Loch Katrine
Loch Katrine
4.5
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Welcome to Loch Katrine - one of Scotland's special places. Just as special as the magnificent scenery is the famous steamship "Sir Walter Scott" which itself has been a landmark in The Trossachs for over a hundred years. Your visit is not complete without a cruise on this wonderful ship, or on "Lady of the Lake", the perfect way to experience the beauty of Loch Katrine. Perhaps you'll just want to relax with a coffee or a meal in the Brenachoile Cafe Bar, shop for a souvenir and take a stroll by the shore, or bring the family for a cycle trip?
Duration: 2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience Loch Katrine and nearby attractions

See what travellers are saying
  • Matthew M
    3 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Amazing staff and views
    My Boyfriend and I were here at the weekend and we had such a great time. What a great experience. Amazing views and lots of interesting information too. The boat trip was so beautiful and peaceful. The staff were so friendly and pleasant especially Lukasz we really liked him. The food and drinks on the boat were also lovely. Would definitely recommend this to all ages!
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 27 August 2023
  • roy v
    Traralgon, Australia5,869 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A lovely place to visit even in the rain
    We were staying nearby at Lake of Menteith so drove to Loch Katrina on a very wet and misty day . We did the two hour boat trip there and loved it. Somehow the bad weather added to the atmosphere of the Loch. Some great mountain scenery, passed a few lovely old stone buildings, what a treat to see the cottage built for Queen Victoria when she visited the Loch to open the new water system that feeds Glasgow. Another feature was the McGregor cemetery enclosed by stone walls to protect it from the water. This is a beautiful part of the country, a pleasure to visit Rob Roy Country
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 5 October 2023
  • Swipernoswiping
    Edinburgh, United Kingdom122 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Loch Katrine boat trip highly recommended
    We were staying nearby and visited Loch Katrine where we took the boat trip around the loch that left from Trossachs Pier. Really interesting tour that lasted around an hour. Special mention to the captain/tour guide who invited me into his cab on the upper deck on a cold and wet February afternoon. Friendly chap and had a wealth of knowledge about the history of the loch and surrounding area. A credit to the team. Also went for a coffee at the cafe afterwards to warm up and it was nice also - they do better lattes than Costa and Starbucks too! Well worth a visit if you're in the area.
    Visited February 2024
    Travelled with family
    Written 16 February 2024
  • dion5feb
    16 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Excellent, informative and stunning scenery
    Great 45 minute cruise around Loch Katrine (pronounced Katrin). Excellent, informative and stunning scenery. The guide ‘captain’ and staff very friendly and helpful. The information was so well researched and it gave us so much insight that we didn’t know about the surround area and its history. The scenery was stunning, weather was kind to us which made it even more so and we are sure we spotted some osprey nearby, beautiful! Definitely worth the money, a great experience.
    Visited April 2024
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 22 April 2024
  • Caitlin G
    Scotland, United Kingdom94 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Lovely and peaceful for a family walk.
    Our children loved taking their bikes to go around the water. Really beautiful views and lovely to sit at the water for a snack. The wee gift shop was handy for buying the snacks. Also, very clean toilets! Dog friendly as well.
    Visited April 2024
    Travelled with family
    Written 30 April 2024
  • Extraordinary765569
    Scotland, United Kingdom9 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Loch Katrine eco pods
    We had a great time despite the weather. The pod we were in had ensuite toilet. There was a sofa bed and adult bunk beds. A microwave combi was provided. Showers for exclusive use were nearby. We stayed two nights. We walked along the Loch first night. The Loch can be seen from the pods It was very peaceful. Some pods have ensuite showers. There is an accessible pod which sleeps two.
    Visited April 2024
    Travelled with family
    Written 21 May 2024
  • CLE68
    Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom456 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great trip on the Loch
    Fantastic cruise on the Loch with a very informative skipper. Beautiful scenery and interesting history. Tranquil, peaceful, dramatic. Followed by afternoon tea in the cafe which was nice and plentiful. Nice gift shop on site and plenty of areas for walks. A really enjoyable afternoon.
    Visited May 2024
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 25 May 2024
  • Sirenita123
    Coventry, United Kingdom1,838 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Boat trip on Lake Katrine
    Great area to visit and a wonderful trip on Loch Katrine - experienced staff on the boat giving a detailed history of the boat and surrounding area. The clarity of the water was amazing and the work put in place to maintain the natural environment. Definitely worth a visit.
    Visited May 2024
    Travelled with friends
    Written 26 May 2024
  • BennyDiction
    Chippenham, United Kingdom412 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Beautiful place good boat trip
    We were staying outside Stirling and the cottage owner suggested a visit to Loch Katrine. "It's like Scotland in miniature". It is The scenery is stunning. We opted to go for an hour long cruise on SS Sir Walter Scot. Well worth doing. For disabled people access to the boat is excellent. Completely level. Staff all very helpful. When we got off a coach party was waiting to get on Seeing.me in a mobility scooter one of the staff came and cleared a way through fir me which I appreciated. He also explained that the lift up to the cafe was out of order But if I wanted to order anything he would arrange for it to be brought to me. Highly recommended
    Visited June 2024
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 22 June 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles980 reviews
Excellent
656
Very good
262
Average
42
Poor
12
Terrible
8

