We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
local pub

reasonable priced food and drink,near the cormorant hotel walking distance,animal friendly... read more

Reviewed 1 August 2018
ELBWaterlooville
,
waterlooville
Great Views and Food

We attended while staying in Bodmin on the first weekend of the school holidays. Be warned, parking... read more

Reviewed 31 July 2018
Superhoop2808
,
Dartford, United Kingdom
Read all 26 reviews
2
All photos (2)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good52%
  • Average0%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible3%
1 Aug 2018
“local pub”
31 Jul 2018
“Great Views and Food”
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
13°
Oct
10°
Nov
Dec
Contact
Fore Street, Golant PL23 1LN, England
+44 1726 832453
Call
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
7
13
0
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
7
13
0
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2018

reasonable priced food and drink,near the cormorant hotel walking distance,animal friendly childrens meals availableMore

Thank ELBWaterlooville
Hospabudd, Owner at The Fishermans Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hello EBL Thank you for visiting the pub and for writing this informative review. We are glad that you found the pricing reasonable, it is a very competitive trade and pricing is important on so many levels. As you mentioned we are very animal friendly...More

Reviewed 31 July 2018

We attended while staying in Bodmin on the first weekend of the school holidays. Be warned, parking there is a nightmare and you have to pay 24/7. We wanted to eat about 7ish and had been recommended it was nice to sit outside, and although...More

Thank Superhoop2808
Hospabudd, Owner at The Fishermans Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hello Superhoop, Thank you for your recent visit to the Fisherman's Arms and for writing this nice review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience of the pub. To address the few issues that you have raised, we always encourage...More

Reviewed 17 July 2018

Nick and family, and Neil, provided a special meal in the pub marquee for our Golden Wedding celebrations. You cannot beat the location, and the food was excellent. Every guest remarked how much they enjoyed it, and eating there provided a special meal but kept...More

Thank Robert F
Hospabudd, Owner at The Fishermans Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Hi Robert, Thank you for booking your function with us and for writing such a wonderful review. The Marquee we have in the summer is an idylic place to hold smaller functions and we do our very best to cater for functions such as yours....More

Reviewed 13 June 2018

Great selection of local and international beers and ales. Good wine. Great comforting food, and the setting is one of the best there is. The owners are brilliantly friendly and welcoming, and if you are looking sometimes there will be a band or festival going...More

Thank James S
Hospabudd, Owner at The Fishermans Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

To James, Thank you very much for visiting the pub and for taking the time to write this lovely review. It is always nice to know that people appreciate what we do. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Nick

Reviewed 8 April 2018

Called in to the pub during an overnight stay in the village. Nice welcoming atmosphere and good range of drinks, ales on tap. Not a large pub, but plenty of room and tables to sit at. Outdoor area also.

Thank Go_Home_James
Hospabudd, Owner at The Fishermans Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hello James, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am really glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Nick and crew

Reviewed 24 October 2017

We stayed in a hotel in Golant at the beginning of October and after the first night ate all our evening meals at The Fisherman's Arms. The food was very good and plentiful and there was a lovely inclusive atmosphere which was very welcome.

1  Thank PMDJMDUK
Hospabudd, Owner at The Fishermans Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hi Folks, Thank you for your visits to the Fisherman's Arms, and for writing this wonderful review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our little pub, and we hope to be welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Nick

Reviewed 5 October 2017

23 of us came for a buffet night here, food was plentiful & very nice, especially the pasties. good selection of foods, including vegetarian, menu was considered a bit "stodgy" due to number of pastry items but you get to select 6 items from quite...More

Thank more3river
Hospabudd, Owner at The Fishermans Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi Folks, Thank you for choosing the Fisherman's Arms for your night out and for taking the time to write this glowing report. I remember your group well and can say it was a pleasure to serve you that evening. I am very glad to...More

Reviewed 28 August 2017

We have just returned from a 2 week stay in Golant and we went to the Fisherman's on at least 6 occasions which says it all. The staff are all friendly and charismatic, and the food is good. The only issue we had was that...More

Thank Felix-Mad-Dog
Hospabudd, Owner at The Fishermans Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Hello Felix-Mad-Dog, Thank you for your recent visits to the Fisherman's Arms and for taking the time to write this very nice review. To have visited the pub 6 times in two weeks is very impressive and shows that you must have enjoyed the food...More

Reviewed 13 July 2017

The owners are just lovely in this place, and made us visitors very welcome indeed ! The food was a standard menu and a decent price for the area.More

Thank SallyLado1
Hospabudd, Owner at The Fishermans Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Hi Folks, Thank you for your recent visit to the Fisherman's Arms. We are really glad to hear that your enjoyed yourselves and were made to feel welcome whilst you were here. We hope that you will come back and visit us again soon. Kind...More

Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

Back in Golant it was great to see the Fisherman's Arms going from strength to strength. We last visited in February when Nick had recently taken over. He is an excellent and welcoming landlord and his chef does equally high standard pub grub. Good range...More

Thank HaydnG
Hospabudd, Owner at The Fishermans Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Hi Folks, It has been lovely to see you again here at the Fisherman's Arms. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your visits here and are pleased with the changes that you have noticed. We look forward to seeing you during your...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Cormorant Hotel
404 reviews
.21 km away
CLC Trenython Manor
662 reviews
2.31 km away
The Old Quay House Hotel
827 reviews
3.02 km away
Fowey Hall
794 reviews
3.16 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
Fishermans Arms
179 reviews
.02 km away
The Ship Inn Bar & Restaurant
74 reviews
2.81 km away
Quay Bakery
318 reviews
2.98 km away
The Dwelling House
442 reviews
3.05 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Fowey Estuary
652 reviews
3.10 km away
Wingz Bird & Animal Sanctuary
275 reviews
3.52 km away
Lugger Inn
68 reviews
3.73 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
hippyfreddz
26 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Hospabudd | Property representative |
Hi F, Thanks for the heads up. Answer has been posted. Kind Regards Nick
0
Votes
Kateh0001
26 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Hospabudd | Property representative |
Hello Kateh0001, Unfortunately we do not run the pub quiz over the summer months as we find it difficult to get enough players, however we run a quiz throughout the autumn and winter months and if you are in the area... More
0
Votes