We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elizabeth Castle

Closed today: Closed
Open today: Closed
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
1,497
All photos (1,497)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good30%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“duck”(224 reviews)
“cannon firing”(105 reviews)
About
Elizabeth Castle re-opens in Spring 2019. Built on a rocky islet in St Aubin's Bay, Elizabeth Castle has watched over Jersey's main seaway for more than 300 years. At low tide you can walk out along the causeway or, if you want to experience a...more
Closed today
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
St Aubin's Bay, JE3 3NU
Website
+44 1534 723971
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (2,816)
Filter reviews
2,632 results
Traveller rating
1,628
786
193
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,628
786
193
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amphibious vehicle duck cannon firing master gunner low tide parade ground amphibious craft boat bus musket demonstration well worth a visit re enactment steeped in history tide times nooks and crannies jersey heritage lots of history nice walk
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,632 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

a good family day out full of local history and reinactments of 1700 day to day life well warth a visit

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank lallyalan1
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The information boards etc in the exhibition rooms and around the castle are very informative. It's a useful visit to get a feel for the history and turbulent times that the Island has gone through.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank John M
jerseyheritage365, Public Relations Manager at Elizabeth Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review.

Reviewed 8 November 2018

a place to visit on a good day if it raining do not go but if you like to get wet go for it so if you would like to see old things it a good day out

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank martyn240
Reviewed 7 November 2018

I would thoroughly recommend this for a visit. It is reached by an amphibious vehicle via land or water dependent on the tide and the castle itself is well worth a look. The historical exhibits are well laid out and informative

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank BigJimMearns
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

We took the amphibian vehicle to the castle just as the tide was rushing in - quite a bumpy ride in comparison to the ‘sail’ back. The castle is a great place to explore with wonderful views out to sea or back to the island....More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Jacqueline M
Reviewed 3 November 2018

A walk across the sand to elizabeth castle is a place to visit if you are staying in st hellier walking around this place reminds you what it would have been like centuries ago well worth a visit and a walk back along the beautiful...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Pauline P
jerseyheritage365, Public Relations Manager at Elizabeth Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Thank you for your great review.

Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Yes this castle does give you great views across the bay and great photos but customer service and care needs to be vastly improved unfortunately We were told by friends of the 12:00 master gunners activity as well as other activities, so enquired again at...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank badmintontim
jerseyheritage365, Public Relations Manager at Elizabeth Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inaccurate information concerning Living History (Midday Parade, Canon Firing & Musketry Demonstration) that you received at Elizabeth Castle on Sunday 28 October, and read on the Jersey Heritage website prior to your visit. Although it does not compensate...More

Reviewed 1 November 2018

This is a wonderful place to visit and a must see if visiting Jersey. It is massive and goes right out to sea. You have the beach which leads up to the castle when the tide is out, and a beach that can only be...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank ThisIsMyOpinion2
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

We left this until our last day to visit. Unfortunately for us the tide was due in at around 1pm leaving us a little short on time. However we managed a lovely stroll around. We walked back and forth rather than taking the ducks, but...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Leannegy3
Reviewed 31 October 2018

Not really a castle but a big part of the history of Jersey and situated overlooking St Helier and access from the sea

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank mjwilso54
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 67 nearby hotels
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
2,848 reviews
1.10 km away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
1,911 reviews
1.43 km away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
1,817 reviews
1.44 km away
Royal Yacht Hotel
2,653 reviews
1.46 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 455 nearby restaurants
Green Olive Restaurant
470 reviews
1.31 km away
Unawatuna
309 reviews
1.42 km away
Tassili Restaurant
208 reviews
1.43 km away
Quayside Grill & Bistro
1,159 reviews
1.35 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 210 nearby attractions
Maritime Museum and Occupation Tapestry Gallery
847 reviews
1.27 km away
Jersey Museum and Visitor Centre
972 reviews
1.49 km away
Le Petit Train
872 reviews
1.39 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
martintracy540
28 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Margaret B | Reviewed this property |
Also he other castle at Montguell is fascinating and I think open all year round
1
Vote
Dannielle C
27 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Nern63 | Reviewed this property |
As far as I know. There is a good coffee shop there and certainly plenty of space. Worth contacting the attraction direct to be sure. Enjoy.
1
Vote
jambert732017
9 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from cliff w | Reviewed this property |
check the website
0
Votes