We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Hills Open-Top-Tours

Features Animals
Open Now: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Open today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from Black Hills Open-Top-Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
197
All photos (197)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good10%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“badlands tour”(15 reviews)
“needles highway”(21 reviews)
“great tour”(19 reviews)
About
- BLACK HILLS #1 SAFARI STYLE TOURS - OPEN ALL YEAR - 7 DAYS A WEEK! Convertible-top vehicles ... open for sunny days/closed for inclement weather. View wildlife up-close and safely from inside our vehicles. Full-size Vans - SUV's - Handicap...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Rapid City, SD 57701
Website
+1 605-644-6736
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Black Hills Open-Top-Tours
from US$ 179.00
More Info
from US$ 189.00
More Info
from US$ 249.00
More Info
from US$ 149.00
More Info
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
176
22
8
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
176
22
8
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews badlands tour needles highway great tour private tour crazy horse wounded knee custer state park mt rushmore pine ridge black hills red cloud highly recommend this company burial site night tour picnic lunch prairie dogs bison
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

We emailed Rich (the owner) prior to our trip to Rapid City regarding the 3 tours we were interested in doing. Rich was very helpful and prompt with answering our questions so we knew exactly what to expect. Our first tour on 9-23 was the...More

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank pqjb2016
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Jeff was our guide. Jeff made the day amazing. His local knowledge was amazing. He was able to engage all the teenage passengers. He made the history of Mount Rushmore and crazy horse come alive with his commentary. Definitely will do the tour again. Thanks...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Daydream27842802355
999richw, Owner at Black Hills Open-Top-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Howdy Daydream27842802355 . . . (that's quite a handle). I'm glad you enjoyed your tour with Jeff. He's a retired school teacher and has a great rapport with young people. Thanks for taking time to review your tour . . . hope to see you...More

Reviewed 23 October 2018

Absolutely breathtaking views! This is definitely the best way to see Mount Rushmore and the Black Hills. We had lunch at a beautiful lake that was so tranquil. My 10 year old son absolutely loved learning all the history at Mount Rushmore. Reminder: bring your...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank marygO7329AO
999richw, Owner at Black Hills Open-Top-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Mary. Thank you for taking time to review your tour. The convertible top do make for great viewing of the wildlife in Custer State Park. I hope you will return someday to tour the other regions of the HIlls. Be Well - Rich

Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

A bit disorganized but it sure beat driving. Breakfast rolls, fruit and coffee were provided plus subs, chips and soup for lunch. Tour after round up hit all the highlights needles highway, iron mountain, lake sylvan plus views of my Rushmore but no commentary. Convenient...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank SarahD6957
999richw, Owner at Black Hills Open-Top-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Hi Sarah - Your are correct . . . a bit disorganized it was! This is the first time in memory that it snowed the night before and rained the morning of the Roundup. The Custer Park Rangers were trying out a new parking arrangement...More

Reviewed 28 September 2018

A bit disappointing --It was supposed to be an "open-top vehicle" (which didn't really matter since it was cold), BUT we got picked up by a 14-passenger van, and we were #13 & #14. Everyone was dressed for cold weather and maybe three were slender,...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank kolsufka
999richw, Owner at Black Hills Open-Top-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Hi kolsufka - There is some confusion here, I believe you think you purchased the Premium tour . . . but you didn't. You purchased a Standard Roundup + Arts Festival tour. That is our $99 tour that includes: the Buffalo Roundup and a visit...More

Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

Our driver, Larry, picked us up in Keystone and we were off for a fun day. Larry was very personable and provided lots and lots of good information. He really took good care of us. In addition to Mt Rushmore & Crazy Horse Memorial, we...More

Thank Stephen K
999richw, Owner at Black Hills Open-Top-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Hi Stephen - Thanks for taking time for a review. I'm extremely happy you enjoyed your day touring with Larry. We created our convertible top vans specifically for the Custer Park Wildlife . . . you can get up-close and safely get great views and...More

Reviewed 24 September 2018

Excellent tour - couldn't have seen so much if driving on our own, especially the one doing the driving! Larry was our driver, and answered any and all questions. He did not make us feel rushed. The open top made it a great way to...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank gbarn1972
999richw, Owner at Black Hills Open-Top-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Hi G - I'm very glad you enjoyed your tour with Larry. He is new with us this year but has done a great job to guiding our tours. He is always willing to stop for the 'extra' photo op. I'll pass along your kind...More

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We had a great time! Rick does a great job! He really enjoys what he does and it shows! Badlands were amazing!

Thank Guide799017
999richw, Owner at Black Hills Open-Top-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Howdy Guide. Thank you for your review. I enjoyed touring with you all that day. Please come back and see the 'rest' when you can. Be Well - Rich

Reviewed 15 September 2018

Kevin was our guide for the day and he was great! It was an incredible tour Kevin was very knowledgeable and the sights unforgettable! Thanks for the awesome memories.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank hdchristy89
999richw, Owner at Black Hills Open-Top-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thanks for taking time for a review HD. Kevin is new with us this year but has done an excellent job guiding our tours. I'll pass on your kind words. Be Well - Rich

Reviewed 11 September 2018

We took both the Black Hills tour and the night lighting of Rushmore with this tour company. There are many pros and a few cons. The pros are: prompt pickup at our RV park (didn't have to go to their place), courteous drivers, No "bus"...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank I4976XUrobertj
999richw, Owner at Black Hills Open-Top-Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Hi robertj - Thank you for taking time for your review. This is one of the most well thought out, fair and logical evaluations we have seen. I have taken heed to your point about the small step stool and they are now available in...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 49 nearby hotels
Avanti Motel
86 reviews
.63 km away
Western Thrifty Inn
9 reviews
.64 km away
Gold Star Motel
38 reviews
.70 km away
Town House Motel
169 reviews
1.37 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 290 nearby restaurants
Jerry's Cakes & Donuts
97 reviews
.63 km away
Sabor A Mexico
81 reviews
.76 km away
El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant
20 reviews
1.00 km away
Morningside Cafe
56 reviews
.96 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 124 nearby attractions
Museum of Geology
300 reviews
.95 km away
The Journey Museum & Learning Center
346 reviews
1.28 km away
Berlin Wall Exhibit
131 reviews
1.35 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Laura Q
6 April 2017|
Answer
Response from 999richw | Property representative |
Hi - Yes we are, and we are also offering a 20% discount on any other tour you might book at the same time. Thanks Rich
0
Votes
brena57
18 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 999richw | Property representative |
Hi Brenda - I tried to add the website that lists all the Pow Wow's for 2016 but TA won't let me do that. Please visit my website and click on contact info. After you send me an email I can reply with the website info... More
0
Votes
brena57
17 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 999richw | Property representative |
Sorry I'm late getting back to you. As I said in my other reply, just contact me through my website. thx Rich
0
Votes