We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ghosts of The South

Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 84 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3202
Phone Number:
+1 843-343-9255
Website
Today
10:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 22:00
Description:

This Tour Company is located in downtown Charleston, SC. And has been in...

This Tour Company is located in downtown Charleston, SC. And has been in business for approximately eight years. The company offers Ghost Tours nightly of the Historical District.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 142 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 93
    Excellent
  • 24
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Fascinating, not scary

We took the 8:00 tour, which took us around a circuit of just over one mile in downtown Charleston near the churches and market area. Our tour guide did a great job of weaving... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
999ursulaa
,
Columbia, South Carolina
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 142: English reviews
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We took the 8:00 tour, which took us around a circuit of just over one mile in downtown Charleston near the churches and market area. Our tour guide did a great job of weaving local history and interesting sites into his tour. He clearly was very knowledgeable about the area and told the tales of the various ghosts that have... More 

Helpful?
Thank 999ursulaa
Byron
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our guide John was really knowledgeable and funny. Glad we chose this tour and not some of the others. The other groups we passed looked bored, haha. Really the guide is everything one these tours and ask for John, he's great.

Helpful?
Thank Turboak
Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We went on this tour on a cold night at 10pm. But we all had fun and enjoyed the night. The guide was a normal person and didn't pretend to have had ghostly experiences of his own, or be something he wasn't. We enjoyed the historical information and pictures on ipad. Would go back and take another stroll. I took... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
142 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Our guide was informative and wove together the local lore and history very well. The walk is at a good pace with breaks and the time is over before you notice it. While I noted in some reviews that people were upset that you couldn't get into the graveyards and such, it is private property so you cannot expect the... More 

Helpful?
Thank tanyap924
Kimberly, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2016

I was disappointed with this tour. It was advertised as a candlelight tour. When we got there and asked about candles we were told there weren't any, that was just the name of the company. That is not what the advertising implied. After much convincing of my friend that this wouldn't be scary, it was ruined by the guide jumping... More 

Helpful?
Thank BellePiper
haunted29401, Front Office Manager at Ghosts of The South, responded to this review

Correct, the guests do not carry candles. We stopped this practice years ago at the advice of our insurance company. Also many guests found this juvenile. We will not apologies for a guide who was enthusiastic and was engaging with the guests. Maybe you should have chosen a dull/boring and non-enthusiastic tour. Also as our standard practice we contacted other... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Our tour was rained out the first try and the following night we called John to see if he had room for our group of 4........lucky for us he had room and we enjoyed a great tour of the old historical area of Charleston. John was so knowledgeable, sharing ghost stories, picture of the sprits, history of the buildings and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda S
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

John was our tour guide and he made this tour really fun! He told stories about Charleston and showed us pictures of ghosts! Really fun and interesting. Total walk is really only about a mile and not difficult.

Helpful?
Thank dwilkes
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

John did a great job mixing Charleston history and ghost stories with pictures. We had a small group which provided a nice personal touch.

Helpful?
Thank sunray85
Reston, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We participated in the 8pm tour with John. My husband and I have been on a variety of ghost tours and this one did not disappoint. John knew a ton about Charleston's history and shared his knowledge in a fun and engaging manner. During his stories, he shared pictures on an iPad which greatly enhanced the overall experience. Definitely recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank NoVaTraveller82
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I found the tour guide to be a bit rude and prior to handing over the cash only payment I chose not to spend 80-90 minutes with him. I have never written a negative review about any experience i have had but I felt the need to this time. Perhaps it was just a personality clash or he was having... More 

Helpful?
Thank 916eileenp
haunted29401, Guest Relations Manager at Ghosts of The South, responded to this review

We investigated this complaint. And we found that it was exactly as you stated. "A clash with personality's" . No one else complained about this guides personality. We contacted people who were on the tour that specific night who witnessed "the clash" . And they all said, the guide acted as professional as he could under the circumstances. More 

Travellers who viewed Ghosts of The South also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ghosts of The South? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ghosts of The South staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?