We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Dart Country Park

River Dart Country Park, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7NP, England
+44 1364 652511
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Great Easter Break

Spend a lovely Easter break here. Despite the rain and mud we all had a great time. Good campsite... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
FTC-78
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
via mobile
Birthday outing with friends

Arrived am sat 24th march, great facilities and so much to do for children and teenagers we had... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Anthony N
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Read all 432 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Located in the Dartmoor National Park the River Dart Country Park has an award winning campsite and is open daily from Easter to the end of September for fun and adventurous holidays and days out for families.Set in 90 acres, with lakes, parkland and woods with the majestic River Dart flowing through the Park it is the ideal place to stay or visit. Children can run and play on our Pirate Ship lake and Adventure Playgrounds and our on-site facilities cater for everyone. The Old Sawmill cafe offers a great range of food so mum can also have a break and our onsite shop stocks items for your BBQ! B&B accommodation is also available throughout the year and don't forget all guests have free access to the extensive adventure playgrounds for the duration of their stay. For those seeking more adrenalin fuelled fun there I sour Dare Devil activities including water zorbs, high ropes course, canoeing and kayaking - instructor lead activities - extra cost. Theres an adventure around every corner!
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good24%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“high ropes” (66 reviews)
“pirate ship” (77 reviews)
“zip wire” (49 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
River Dart Country Park, Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7NP, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1364 652511
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"high ropes"
in 66 reviews
"pirate ship"
in 77 reviews
"zip wire"
in 49 reviews
"on site"
in 40 reviews
"all ages"
in 40 reviews
"adventure playground"
in 24 reviews
"camping trip"
in 22 reviews
"wet suits"
in 20 reviews
"next year"
in 25 reviews
"value for money"
in 19 reviews
"play area"
in 15 reviews
"assault course"
in 14 reviews
"climbing wall"
in 13 reviews
"great fun"
in 27 reviews
"kids love"
in 11 reviews
"paid activities"
in 10 reviews
"pay extra"
in 10 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spend a lovely Easter break here. Despite the rain and mud we all had a great time. Good campsite facilities. Clean, well maintained toilets and nice hot showers. Kids thoroughly enjoyed the park and all it had to offer. A special thanks to Charlie who...More

Thank FTC-78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethRiverDart, Public Relations Manager at River Dart Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good afternoon! Many thanks for leaving us such a wonderful review. It sounds as though you and your family had a great time with us during the Easter break! I will pass your feedback to Charlie and the rest of the team. We hope to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived am sat 24th march, great facilities and so much to do for children and teenagers we had lunch in the cafe and got our car parking free?,it was the most awful day rain and sleet but the children loved it, good deal in the...More

Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethRiverDart, Public Relations Manager at River Dart Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Anthony N, Many thanks for your review. Brilliant to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the park, regardless of the unpredictable British weather! As you have mentioned, lots of returning visitors enjoy the benefits of our annual membership passes. With day visitor...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights at easter -bad weather which is no ones fault staff sort of ok to start with except the lady in the shop who was friendly and always laughing! Small shop but ok for emergency supplies,so bring what you can, cafe /restaurant...More

Thank valoneisone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethRiverDart, Public Relations Manager at River Dart Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, valoneisone, Thank you very much for your recent review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your Easter stay with us, (minus the Great British weather!) We love to hear from our visitors and really appreciate your feedback. As a popular family park, we...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

I visited on a sunny but cold day this week to explore and recce for the coming summer! The most random thing that happened was my dog flushing a pheasant and it then flying full speed into a tree and knocking itself out! ‘Just like...More

Thank CrabDaddy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethRiverDart, Public Relations Manager at River Dart Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Good Afternoon, Many thanks for your review. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the park. We always love to hear from visitors that enjoy exploring our site (even if a particular pheasant didn't enjoy it so much that...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

This place has been a favourite for so money years since I was I child and now I’ve watched my children grow up going. We have been just for Sunday lunch with free entry, we have been just for the day, we have camped long...More

Thank kaunaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethRiverDart, Public Relations Manager at River Dart Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Hi Kaunaz, Thank you so much for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoy spending quality time together at the park. We take great pride in ensuring that all our visitors have a fantastic time and we love...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful camping holiday. Was so nice that our kids actually left our sides and went off round the park on their own. Very safe and friendly for older kids. Obviously there's a log of streams rivers eye so u wouldn't leave youngsters but...More

2  Thank kellyrussell32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethRiverDart, General Manager at River Dart Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Good afternoon kellyrussell32! Thank you for sharing your feedback. It's great to hear that your whole family thoroughly enjoyed your holiday with us. We look forward to seeing you next year when you return! Best wishes, Gareth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Was looking for a place to walk the dog whilst travelling to Plymouth. Country park only 1 mile from A38 so decided to visit. No prices at entrance or at ticket kiosk, but was told they wanted £29.50 to get in! A bit expensive for...More

Thank Freda_Wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethRiverDart, General Manager at River Dart Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Good afternoon Freda, thank you for your feedback. Included in the entry price is the use of 90 acres of wonderful woods, lakes and breathtaking parkland for dog walkers such as yourself. Also included in the price, is the use of our extensive play areas...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We went with friends and had a great day out, even though wet. Loads for kids to do and a great value roast in the restaurant afterwards.

Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethRiverDart, General Manager at River Dart Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Good Afternoon Simon. Thank you very much for your review, great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time at the park. We look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Been here 3 times in the last 12 months, once as a family for the day, once my wife and all her mates and our sons school friends went camping, and once our son went on a birthday day out. Just great! Loads of many...More

Thank Therealartestu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethRiverDart, Manager at River Dart Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for the review. Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the park and we look forward to welcoming you back in future. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We stayed here in early August 2016. We were new to camping so only stayed for 3 nights. I found the facilities very clean and we had a serviced pitch which was nice and flat and reasonably close to the toilets and showers. The on-site...More

Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarethRiverDart, Manager at River Dart Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for your review Emma. Great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the park. We try our very best to ensure that our on-site shop is well stocked with a wide range of camping and everyday items for our visitors,...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Ashburton Hotels
Lavender House Hotel
405 reviews
.43 km away
The Dartmoor Lodge
546 reviews
.85 km away
Holne Chase Holiday Cottages
34 reviews
2.08 km away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
467 reviews
7.61 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Studio Teashop
158 reviews
1.38 km away
Ella Artisan Baker
84 reviews
1.38 km away
The Old Library
121 reviews
1.34 km away
Taylors
187 reviews
1.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dartmoor Electric Bicycles
128 reviews
3.33 km away
Crag 2 Mountain
75 reviews
3.59 km away
Shilstone Rocks
58 reviews
6.35 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
sarah C
16 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from kellyrussell32 | Reviewed this property |
hi I know when we went last August that electric pitches were completely booked up. we have booked this year for 4 nights and it's costing us £240 . that's 2 adults and 2 kids. if u can take it own bikes then do as they... More
1
Vote
19 December 2017|
Answer
Response from Neil S | Reviewed this property |
Interesting grammar? Sorry, can’t help. Cheers!!
0
Votes
tired-travellerUk
4 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Jim K | Reviewed this property |
Yes as long as they are well behaved
0
Votes
;