Loraine C
Kirriemuir, Scotland, United Kingdom27 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020
Booked one of the motorhome hook up points for two nights (Friday to Sunday ). £18 a night for a parking spot with a tap and electric, no waste drop or chemical toilet emptying point. Apparently they load so much electricity that should do you, we ran out of electric on the Saturday night at 9pm. No contact number or anyone who could rectify it. Only given an emergency number. When asked about this on the Sunday morning was told that they load what they think should be enough for the two nights. I complained that we were not told this on booking to be told oh well maybe the manager will need to look at this. Went to the cafe for a cooked breakfast , one person serving only three Tables in ,ordered waited 3/4 of an hour for a warm breakfast not hot. Cafe was freezing cold everyone sitting with coats on rapped up Staff on the whole were very unhelpful and uninterested won’t be going back. Lots of other places in the area with happy, helpful staff.
Written 18 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Loch Katrine. You are correct we do not have a waste/chemical drop on site. We do not offer these services on our site and are able to give directions to a site nearby who offer this. The emergency number you had was the number to the staff member who would have been able to help you at 9pm. The problem was indeed brought up with the manager who managed to rectify the problem. If you had visited the cafe in he morning then it may have been chilly as it is a large building and it takes a while to heat up fully. We have less staff at the moment due to the covid situation and so we are unable to staff our site fully at the moment. I apologise for your experience and hope you continue to enjoy the rest of beautiful Scotland.
Written 16 November 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

gg2016101213
Edinburgh, UK3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Family
Worst holiday ever experienced nit good for young kids 1hr wait for breakfast and only 8 people using it. No highchairs provided when bbq no not safe. Boat ride experience poor made kids wait to get on last. no buggie wheelchair facilities. Staff rude. Damp towels. No shower areas. No shelter in raining. Only 2 swings. Staff kept £50 deposit for cleaning absolutely shocking experience left early because sooo stuffy in lodge beds uncomfortable. would not recommend to all.not even 1 star
Written 11 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review. Where to begin with this one. First of all we do have shower facilities situated in our main car park which you can book through out the day and are cleaned after every individual has used it. The lodge that you left (on the day you were due to check out) was left in an unacceptable condition. Litter was strewn all over lodge with an over flowing bin, dirty nappies left, dishes left in sink and food left in the dirty fridge. Due to covid-19 we ask guests to bag all sheets and towels and left in lodge to protect our house keepers. Not only was this not done but the sheets were left on the duvets and pillows forcing our staff to strip them by hand and putting them at risk. There was also drawings left on the wall which you had denied as you explained you did not have pens/crayons with you. However, the drawings were made with a lipstick which was matched to the wall. I am not sure what you mean about the BBQ being unsafe but our BBQs are very safe and gas only to protect the area as it is a SSSI site. I will also add that you did not clean your BBQ and was left for our house keeper. The heavy picnic bench was dragged over the entrance to your lodge which required 2 staff members to remove, the reason for this we are still trying to figure out. You were given only 2 towels when you arrived and so our housekeeper brought you extra for the rest of your stay. These towels are professionally cleaned and dried by a separate company and we have had no other complaints of this.. Due to the extra amount of time and effort required to have the lodge ready for the next guests, the guests were un-able to check in at 4pm and had to be offered complimentary items to apologise. For these reasons and the added risk to our staffs health is why we kept your £50 house keeping deposit. We suggest having more consideration for the staff at the next place you visit.
Written 25 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Karol_paris
Paris, France221 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022
After hot drinks at the lochside café (highly recommended) while waiting for the rain to subside, we set out for walks along the loch, each at his/her own pace. Although it was a Saturday afternoon, the path was not overcrowded, there were times when I was alone with the loch and its splendid views for quite some distance.
There is a little gift shop where you pay for parking tickets according to the length of time you intend to stay. I imagine that this shop could get crowded on a summer day!

