We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barramundi Farm

Features Animals
Review Highlights
Lunch Date

We live very close however this is the first time we have eaten here and it sure will not be the... read more

Reviewed 21 November 2018
travelbugg32016
,
Anna Bay, Australia
via mobile
Hidden Gem

My husband and I really enjoyed our experience. The food was wonderful and so was the service. I... read more

Reviewed 7 November 2018
Superwombat
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 38 reviews
14
All photos (14)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good36%
  • Average7%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“barramundi”(25 reviews)
“open plan”(2 reviews)
“non seafood”(2 reviews)
About
Barramundi and hydroponic vegetable farm tour, largest producer in NSW of barramundi with year round production, this is award winning indoor facility, see the production cycle of the fish growing process,fish from 40mm to 800mm, opportunity to feed...more
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
476c Marsh Rd Bobs Farm | Nelson Bay Rd, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Website
+61 2 4982 6600
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
20
14
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
20
14
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barramundi open plan non seafood fantastic food informative tour couple of hours great place to visit barras melted company
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called in early before coming to have a barramundi tour. After two hours drive and only arrived to be told that the tour has been canceled. Kids are very disappointed and the place is poorly managed. Would recommend anyone not to come.More

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank guoqiangm
Nick A, General Manager at Barramundi Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry for your disappointment Sir, but as explained to you over the phone at 10am (4 hours prior to your arrival) that we were unable to do the 2 pm tour for several reasons yet still decided to turn up for the tour. Besides the...More

Reviewed 21 November 2018 via mobile

We live very close however this is the first time we have eaten here and it sure will not be the last it was delicious 😋 We were served promptly by a friendly staff member handed a menu and within no time they took our...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank travelbugg32016
Reviewed 7 November 2018

My husband and I really enjoyed our experience. The food was wonderful and so was the service. I would recommend the Barramundi Farm to anyone. If you are staying in Nelson Bay and are wondering what to do this is a must.

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank Superwombat
Reviewed 27 October 2018

You cannot get fresher than the barramundi straight from the farm. Great service and fresh food very yummy

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Les M
Reviewed 24 October 2018

Went for a nice whole fish barramundi lunch meal with my boyfriend after our quad bike session with Sand Dunes Adventure. It was great quality fish, and we ended up staying for their 1 hour tour and learnt about how they harvest their Barramundi from...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Crystal K
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

The tour was excellent the tour director (owner)was very knowledgeable we learnt a lot. We fed the fish saw thousands of them. They also grow their own vegetables hydroponically. The lunch was beautiful I had baked Barramundi. Fantastic. Would recommend it to anyone.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank ppnoakes
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Baked barramundi, crispy chips and delectable salad was enjoyed by all. The salt and pepper squid was also one of the best we’ve tasted. On arrival a young boy guest was bouncing his soccer ball on the wooden patio and I nearly turned and ran...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank jenny808528
Reviewed 27 September 2018

We were impressed and had an excellent experience. Interesting and educational talk and tour by the owner/manager followed by a first class meal of whole battered barramundi and a glass of Marlborough sav blanc. The fish was very fresh and delicious and melted in your...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank FoodiefromWagga
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Seafood (particularly Barramundi) is the main feature of thius restaurant but we have dined with friends who have chosen non seafood alternatives. The open plan and deck area create a casual dining environment where you can soak up winter sun.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank russell p
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Pick a sunny day to come here so you can sit outside. Menu is ‘popular Australian’ the usual favorites are there but the VERY FRESH Barramundi is obviously the star of the show. Its not wild or line caught but raised ‘out the back’ so...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank DrLancken
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 nearby hotels
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
1,994 reviews
12.54 km away
Corlette Palms Motor Inn
47 reviews
12.81 km away
Anchorage Port Stephens
1,100 reviews
12.86 km away
Riverside Motel
199 reviews
13.22 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 97 nearby restaurants
Cookabarra Restaurant
114 reviews
.49 km away
Tilli Thai
5 reviews
4.57 km away
The Poyer's
278 reviews
6.99 km away
Murrays Craft Brewing Company
182 reviews
.84 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 31 nearby attractions
Murray's Craft Brewing Co
119 reviews
.83 km away
Tilligerry Habitat Tanilba Bay
30 reviews
5.28 km away
Go Karts Go
16 reviews
2.62 km away
Irukandji Shark & Ray Encounters
240 reviews
1.50 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lisa H
15 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chris M | Reviewed this property |
09.30 and you can do tours before or after lunch. I would always ring to ensure they have someone available to take the tours, as they take a lot of group bookings.
1
Vote