We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Winery on the Gruene

1308 Gruene Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78130-3311
+1 830-608-1976
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Terrible smell, poor service, disappointing

We noticed a terrible smell as we walked in. No place to sit downstairs. Tables upstairs but you... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Dawn D
via mobile
Delicious wines

Affordable wines made with good quality. I recommend the Acai, its sweet and refreshing! The... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Molly G
Read all 82 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good23%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“wine tasting” (12 reviews)
“black cherry” (4 reviews)
“fruit infused” (3 reviews)
LOCATION
1308 Gruene Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78130-3311
CONTACT
Website
+1 830-608-1976
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine tasting"
in 12 reviews
"black cherry"
in 4 reviews
"fruit infused"
in 3 reviews
"souvenir glass"
in 2 reviews
"hot summer day"
in 2 reviews
"riesling"
in 6 reviews
"wineries"
in 6 reviews
"gruene"
in 17 reviews
"broker"
in 2 reviews
"texas"
in 6 reviews
"scenery"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We noticed a terrible smell as we walked in. No place to sit downstairs. Tables upstairs but you have to walk up and down for each tasting as they do not serve upstairs. Staff appeared bored. Many better wineries to visit. Save you time and...More

Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

Affordable wines made with good quality. I recommend the Acai, its sweet and refreshing! The building itself smells kind of odd inside. Not sure if its because its old, but after the tastings we sat outside in the shade and it was lovely.

Thank Molly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

This was one of the few wineries that offer fruit infused wines. Nice for a change. Hard to get to. Very crowded when we were there. Many people were helping though so it went fast.

1  Thank tmd2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018

we meet some friends there and had a wonderful time. My boyfriend is not a big wine drinker but he found something he liked. I found a lot I liked!! They were cray busy when we first got there but the people were very nice....More

Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Winery on the Gruene, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

We're so happy you enjoyed our winery! We are currently looking at some options for our outdoor spaces and hope to have them in place by this summer. Hope to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We stopped by here while trying to find parking. My wife wanted to go inside and we did the wine tasting. We each got four samples and bought two bottles of wine. Very nice atmosphere and very nice employees, great way to spend an hour...More

Thank 10ringtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Manager at Winery on the Gruene, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our winery!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent atmosphere. 3 free samples of wine or craft beers. The wine was awesome and hubby loved the stout beer with coffee after taste Highly recommend

Thank bnjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Just finished a few sips and a glass at the grapevine and found this winery. Awesome staff. 3.00 for 4 samples well worth it. We took each sample outside and enjoyed the scenery. Bring some dark chocolate nuts and cheese Just chill. Good wines. Glad...More

Thank ARTHUR K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Winery on the Gruene, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Very happy you found us and had a good time! Look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Stopped in while traveling. Had a wonderful time. Staff was top notch. Donna helped our crew with the selections. . Keep up the good work.

Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Winery on the Gruene, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

I'm happy you enjoyed yourselves and found some wine you like! Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Very nice stop to taste some excellent wines just down the street from Gruene Hall and Gristmill. Fun staff that made some excellent recommendations on how to enhance our experience ....bought four bottle of their wine they were so tasty!

1  Thank Chief J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Winery on the Gruene, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for stopping by and trying some wine! I'm glad you found something you liked!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

Most winery's are very stuffy and serious. The servers looked at each glass after it was washed. Smiling faces and tasty wine was a very nice stop. If the staff was not happy they were great actors.

Thank davekcpa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Winery on the Gruene, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

We're so glad you had good time while you were here! Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 34 hotels in New Braunfels
Gruene Outpost River Lodge
116 reviews
1.66 km away
Wingate by Wyndham New Braunfels
734 reviews
2.48 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
100 reviews
3.47 km away
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels
605 reviews
3.56 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Gristmill
2,789 reviews
.12 km away
Gruene River Grill
1,025 reviews
.23 km away
The Grapevine Texas Wine Bar
149 reviews
.14 km away
The River House
167 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Gruene Historic District
688 reviews
.11 km away
Greune Antique Company
44 reviews
.07 km away
Barn Pottery
18 reviews
.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
vschatzie
22 April 2017|
Answer
Response from John C | Property representative |
11am-7pm
0
Votes
;