We did not take the steamer so I can't judge whether it was worth it, but it does offer another way of seeing the loch.
Written 16 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

whonickedmyhalo
Glasgow, UK131 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2022 • Couples
We had an itison deal and was amazing value for money. We stayed in Loch Arklet as we wanted en suite facilities. From the minute we arrived we fell in love, loch katrine is beautiful. We visited the cafe, had soup and toastie which was a bit pricey but expected in touristy places, tasted lovely and everything was fresh. I’ve uploaded a cafe menu as some menus online weren’t correct, not sure if it changes seasonally but not many options. We had a lovely cruise before check in and staff were very friendly and helpful. The pod itself, stunning! I fell in love with it. So cosy and comfortable, everything we needed, was quite warm at night but had a great fan in pod. Spotlessly clean, our pod had tea, coffee and hot chocolate as well as milk pots. In the bathroom was shampoo, hand soap and shower gel. Wasn’t expecting all of these things but what a lovely touch. Area was peaceful and relaxing especially at night, we sat outside both nights and it was so nice. Only downside as people have mentioned is the WiFi, it’s not great at all. I like putting pics up on social media of my adventures but it struggled. It doesn’t put me off staying again as it was amazing but definitely something that could be improved if it’s logistically possible.
Written 28 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

GrannyPea
Dunure, UK141 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2023 • Couples
We stopped here between Loch Lomond and Killin coming via the Dukes Pass!

So pleased we made the short detour as this is just a gem! Peaceful and overwhelmingly beautiful, everything we needed for a few hours! And we checked out their overnight motorhome parking for future visit which looks excellent for the money

We went for a bumble with the 2 dogs for about a mile along the shore road, watched the boats glide in and out and marvelled at the scenery. Stopped at the cafe for a light lunch and did a bit of people watching then restarted our journey before too many other tourists arrived.

Very idyllic.
Written 13 April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

James S
Glasgow, UK146 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020
The main steamer Sir Walter Scott is laid up for the next year or so awaiting new boilers so we sailed on one of the smaller vessels which would normally accommodate about sixty or so. There were only 4 in total on this 45 minute cruise so no problem with finding a good seat!!
Nice little trip around the loch on a surprisingly nice day for October but not a lot to see on the loch shore as the trees come right down to the waterline. Most views are of Ben Venue, Ben Ann and Ben Lomond in the distance with the Arrochar (So called) Alps in the distance. There is a café at the pier and good social distancing measures in palce when we had our pre-Sail coffee. Only minus point is that there is a parking charge for the car park when every other car park we encountered was free due to the Covid virus
Written 14 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

ScotlandJasper1
Edinburgh, UK39 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022 • Couples
I planned this as a day out for sick elderly relative so had paid attention to cruise frequency on web site to limit duration. Understandably, cruises were rationalized due to low attendance on the day. But...the customer service was exceptional. Advised of lift inop in cafe but recommended alrernative option in gift shop. Toilets handy to disabled spaces. Suggested we might get an earlier trip if demand appropriate and delighted to say that was the outcome. On board, care and attention on 'The Lady of the Lake' made boarding safe but unobtrusive. Commentary was great. Good info but good gaps to take in the beauty of the area. Only downside was that we missed the longer cruise. It is lovely and 1 hour is just not enough . Thankyou.
Written 9 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jen
Glasgow, UK515 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Couples
Were gifted this lovely experience for Christmas and it was the most relaxing trip.
We stayed in lodge number 8 right on the far left hand side. The little pod had everything you could need inside and was kitted out perfectly. It included a microwave, fridge, toaster etc. So you could have meals comfortably.
We stayed for 2 nights and loved waking up to the beautiful view over Loch Katrine.
Our stay also included a loch cruise. Which was a nice touch.

The lodges are an addition to this area but I think they have done it well without spoiling the beautiful surroundings.
Written 1 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Written 12 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Malcolm P
Edinburgh, UK42 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020
We had a great day out at Loch Katrine enjoying the Loch cruise on a warm September afternoon. The walk around the Loch is easy going with, of course, wonderful Loch views - we walked for an hour or so before doubling back a quick visit to the cafe and then the cruise.

The guys there have set up well to deal with the Covid restrictions. The day we were there was quite busy but there was space in the car park and in the cafe.

I'll add a return visit to my calendar for sure.
Written 19 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

shropshirenick
Shrewsbury, UK20,175 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020
We enjoyed the lovely scenery around Loch Katrine and got to see lots of the Loch by going on a boat trip on Lady of the Lake. The day we visited was cloudy and on the cold side. I would love to return on a sunny day. The Loch and surrounding scenery is very beautiful.
Written 12 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 866
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Loch Katrine - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024) - Tripadvisor

All Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park HotelsLoch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park Hotel Deals
All things to do in Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Zoos & Aquariums in Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire