We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental

8570 River Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78132-3127
+1 830-643-4146
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
River Trash at its finest

After reading the reviews I'm surprised people still visit this place. I was being gracious to give... read more

Reviewed 15 May 2016
6breckels
,
Austin, Texas
via mobile
They cheated is and then kicked us out

As guests if the camp, we used their tubing service the first day. They charged us 20 per tube, and... read more

Reviewed 8 August 2015
Yvonne M
via mobile
Read all 8 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good0%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible75%
15 May 2016
“River Trash at its finest”
8 Aug 2015
“They cheated is and then kicked us out”
LOCATION
8570 River Rd, New Braunfels, TX 78132-3127
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

After reading the reviews I'm surprised people still visit this place. I was being gracious to give it 1 star. The owners/staff are completely rude and trashy. If you've had the pleasure of never meeting them just read their responses to these reviews and that...More

2  Thank 6breckels
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2016

Really!! Eight whole reviews!! Out of thousands that stay here. Yes people still do visit this place. First of all you did not stay here, you did not rent tubes from us, you did not purchase anything from us, so what gives you the right...More

Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

As guests if the camp, we used their tubing service the first day. They charged us 20 per tube, and 18 per cooler tube. They said we could do the 3 hours float. They shuttled us 4 min down the road. Dropped us and said,...More

1  Thank Yvonne M
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Our three hour float is a float not a PULL as what your men did as witnessed by all of our employees. The river changes sometimes on a daily basis and we strive to give our guests the best possible float. We will not endanger...More

Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

Worst experience ever! We were packing up to leave and the people who run the place came out cussing and screaming and pulled a shotgun on us. Then proceeded to fire thus shot gun. And threatened to stick it up my butt and shoot again......More

3  Thank thewiltfamily
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

First of all check out is at 11 am - not 11.36. The gates close at 11 am to clean up the campsites, garbage, and maintenance . I kindly asked you to leave but you would not! Five of you came to my personal residence,...More

Reviewed 2 September 2014

For the 2nd year, our group from San Antonio enjoyed a camping weekend with a great group of friends from Houston. Go Texans! The campsite is very well maintained and the owners, as always, were courteous and good people! The owners work very hard to...More

Thank CameraManCoronado
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

Thanks we try to our best. We miss you this year "2015", the river is running better than ever this year!!!!!

Reviewed 10 July 2013

A last minute decision to go tubing and camping brought us to Billy Goat's Gruff on the 4th of July weekend. A lot of other places I called were overpriced or the campsites were no where next to the river. Billy Goat's Gruff is a...More

3  Thank CameraManCoronado
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

Thanks Coranodo Group - we sure missed yall this 4th of July 2015

Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

I really wish I had checked these reviews before I had went. We go every year and had chosen this site because over the phone were simply told 15.00 each and a minimum of two nights. We pay in advance with a credit card get...More

11  Thank busyfootballmom
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

The $1 is for WORD tax that helps clean up the river. What ever float you signed up for is what you paid for. Our employees need to put up our tubes after 10 hours of work. Oh and that's right you tried to STEAL...More

Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

We love camping in this area and we decided we would try this place. Its a complete scam though!! They were very rude to us, and lied to us about prices, lied about accomadations, etc. Not only is the website misleading but i also called...More

13  Thank TravelingTexans007
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

Hmm again - why don't you describe the amenities? Prices can and will change from season to season and even in season pending on river flow. We update the website as fast as we can. If we make a mistake please point it out so...More

Reviewed 2 September 2009

This place does not deliver any kind of "customer service"--they charge higher prices don't deliver anything extra, compared to all other places on the river . I used this location for just toob rentals. We called the day before to see how the next day...More

20  Thank JTravelerHouston
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

Our prices are competitive We arrived when you wanted us to. You had to walk only about 30 feet. The facilities were locked because it was during a week day and you never asked to use them and are built from reclaimed material and designed...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sweeties donuts sattler texas
33 reviews
6.02 km away
Rockin Roadrunner
8 reviews
7.56 km away
The River House
155 reviews
7.86 km away
The Real Pit BBQ
8 reviews
6.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
Gruene Historic District
602 reviews
7.99 km away
Bezdeks Rentals
214 reviews
1.78 km away
Winery on the Gruene
72 reviews
7.88 km away
Greune Antique Company
40 reviews
7.93 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Billy Goat's Gruff - Tube Rental staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit