... if you ordered tastes, flights, glasses, they all should have been different... tastes are an ounce, flights are half glasses and a glass is, well, a full glass! So if more than...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Love tasting here, but it's a bit too bright most of the time. The Apple Reisling and Cranberry Shiraz are lovely.

Thank wendyritacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

North leaf winery was a newly discovered destination for us. We joined one of our daughters and her boyfriend in the Kettle Moraine area. We had bid and won a gift certificate for North leaf Winery and took advantage of the opportunity to spend the...More

2  Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

After spending a week trying more than a dozen of wineries in the state. I must say the serving size and way was by far the best. Here is all your samples, here is a bit about them now go and enjoy. If you have...More

1  Thank jsosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

The staff wasn't very chatty with us but the wine was delicious. I was surprised that they charged for their tasting, most wineries either don't charge or you pay for the tasting and keep your glass.

Thank arh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

This is a very quaint, cute, tasting room, with a nice selection of good wines. We loved that they brought you a "flight" of tastes, instead of pouring one at a time. This way, you can sample one, & come back to it again. Highly...More

1  Thank dmkrusito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

We went here on a Sunday afternoon. Great historic building, 160+ years old. Great wine and appetizers. Well worth seeing.

Thank Ken I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Milton Hotels
Ramada by Wyndham Janesville
511 reviews
6.80 km away
Motel 6 Janesville
77 reviews
6.84 km away
Hampton Inn Janesville
584 reviews
6.92 km away
Quality Inn
85 reviews
7.34 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Milton Family Restaurant
36 reviews
2.35 km away
Cone Zone
28 reviews
2.03 km away
Milwaukee Grill
443 reviews
7.32 km away
Fredrick's Supper Club
33 reviews
2.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Milton House Museum
52 reviews
.26 km away
Rock River Thresheree
11 reviews
8.57 km away
CAMDEN Playground
35 reviews
11.79 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lisa A
6 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Greg D | Reviewed this property |
The Bistro has closed for normal operation, but is still open for special occasions.
0
Votes
;