We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Corfe Castle Model Village

Model Village The Square, Corfe Castle BH20 5EZ, England
+44 1929 481234
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Cyclists unwelcome

Coffee was passable , cake was excellent, but there was muttering under breathe about cyclists... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Ian T
,
Verwood, United Kingdom
Great for little ones...

I first visited the model village some 30 years ago with my parents while holidaying in the area... read more

Reviewed 14 April 2018
bobski78
,
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Read all 368 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
If you would like to know how the castle would have looked before destruction by Cromwell in 1646, a visit to the model village shows Corfe Castle and the village in 1/20th scale. Set in beautiful Purbeck surroundings, also with giant games, enchanted fairy garden, working stocks and pillories and croquet. There is on site the Courtyard Tea Room for good quality reasonably priced snacks with a wide range of gluten free options.
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fairy garden” (62 reviews)
“garden games” (28 reviews)
“scones” (23 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Suggested Duration: < 1 hour
LOCATION
Model Village The Square, Corfe Castle BH20 5EZ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1929 481234
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fairy garden"
in 62 reviews
"garden games"
in 28 reviews
"scones"
in 23 reviews
"giant connect"
in 10 reviews
"tea room"
in 24 reviews
"gardens are beautiful"
in 8 reviews
"cream tea"
in 19 reviews
"all day breakfast"
in 4 reviews
"giant jenga"
in 4 reviews
"gift shop"
in 14 reviews
"gluten free"
in 4 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 23 reviews
"cake"
in 10 reviews
"lovely cafe"
in 6 reviews
"staff were very friendly"
in 9 reviews
"lovely food"
in 4 reviews
"rainy day"
in 7 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Coffee was passable , cake was excellent, but there was muttering under breathe about cyclists. This is unfortunate as these cafes survive on cyclists during the winter and it was cold spring day, and 60% of the customers were cyclists. It would be a big...More

Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macelio A, Owner at Corfe Castle Model Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Ian Just to let you know CYCLISTS ARE VERY WELCOME, so no "muttering under breathe" at all. Yes, we have lots of regular Cyclists groups come here from long time ago and they know they are very welcome (thats why they keep coming back)....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

I first visited the model village some 30 years ago with my parents while holidaying in the area, and I could vaguely remember it when visiting again with my nearly 4 year old daughter. The size of this attraction can be a little deceiving when...More

Thank bobski78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Been going for year, always feel so welcome there, food is always fresh. Great place for a day out with the family.

Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2018

What a cute place to visit ! I had a amazing day out with my family. After we visited the main castle we went to the model village just to have a idea how was the main castle before and we were surprised because in...More

Thank Juan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

I went there with my friends and we had an amazing time, staff are lovely + food service very good also the garden it's a magical place to be and spent the whole afternoon. Thank you very much 💚💛😍 for sure we are coming back...More

Thank Maria Daniela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

£12 for a family ticket?! Total waste. The model of the Corfe mound is partially collapsed. Tacky Fairy Garden with gnomes etc... The croquet was the only redeeming factor but my advise is buy a croquet set for a tenner in the local shop and...More

Thank foxyxof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macelio A, Owner at Corfe Castle Model Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Foxyxof i am sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to Corfe Castle Model Village. I think £12, for a family ticket is not expensive at all because our garden has more than a croquet game to play. We have a very colourful and tidy...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Pleasure to visit such a passionately thought out built garden. Such a joy to encapsulate from a truly visionary fellow gardener.

Thank Mat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We visited here on a wet day and were not disappointed. The lady in the shop could not have been more helpful or accommodating - she offered us umbrellas and allowed us to leave the pushchair in the shop as it was quiet, whilst we...More

1  Thank RunRiverRun18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

I visited the Corfe model village Summer 2017 with my family and was pleasantly surprised. There was plenty to keep the kids occupied for a couple of hours, the staff were helpful and friendly, the gardens very lovely. You have nature, history and nostalgia with...More

Thank Scarlett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Such a lovely idea and so much to see in these gardens. The model village and castle are quite impressive and give a great idea of what the castle would have been like. There are a few giant garden games to play along the way,...More

Thank Abigail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Corfe Castle Hotels
The Bankes Arms Hotel
150 reviews
.05 km away
Mortons House Hotel
1,007 reviews
.14 km away
Springfield Country Hotel
589 reviews
5.27 km away
The Priory Hotel
442 reviews
6.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Corfe Castle Model Village
265 reviews
.03 km away
Mortons House Restaurant
199 reviews
.19 km away
The Castle Inn
814 reviews
.37 km away
The Greyhound Inn
1,489 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dorset Waterpark
1,046 reviews
.76 km away
Corfe Castle
2,231 reviews
.01 km away
Dorset Mud Trail
44 reviews
.70 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
merlindragon
7 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Macelio A | Property representative |
Hi Merlindra, yes we do allow dogs in the whole place, including the tea room. Hope to see you soon. Emily and Ed and the team at the Model Village
0
Votes
sophie e
12 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Macelio A | Property representative |
Hi Sophie, Entrance prices are; adult £3.95 Concession £3.50 Child £2.75 Family £12.00 (2 adults and up to 3 children) Carers free Children 3 and under free. Hope that helps. Kind regards Emily
0
Votes
;