We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wallowa Lake State Park

Joseph, OR
+1 541-432-8855
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Do.Not.Miss.It

We stayed here in a Class B motorhome. Fall weather, tamaracks turning golden, cool temps, warm... read more

Reviewed 19 October 2017
DanandCindy
,
Redmond, OR
via mobile
Just a quick drive through in early October

By early October, the park pretty much shut down to tourists. Still, the ride into the tourist... read more

Reviewed 18 October 2017
Carey2016
,
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Read all 200 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good29%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“wallowa lake” (47 reviews)
“bumper boats” (9 reviews)
“boat rentals” (11 reviews)
Closed
All hours
Hours Today: Closed
LOCATION
Joseph, OR
CONTACT
Website
+1 541-432-8855
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in a Class B motorhome. Fall weather, tamaracks turning golden, cool temps, warm sun, golden eagles, migrating water fowl (watched a bunch of common merganzers on the shoreline of the lake last evening). Kokanee salmon were running in the stream at the...More

Thank DanandCindy
Reviewed 18 October 2017

By early October, the park pretty much shut down to tourists. Still, the ride into the tourist area was georgeous - such a beautiful lake surrounded by mountains. We saw a bunch of deer. Unfortunately, the tram ride to the top of the mountain was...More

1  Thank Carey2016
Reviewed 2 October 2017

One of the most scenic places in the U.S. and overrun in summer with tourists. Locals have a real love/hate relationship, akin to Hawaiians. A must see, but aim for the shoulder season.More

1  Thank P8967JWkennethm
Management response:Responded 3 October 2017

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Walllowa Lake State Park. Indeed, Wallowa Lake State Park has gained popularity especially in the past couple of years as a tourist destination. We are glad that you were able to make...More

Reviewed 29 September 2017

We visited in the fall and everything was just a little slower paced. Deer eating by the lake in the evening.

Thank tigerlily
Management response:Responded 3 October 2017

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We are glad that your visit was peaceful and that you were able to enjoy the views surrounded by the local wildlife in the area. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Stunning scenery, a beautiful lake are just the beginning. A no fee day use area bordered by the Wallowa River and plenty of places to relax or picnic. There is a boat ramp and marina. The marina rents small water craft. If you like wild...More

Thank SublimityCharlie50
Management response:Responded 3 October 2017

Good afternoon, Indeed the Kokanne are spawning in the river at this time in the season! We are pleased you were able to stop by the park and enjoy the natural scenery and wildlife. Wallowa Lake State Park is pleased to offer a non-fee day...More

Reviewed 24 September 2017

We spent 6 nights after Labor Day, just before Fall of 2017. The park is at the end of state highway 82 and is very clean. Fire wood is reasonably priced at the park. Deer roamed the campground like 'cattle' (very fun),and the Kokanee were...More

1  Thank Don N
Management response:Responded 3 October 2017

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Wallowa Lake State Park. We are pleased that you were satisfied with your stay and enjoyed the wildlife and the amenities that the park has to offer. It is true that cell...More

Reviewed 21 September 2017

I camped here for 2 nights for outdoor activities in the area. The person doing the check in was nice but the check in process was very slow. I had a small camper (12') and requested a non-hook up site. No problem with space. The...More

Thank roam-ID
Management response:Responded 3 October 2017

Hello and good afternoon, Thank you for your comments on our park up here in Joseph Oregon. Oregon State Parks strive to provide excellent customer service and so the feedback that you provide helps us further our mission. We will work on making the check-in...More

Reviewed 19 September 2017

They made some shower and restroom upgrades. The view of the lake is fantastic, but a little smoky with the fires this year.More

2  Thank FHSwillamette
Management response:Responded 3 October 2017

Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments on Wallowa Lake State Park. We really do appreciate your time in taking a moment to share some of your thoughts. Yes, we did get a couple of new restrooms in B loop and C loop this year...More

Reviewed 7 September 2017

The campground was jam packed. We had the unfortunate experience in being in a small site (our 19' trailer and car just fit) adjoining another small site which had a camper, 3 tents, a large screen tent, and 8 chairs. The campground is apparently attractive...More

Thank Marina W
Management response:Responded 11 September 2017

Hello and good afternoon, Thank you for providing your feedback and please do not apologize. Your comments help us move forward and hear what your experience was like while staying with us at Wallowa Lake State Park. We are sorry to hear that your stay...More

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Wallowa Lake State Park is beautiful, but the smoke from MANY campground campfires makes the air as polluted as being downwind from a major forest fire. If you have kids, and especially kids with asthma, you really will jeopardize their health by staying here. Even...More

Thank RollingOnARiver
Management response:Responded 11 September 2017

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We are sorry that your stay with us was not satisfactory. It is unfortunate that Oregon and much of the Midwest is experiencing such a heavy fire season this year. It is true that...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Summit Grill
54 reviews
.31 km away
Vali's Alpine Restaurant and Delicatessen
69 reviews
.69 km away
Glacier Grill
59 reviews
.19 km away
Khao Neaow
17 reviews
.76 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wallowa Lake Scenic
45 reviews
.29 km away
Wallowa Lake Tramway
344 reviews
.48 km away
Eagle Cap Wilderness
26 reviews
.84 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
28 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from jJessup | Reviewed this property |
campfires were not allowed around the cabins that we stayed in so you would need to check with the campground facilities and what the fire risk is. Currently it is high.
0
Votes
Corvallis_Couple
25 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Paula S | Reviewed this property |
The road out of Enterprise towards Lewiston/Clarkson is spectacular. Great views of Joseph Canyon and then a drive thru a road that you won't forget. I would not recommend pulling a trailer or taking a large RV on this... More
0
Votes
Ducktraveler
3 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mike_Laplante | Reviewed this property |
This might be a repeat... we were there last August and I don't remember there being any mosquitoes at all. It was pretty smoky from the state fires though so maybe that had an effect?
0
Votes