We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Center

Features Animals
717 General Booth Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-4811
+1 757-385-3474
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great time

Many interesting displays to view. Very educational even for adults. Very much worth the time and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
William J
,
Twin Lakes, Wisconsin
via mobile
Great rainy day option

Great option for an inside activity when it rains all day. Nice aquarium and the 3-D film about the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
PeaceLoveBoba
Read all 2,849 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
A 300,000-gallon tank with sharks, rays, and other aquatic species, is the main atrtaction at this popular aquarium.
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good31%
  • Average13%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“sea turtles” (148 reviews)
“nature trail” (137 reviews)
“marine life” (104 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
717 General Booth Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-4811
CONTACT
Website
+1 757-385-3474
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 20 of 2,795 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Many interesting displays to view. Very educational even for adults. Very much worth the time and have a relaxing day.

Thank William J
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great option for an inside activity when it rains all day. Nice aquarium and the 3-D film about the Amazon was informative and entertaining with really great 3D effects. The center offers two buildings but the larger building has the bulk of the exhibits. Wasn't...More

Thank PeaceLoveBoba
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent about 3hrs there so definitely worth the price of admission for us. I do wish there was a path that suggested where you should go next, also none of the placards gave the origin of the animals (location wise) which I thought was...More

Thank cacnie
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I felt the aquarium was a little overpriced for the number and quality of exhibits. I have been to much nicer aquariums for the same cost. It does however have a nice nature walk and attraction staff were friendly and informative.

Thank mlminwilm
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We attended a special event after hours and really enjoyed the Aquarium, the outdoor Harbor Seals were entertaining with their fancy swimming. The sharks in the "shark tank" put on a good show helping the after hour divers clean the glass wall. The Ray pool...More

Thank Tom058
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nothing outstanding, just your average aquarium. Enjoyed the nature walk, seeing the Bob Whites and Ospreys.

Thank MarciaH330
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing collections and lots of educational opportunities! Really enjoyed the big tanks and the open area out back!

Thank Nyr4
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beginning with the fascinating Seals in the outside aquarium and continuing on through the many marine and other exhibits, we three adults and one toddler child were entranced. This is a top line science center/aquarium/museum. Their habitats and displays are awesome. Do not miss the...More

Thank Pennelainer65
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I loved this aquarium! I ran out of time so I couldn’t view the other building they do close AT 5:00 sharp yikes. I didn’t realize I was in the aquarium so long. There is so much information on the animals there that it can...More

Thank Mercedes W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our first ever visit on our vacation. After spending $70. for 3 tickets to get in, we were very disappointed. They had over 50% of the displays/tank shut down for renovations. It was very crowded, kids & people running around screaming. It was awful, very...More

1  Thank Seamstress45
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rockafeller's Restaurant
1,326 reviews
1.29 km away
Big Sam's Grill and Raw Bar
595 reviews
1.51 km away
Rudee’s Restaurant & Cabana Bar
801 reviews
1.26 km away
Wawa Virginia Beach
13 reviews
1.49 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ocean Breeze Waterpark
335 reviews
.94 km away
Motor World
201 reviews
1.18 km away
Rudee Inlet Stand Up Paddle
493 reviews
1.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dee M
21 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Brittany M | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
lfigg
28 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from Ryda086 | Reviewed this property |
We went on a Wednesday... it was crowded... but I would agree, staff handle it well. I think there were a couple buses there from camps and what not. I would bet that Sundays are less crowded.
0
Votes
Mauricio T
8 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Valerie B | Reviewed this property |
We didn't know they had lockers either but we didn't need them.
0
Votes