We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea Life Surveys

Features Animals
| Tobermory Pier, Tobermory PA75 6NR, Scotland
+44 1688 302916
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Whale and dolphin watching

Sadly booked though the Explore Mull website but when we arrived at the dock there was no trip... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
michael L
via mobile
A day beyond belief

We have had boat trips to see wildlife in many countries but this took the biscuit (an artisan... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
staffordfatboy
,
Stafford, United Kingdom
Read all 275 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Sea Life Surveys, established over 30 years ago in 1982, was the first and is now the most experienced whale watching, porpoise, shark and dolphin watching, marine survey, and education programme in the UK. Establishing the Hebridean Whale and Dolphin Trust in 1992, Sea Life Surveys is still actively conducting a research programme focused on the Minke whale and contributing directly to marine conservation.
  • Excellent90%
  • Very good7%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“minke whales” (47 reviews)
“hour trip” (37 reviews)
“common dolphins” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
LOCATION
| Tobermory Pier, Tobermory PA75 6NR, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1688 302916
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sadly booked though the Explore Mull website but when we arrived at the dock there was no trip scheduled for that day and despite trying to contact Explore Mull and Sealife surveys did not get a reply. As the funds had already been taken I...More

Thank michael L
SeaLifeSurveys, Manager at Sea Life Surveys, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Michael, I am very sad to read your review of our business. Ensuring our customers have a great experience is at the forefront of everything we do so I am disappointed to hear that you've had such a bad experience with one of our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have had boat trips to see wildlife in many countries but this took the biscuit (an artisan, chocolate coated biscuit at that). The sea was flat calm after early fog, which allowed us to see fogbows in all their glory. Then the wonder began,...More

2  Thank staffordfatboy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been on a few trips with Sea Life Surveys and have seen a variety of marine life and birds. The crew are passionate about wildlife and marine conservation and are extremely knowledgeable about it. The volunteers on board are constantly 'spotting' in order...More

Thank Carole T
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I went to the Isle of Mull because for years I had absolutely no luck trying to spot dolphins around Scotland and Ireland. I knew there can never be any guarantees when trying to spot wildlife, be it on land or water, but I figured...More

3  Thank Nicole F
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Lovely sized boat, friendly and extremely knowledgeable guides, and at ton of great sightings. The crew managed to find us harbour porpoise, common dolphin and minke whale, as well as a host of common and rare seabirds. Hot drinks kept the wind chill at bay,...More

Thank JoshyArbs
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Shortly after setting out on the boat the weather deteriorated and we had a torrential downpour - way outside the scope of the organisers and added to the roughness of the trip which had unfortunate consequences for some passengers. However, the guides were very informative...More

Thank Karen D
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Going out on a boat and viewing sea life has been on the 'to do' list for ages and one of the main reasons for visiting Mull. We went out on 2nd Aug, the day was nice and the sun was out. Its called wild...More

Thank MrsG1996
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Our second trip with Sea life Surveys and WOW WHAT A TRIP! The guides were very informative throughout the trip informing us of where we were going and what wildlife to look out for ie manx shearwaters for minkie whales and feeding gulls for porpoises....More

Thank dancer5482
Reviewed 17 August 2017

I took a four-hour cruise on the Sula Beag as part of a Nature Scotland tour. The boat is large with plenty of space to walk about on two decks, and also in indoor area should it rain. There were plenty of knowledgeable and enthusiastic...More

Thank tafwys
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Friendly yet professional staff Great knowledge of birds and sea creatures Saw two sea eagles, harbour porpoises, 5 minke whales, a seal, gannets diving, lots of other sea birds and dolphins playing around our boat!! Skipper took time to take boat over to where we...More

Thank carolyn h
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Tobermory Bakery
533 reviews
.21 km away
Cafe Fish
2,018 reviews
.38 km away
Galleon Grill
492 reviews
.25 km away
Hebridean Lodge
140 reviews
.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tobermory Distillery
441 reviews
.04 km away
Mull Museum
273 reviews
.31 km away
Caledonian MacBrayne - Tobermory Day Trips
148 reviews
.23 km away
Aros Park
133 reviews
.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lhooson867
3 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Carole T | Reviewed this property |
I can only imagine this is an unfortunate error and that you will be refunded in full when you contact them. Try contacting them through their Facebook page as well .
1
Vote
Clare O
13 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Jo C | Reviewed this property |
There was a lady in a wheelchair on our trip and the guys on the boat were really helpful and looked after her, made sure she could see what was going on, and that she had a good as trip as everybody else.
1
Vote
disappontedChorley
16 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from lteacher_7 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, we were able to go back and go out on another day but they also offer refunds if that is not possible
0
Votes