We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pontefract Races

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Pontefract Park Park Road, Pontefract WF8 4QD, England
Phone Number:
+44 1977 781307

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 194 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 105
    Excellent
  • 64
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Fabulous Hen Do Venue

A fantastic day/evening Had by all The food and service was outstanding staff were very helpful and the venue was just perfect for our party Thank you

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed yesterday
Sara H
,
Pontefract
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 194: English reviews
Pontefract
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

A fantastic day/evening Had by all The food and service was outstanding staff were very helpful and the venue was just perfect for our party Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Sara H
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

you dont have to be a gambler to have a great afternoon out our friends with us dont gamble but they really enjoyed themselves the place is well organised there are plenty of places to buy food and drink which is of good quality late in the day it did become rowdy with certain gents which took the edge off... More 

Helpful?
Thank frances292
LeedsRich, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review - glad that you and your friends enjoyed the day. Sorry to hear that you had a few issues with rowdiness - if this does become an issue at any future visits, please do pop in to the Raceday Office and we will do our best to monitor any unnecessary behaviour. We look forward to... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016

Spent a very enjoyable afternoon with daughter, son in law and their 2 teenage children. While my wife and I had been racing before it was a new experience for the family and they all agreed that they would repeat the experience. All the amenities at Pontefract are conveniently located and the service we received at the Tote, the bookies,... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamiso
Ponte R, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review! We look forward to welcoming you all back to Pontefract in 2017! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon of racing at Pontefract I can highly recommend this course it's so friendly. The park suite offers excellent food always high quality. We bumped into friends too so an unexpected surprise. We have had some lovely days here in 2016.... Bring on 2017

Helpful?
Thank Sue J
Ponte R, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

Hi Sue Thanks for the lovely review - we're thrilled that you've had some enjoyable days with us and look forward to welcoming you back in 2017! More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016

I visited on Monday 3rd October and enjoyed a good afternoon at the races. I paid to go in the members enclosure where we found plenty of seating on the sunny grassed area beside where the horses leave the paddock to enter the racecourse. A very friendly and welcoming experience with close access to the parade ring to see the... More 

Helpful?
Thank darrenroberts2016
Ponte R, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

Dear Darren Thanks for the review! We're thrilled that you had a good day with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016

A group of Ladies attended Ladies Day and had the Marquee package. It was great fun, particularly as I have never been to the races before and really good value.

Helpful?
Thank Tillydog72
Ponte R, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

Great to hear that you had a lovely day out! Our 2017 Ladies Day will be on Wednesday 9th August and we hope to see you again then! More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

I visited the Racourse with my wife to celebrate her birthday on the 22 sept.I booked the Park Suite as a surprise for her.We had a table for two in a corner next to a large table of gents only,about ten of them.The food was very nice and we enjoyed a lovely meal.Unfortunately after the food was enjoyed the table... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank jim d
Ponte R, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's a shame that we did not know about these issues until the day after the race meeting as we would have been able to move your table to a quieter area. Sadly, we were not aware that the table next to you was all gentlemen - nor that you were celebrating a special occasion.... More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Bar prices were extortionate the draft fosters was terrible we went on cans after trying first pint, for a thursday meeting the stands were empty sadly like most courses they are pricing themselves out of business

Helpful?
1 Thank quinny09
Ponte R, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We have passed your comments on to our catering company who set the bar prices and look after the beer - we are disappointed to see that you didn't enjoy the beer and will look to rectify any problems. Our 2 September race meetings have both seen fantastic weather and attendances... More 

Level Contributor
349 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2016

My first visit to Pontefract races, surprisingly as its the closest course to home. A glorious September afternoon helped, but it was a good day out, despite no winning bets. Nice clean facilities. Decent bars and reasonable queues. Usual expensive beer prices. Travel by train to Tanshelf station was good. A couple of decent pubs in the town centre. Not... More 

Helpful?
Thank lowvalleyred
Ponte R, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - much appreciated! Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Pontefract and we look forward to welcoming you again. We will pass on your comments re the beer prices to our catering company, CGC Events. More 

Oswestry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2016

Attended pontefract races in September 2016 the weather was beautiful, the course was brilliant all bars and seating areas were well kept clean and tidy. Overall a lovely day the area for horses parade and winning enclosure was great easy viewing will definitely visit again

Helpful?
Thank Jill L
Ponte R, Public Relations Manager at Pontefract Races, responded to this review

Hi Jill Thanks for the review - it's great to hear that you had a good day out and we look forward to welcoming you back to Pontefract! More 

Travellers who viewed Pontefract Races also viewed

Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 
Castleford, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Pontefract Races? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Pontefract Races and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Leeds, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Pontefract Races staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?