We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: East Side Pier Manly Whrf | Next to Manly Wharf Hotel, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Phone Number:
+61 1300 529 257
Website
Description:

Manly Kayak Centre has been established on Sydney Harbour since 1990 and is...

Manly Kayak Centre has been established on Sydney Harbour since 1990 and is proud to be able to provide the most dirverse range of aquatic products and services in Sydney. We have 3 amazing locations where you can rent kayaks, stand up paddle boards, take a lesson or tour, or hire our leisure boat for the day. Our three locations provide access to the best inner harbour beaches and waterways to kayak Sydney Harbour. Join our guides on the 3 Beaches Kayak Tour & picnic lunch, or book your own exclusive Sydney Harbour Beach Picnic and paddle a kayak or be tendered by private boat. Having hosted dozens of proposals our beach picnics are perfect for those special occasions. Try your luck with a Stand up Paddle Board (SUP) or play SupBall the latest game to hit the Northern Beaches, lessons, sales and hire available. Open 8am-5pm 7 days a week. (Excluding some public holidays)

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 50 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 34
    Excellent
  • 12
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Paddle at sunset - magic!

My first-ever kayak experience was with Manly Kayak Centre, many years ago, and it was memorable - returning as the sun was going down on a warm winter afternoon, with pelicans... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Helen J
,
Sydney, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 50: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My first-ever kayak experience was with Manly Kayak Centre, many years ago, and it was memorable - returning as the sun was going down on a warm winter afternoon, with pelicans flying overhead. The staff are friendly and helpful, and that part of the harbour is great for paddling.

Helpful?
Thank Helen J
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was our first time paddle boarding experience, thankfully the water was very calm. We thoroughly enjoyed it!

Helpful?
Thank Anne I
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We headed down here to hire a kayak for an hour. Everything went well for us but the advice that they were giving to others was a bit off. One couple were looking to go for an hour but got up sold to 2 hours (whereas I would have thought that they could just charge you more when you got... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CorvettePete
Holmer Green
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Wanted to try sup and I just turned up around 10.30 on a Friday morning.The girl in charge was very friendly and helpful.Went out for an hour and she gave me some great tips to make sure I got the most out of it.I only actually fell in twice but in fairness it was a very calm sea.Had a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Manly-Kayak-Centre, Guest Relations Manager at Manly Kayak Centre, responded to this review

You handled the SUP brilliantly considering you were new to the sport! The beauty of paddling with us at Manly Wharf is that we have exclusively flat water making it perfect for first timers. We look forward to seeing you out on the water again soon! More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2017

After some morning rain, our afternoon booking was cancelled due to "increasing winds and heavy rain". Upon checking the weather forecast, we found that no more rain was expected that day, and winds were expected to decline from a current (safe) 14 knots. Unfortunately, it felt like we were being lied too. Disappointed with the service.

Helpful?
Thank Mandy14022
Manly-Kayak-Centre, Guest Relations Manager at Manly Kayak Centre, responded to this review

We always work with the weather forecasts in order to make predictions based on over 20 years of experience of working in Manly Cove. While sometimes we do get it wrong it is never our intention to mislead our customers and I am very sorry that you felt you were being lied to. We always want to see people have... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2017

I took a private SUP lesson with Gina and had a blast! Prior to that I had exchanged emails with the company to get the lesson set up and they were very helpful and accommodating. Great value for the money!

Helpful?
Thank Jill H
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

We had the best time supping around the beautiful water of manly. It's $25 an hour to hire a board and worth every bit of it! We've been to other places where it's a little cheaper but the water and views don't even come close to this! The staff member was friendly and helpful and gave us great tips! We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hairbykatherine
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Took my daughter out for a couple of hours. The service and boat were great and we had a ball on the harbour exploring around Manly. Only criticism is the price - over twice the cost of the same boats in Pittwater does seem expensive.

Helpful?
1 Thank TomREngland
Manly-Kayak-Centre, General Manager at Manly Kayak Centre, responded to this review

I am pleased to hear that you and your daughter had a great time exploring the beautiful waters of Manly with us! Sorry that you believe the experience was expensive. We operate in one of Sydney's most iconic locations and we feel that our prices reflect the amazing experience you can have paddling to some of Sydney's most treasured hidden... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2016

As a family we tried stand up paddle boarding for the first time and it was great fun. My kids were 11 and 12 so a perfect age to try this sport.

Helpful?
Thank Ramona D
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2016

The group at manly kayak did a fantastic job setting up for us and were very discreet. They checked in several times and even took photos from the water. An A+ job

Helpful?
Thank Tyler F

Travellers who viewed Manly Kayak Centre also viewed

 
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Manly Kayak Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Manly Kayak Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?