We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium

#7 of 19 things to do in Balloch Features Animals
Drumkinnon Tower Ben Lomond Way | Drumkinnon Tower, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8QL, Scotland
+44 1389 721500
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Aquarium Visit with Octonauts Adventures

Visited the aquarium using an ItIsOn deal. Great value for money. My children enjoyed meeting the... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Vicky551
,
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
via mobile
Christine

Have just been today! A family ticket for 2 adults and 4 kids was £61.50. Totally disgusting and... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
crissyb19
,
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 755 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
SEA LIFE Loch Lomond Aquarium is just 30 minutes from Glasgow, situated on the stunning Loch Lomond Shores. Explore an amazing underwater world and take a fascinating journey from the Loch Lomond shores to the ocean depths through 7 themed zones, including our Tropical Ocean Tunnel. Get up close to over 5000 creatures, including Scotland's only Giant Green Sea Turtle, the largest collection of sharks in Scotland and our playful family of otters. Find out how it feels to touch a starfish, crab and other creatures living in our interactive rockpool then head to our Observation Deck for unrivalled views of Loch Lomond, or relax in our welcoming cafe. With fun talks, animal feeds, special events and our quiz trail, there's plenty for everyone to enjoy at SEA LIFE Loch Lomond. The aquarium offers great fun for all the family, whatever the weather!
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good33%
  • Average24%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“feeding times” (22 reviews)
“rock pools” (25 reviews)
“top floor” (29 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
LOCATION
Drumkinnon Tower Ben Lomond Way | Drumkinnon Tower, Balloch, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 8QL, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1389 721500
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 733 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Visited the aquarium using an ItIsOn deal. Great value for money. My children enjoyed meeting the Octonauts character and solving the puzzles as we went round the aquarium. We were a little bit disappointed with the interactive pools this time as there were only starfish...More

Thank Vicky551
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Have just been today! A family ticket for 2 adults and 4 kids was £61.50. Totally disgusting and would have left but couldn't disappoint kids as I had promised! Spent all off 90 mins for all that money and poor amount to see for the...More

Thank crissyb19
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

It's been years since I've been to the aquarium so yesterday when I collected my 7 yr old daughter we decided to visit , before we set off on route we booked the tickets online to take advantage of the saving and on arrival I...More

Thank colin s
Kathryn A, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi, Thank you for your lovely review of our aquarium. It's great to read that you enjoyed seeing our displays and taking part in our Octonauts event. Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff as customer service is one of our top...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

On arrival the staff were very helpful and the attractions were very clean . We spent about 2 hours here in total . Although not a big sealife it is packed full of fish etc . So if your able to stand still and observe...More

Thank Matthew B
Kathryn A, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi, Thank you for your 5* review of our aquarium. It's great to read that you felt our attraction was clean and well-maintained, especially as you are an aquarist yourself. Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff, as customer service is one...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Booked particularly for the Octonauts experience. My three year old was disappointed. Aquarium wasn't particularly clean and fairly empty of fish compared to similar centres elsewhere. Far too much hype re octonaut event. Apart from the hourly character visit which lasted only twenty minutes (which...More

Thank takemeback2NYC
Kathryn A, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi, Apologies you were disappointed with your visit to SEA LIFE Loch Lomond. Our staff clean the aquarium every morning and evening, in addition to quick touch ups throughout the day wherever possible. Unfortunately at peak times, due to high visitor volume, areas can become...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

The centre is really quite small and although there are a number of exhibits it's quite quick to go round. Feeding time with the otters and turtles was fun (and the reason this is 2 rather than 1 star). Having been to a sister attraction...More

Thank rachelclinton
Kathryn A, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi, Apologies you were disappointed with your visit to SEA LIFE Loch Lomond. On a positive note it's great that you enjoyed our turtle and otter feeding sessions. It's disappointing to read you felt we were too expensive. We have a variety of discounts in...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Been to the aquarium a few times over the years but today was one of the best I'd say. We were there as a family of 3 generations so ages 5-82 and all 5 of us really enjoyed it. You can see they have spent...More

Thank offmc17
Kathryn A, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi, Thank you for your kind comments about our aquarium. It's brilliant to read that you all enjoyed your visit, as we do aim to appeal to visitors of all ages. It's also great that you were able to take advantage of our online discount....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited for a fun day out with mu husband as we are both into nature and wildlife. We arrived at opening time which is recommended as they feed the otters at 11am and this was a highlight of the day. The café located above the...More

1  Thank S K
Kathryn A, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review our aquarium. It's great to read that you enjoyed your visit, seeing our otters being fed and the view from our café. We hope you'll visit us again soon. Kind regards,

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is worth a visit, and passed a couple of hours. I do think it is over priced for what it is though and may be better for families with childrenMore

1  Thank Ellie L
Kathryn A, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review our aquarium. It's great that you feel we're worth a visit. It's disappointing to read you feel we're overpriced however. Next time you visit please consider booking online to save 30% or look out for one of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved this sea life centre. Especially the otter feeding times the care and enthusiasm the people who work in this centre is lovely to see. Staff were helpful and knowledgeable The centre itself is well laid out and easy to move around when busy, even...More

Thank libbyr321
Kathryn A, General Manager at Loch Lomond Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, Thanks for your lovely comments about our centre. It's great that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful as customer service is one of our top priorities here. It's also brilliant to read that the wheelchair user in your party found the...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cucina Ristorante
541 reviews
.52 km away
Martin Wishart at Loch Lomond
574 reviews
1.30 km away
The Stables Restaurant
453 reviews
1.30 km away
The Cameron Grill
353 reviews
1.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Balloch Castle Country Park
240 reviews
.95 km away
Loch Lomond Seaplanes
251 reviews
1.33 km away
Sweeney's Cruises
360 reviews
.60 km away
Loch Lomond Bird of Prey Centre
419 reviews
.33 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Vibz V
18 May 2017|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from Kathryn A | Property representative |
Hi, Most of our customers stay with us for a couple of hours. However our tickets are valid for re-entry as many times as you like throughout the day so you can come and go right up until last entry at 4pm and enjoy the... More
0
Votes
ian c
19 September 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Kathryn A | Property representative |
Hi, If you speak to the staff at front of house and they will let you up to the coffee shop in the lift and will not charge you entry to the aquarium. Kind regards, SEA LIFE Loch Lomond
1
Vote
Janet A
21 July 2016|
Answer Show all 10 answers
Response from Kathryn A | Property representative |
Hi, There are various picnic areas outside and customers are also welcome to use the lookout area on the 4th floor of the aquarium to eat a packed lunch. We do also have a coffee shop, should you wish to purchase food... More
0
Votes