We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: La Rue de La Hougue Mauger, St Mary JE3 3BA
Phone Number:
+44 1534 481178
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

La Mare Wine Estate and Distillery is a unique venue situated in the...

La Mare Wine Estate and Distillery is a unique venue situated in the beautiful Jersey countryside. Set in the peaceful grounds of a traditional 18th-century granite farmhouse, this 25-acre working estate is committed to creating the very best wines, ciders and spirits, along with hand-made preserves, fudge, chocolates and Jersey Black Butter. Unique to the island, La Mare is the perfect location to spend the day. Opening hours are 10.00am to 17.00 Monday to Sunday (March to October) or 10.30am to 15.30 Monday to Saturday (November to December).

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 509 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 222
    Excellent
  • 155
    Very good
  • 69
    Average
  • 26
    Poor
  • 20
    Terrible
Birthday wine tasting

We arrived in the afternoon and caught the last tour of the day. It was interesting and informative and the lady doing the tour happily accommodated the fact that I was in a... read more

Reviewed yesterday
judyquaife
,
Epsom, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

509 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 492: English reviews
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived in the afternoon and caught the last tour of the day. It was interesting and informative and the lady doing the tour happily accommodated the fact that I was in a wheelchair without making me feel like a nuisance. The tastings were generous and very enjoyable. We were then able to buy goods at the airport shop. Love... More 

Helpful?
Thank judyquaife
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was my chosen day out for my birthday. I was a little underwhelmed & to be honest expected more. We went on the tour which was interesting. However, I was disappointed by the small amounts of wine we were given to taste (I was given little more than a drop of the Rose whereas the rest of my party... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank yumcarrots
LaMareManagement, Manager at La Mare Wine Estate, responded to this review

Hello Yumcarrots, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for choosing La Mare to celebrate your birthday. We are pleased to hear that your friends enjoyed a fair portion of wine for tasting but disappointed that your tasting portion was not as generous. Throughout the first weeks of the season we continue to train our staff... More 

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Four of us visited (3 over 18 and allowed to do the tasting) and although the tour and talk was interesting I think the price of almost £35 for 3 adults and 1 teenager is a little steep what you get. As we visited early in the season there was little to see in the vineyards and not much happening... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KNN_12
LaMareManagement, Manager at La Mare Wine Estate, responded to this review

Hello KNN_12 Thank you for your feedback. We understand that our visitors will see a day in the life a vineyard when they visit and so include an interesting AV show depicting all four seasons. The show was recorded over a year to illustrate the grape growing and wine making process in full. Included in the attraction is access to... More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointing attempted visit to La Mare today. As regular visitors to Jersey, we have enjoyed lunch there on a number of occasions, but left disappointed today due to their new policy of charging £9.95 to enter. In addition to lunch, we always spend in the gift shop too. The new policy seems a very short-sighted decision by La Mare... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Like the previous comment we have been visiting La Mare for the last 8 years. We have done the tour a couple of times but in the last few years we have gone for lunch and then bought some wine and gifts from the gift shop-we would usually spend in the region of £100 for the 4 of us. However... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jane P
Surrey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I have been going to Jersey for about 6 years, twice a year for a long weekend, and we always pop in to La Mare Wine Estate to either go on a tour, buy from their shop, go to the restaurant or have a walk round. We went on Saturday 8th April to go to the shop... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank loopylyn
LaMareManagement, Manager at La Mare Wine Estate, responded to this review

Hello Loopylyn, We appreciate how the changes to our admission policy may have surprised you and we are disappointed that you did not visit the attraction on this occasion. We are pleased to say that the £9.95 adult price has not changed for the past four years but accept that the free access to some elements of the attraction are... More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visit Jersey twice every year and one port of call has always been the vineyard. We have done the tour a couple of times in the last few years so these days tend to visit to eat in the cafe and stock up with items in the shop to take home. This time we were very disappointed to find... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Mandy M
LaMareManagement, Manager at La Mare Wine Estate, responded to this review

Hello Mandy M, Thank you for your valued feedback. We update our policy on a regular basis using the feedback we receive from valued customers such as yourselves. We accept that these policy changes no longer allow free access but are pleased that the £9.95 adult price remains the same. Another policy update this season is the transition from a... More 

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having visited regularly over the years, we were fairly devastated to be turned away! A 'new policy' has been put in place which stops visitors going to the lovely restaurant or shop unless they pay an entrance fee for the whole vineyard tour. The tour is very good, but a repeat visit to the same tour more than once a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Drpainterlyrose
LaMareManagement, Manager at La Mare Wine Estate, responded to this review

Hello Drpainterlyrose, Thank you leaving a review, we are quite disappointed that you felt you had been turned away and will address this with the staff immediately. Although we have made changes to our admission structure, our season pass would have been quite useful to your group during your stay as the benefits far outweigh the small initial fee. Rest... More 

Fougeres, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very pretty setting for a vineyard and a nice way to spend a couple of hours before heading back to catch the ferry. The talk was interesting but the wine tasting was a bit disappointing...it felt a little hurried and there was no red wine to try...just white, rosé and the cider. The shop was impressive and well stocked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Redkathie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited La Mare with sole intention of going to their shop to buy a few bottles of their gin; which is actually very good. On arrival, we were told by a chap on reception that there was a new policy and people could no longer just "pop into the shop". The chap was very apologetic and admitted that he has... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Ant_RTW
LaMareManagement, Manager at La Mare Wine Estate, responded to this review

Hello Ant_RTW, Thank you for taking time to leave a review and for your kind comments about our delicious Jersey Gin. We undertake visitor research annually and as you mention our entry policy has now changed to an overall admission fee including access to all of the estate experiences including the shop in order to keep up to date with... More 

Travellers who viewed La Mare Wine Estate also viewed

 
St Mary, Jersey
 

Been to La Mare Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of La Mare Wine Estate and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from La Mare Wine Estate staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?