We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

James River State Park

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 751 Park Rd, Gladstone, VA 24553-3259
Phone Number:
1-800-933-PARK
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 58 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 32
    Excellent
  • 20
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
JRSP Making has added new Hike/Bike Trails

This last Spring JRSP hosted a triathlon using a new trail for the Bike portion. Since then the trail has been open for hiking and Mt biking. It is a 3 miles single track loop... read more

Reviewed 14 December 2016
Bryan B
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 58: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2016

This last Spring JRSP hosted a triathlon using a new trail for the Bike portion. Since then the trail has been open for hiking and Mt biking. It is a 3 miles single track loop designed for a flowing biking experience and a bit more intricate look at the Parks interior. One of the sweetest features of the new trail... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan B
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Rented two cabins over the holiday and had a wonderful time. Lovely peaceful setting. Great accessible mountain biking and hiking and we had perfect weather to boot!

Helpful?
Thank lisap982016
Chester, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Every year our family gathers here for our annual fall retreat. The cabins are clean, spacious and comfortable with views of the James River and mountains just off of your back deck that are breathtaking. No one is ever disappointed by the sheer beauty of this place but it also affords opportunities for hiking, biking, river sports and even playgrounds... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gayle- Rob M
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Went for my sister's bachelorette weekend with several ladies. We visited a handful of local wineries, so we didn't spend much time in the park. The cabin was very clean and spacious. We cooked a few meals and spent an evening around the fire. Their light conservation program made for excellent night sky viewing.

Helpful?
Thank mcmack84
Yorktown, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Camped in our hybrid. Sites and roads are very well maintained. Big wood sites. First come first serve so we got there early and got the one we wanted. Bathrooms were spotless. Trails right behind our site. Hiked the River Trail and Cabell Trail. Well maintained and marked trails. Virginia State Parks do an excellent jobs with their campgrounds. Took... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thebrownboys
Saint Stephens Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The park was beautiful even if the weather conditions didn't cooperate entirely. The weekend we had reserved was after substantial rain. The James River was 11-13 feet above flood stage. There were no river activities allowed. The grounds were a soaked soggy mush. We would have paid good money to rent Wi-Fi access if it had been available. Unfortunately there... More 

Helpful?
Thank ReneAndCindyClark
VaStateParks, Guest Relations Manager at James River State Park, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your cabin stay at James River State Park in spite of the weather. Sorry about the lack of wireless at the park. We are working hard to improve cell and internet access at our parks statewide but most of it is out of our control. We aren't giving up. Thank you so much for providing... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We had a great weekend at the park. We stayed in a 2 BR Cabin that was very nice and clean. Our neighbors were too loud the first night but settled down night 2. I would have called to report but we did not have phone service. I would suggest the park staff ride through and remind groups still congregated... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim S
Kent
Level Contributor
334 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016

We drove over from Lynchburg to spend a hot and sunny Sunday at James River State Park. After paying the $4 entry fee we made for the visitor centre. The helpful ranger supplied us with trail maps - we wanted to walk the river side path along its length. This was a bit disappointing - views of the river were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Owen_thesaints
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here as part of canoe camping trip. The canoe landing campsites are undeveloped and perfect for what we needed.

Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2016

180 degree views in our 2 bedroom cabin, woodburning fireplace and privacy. We loved this park, this cabin and tubing the river this summer. We highly recommend you visit James River State Park. Go in the off season and the cabin rates are VERY reasonable, we loved our 2 bedroom (newer style has a/c and heat) with full kitchen and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shellie L

Travellers who viewed James River State Park also viewed

 

Been to James River State Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of James River State Park and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from James River State Park staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?