We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spreyton Cider Co

Corner of Sheffield Road and Melrose Road | Spreyton, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Great hospitality awesome cider

A nice quiet spot when we visited. Reasonably priced cider tasting, we the choose your favourite as... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Jedi1981
,
Mount Isa, Australia
via mobile
Tasting trail day

Very friendly lady behind the counter. Nice refreshing stop on the tasting trail. Good price for... read more

Reviewed 7 February 2018
Stijn v
via mobile
Read all 80 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Spreyton Cider Co is the latest venture from Spreyton Fresh, the home of the finest Fresh Apple Juice since 1998. The cidery located on our working orchards was constructed in 2012 with our first bottling taking place in October 2012. Building on our expertise in producing fresh apple juice, our cider maker has produced a range of ciders that are classic examples of the cider maker’s art. More recent additions to our beverage range are our traditional hard and soft ginger beer and a non-alcoholic cider. We offer children juice tastings as well - so something for the whole family. The Cidery is conveniently located 10 minutes from Devonport and the Spirit of Tasmania, and on the Cradle Country touring route to Cradle Mountain. The cidery is open daily for tastings and sales of cider, fresh juices and fruit, with fresh cherries available in season (Mid December to February).
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good47%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“cheese platter” (12 reviews)
“free bottle” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: < 1 hour
LOCATION
Corner of Sheffield Road and Melrose Road | Spreyton, Devonport, Tasmania 7310, Australia
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tasting paddle"
in 8 reviews
"cheese platter"
in 12 reviews
"free bottle"
in 3 reviews
"tasting board"
in 3 reviews
"nice outdoor area"
in 2 reviews
"great tasting"
in 3 reviews
"behind the counter"
in 3 reviews
"our favourite"
in 2 reviews
"enjoyable visit"
in 2 reviews
"staff member"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 3 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 2 reviews
"perry"
in 7 reviews
"orchard"
in 7 reviews
"apple"
in 11 reviews
"pear"
in 5 reviews
"stubby"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

A nice quiet spot when we visited. Reasonably priced cider tasting, we the choose your favourite as a stubby at the end. So the ankle biters don’t feel left out there is also a juice tasting for them!! Giant Jenga for the kids big and...More

Thank Jedi1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you come back again soon. Cheers SCC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Very friendly lady behind the counter. Nice refreshing stop on the tasting trail. Good price for beautiful products

Thank Stijn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you very much for the review, We hope to see you back here some time Cheers SCC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

We called in to the Sprayton Cider to have a look around. It was lovely and the staff were also great and full knowledge. Very enjoyable visit

Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Hi Belinda, So great you had a good experience with our service staff. They are all local and have been with us for a while so definitely know their stuff. We welcome you back any time you are in the area. Cheers SCC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2018

Come for the cider, which is awesome, but likely don't stay too long since the setting is really just a nice small shop built onto the side of a large shed.More

1  Thank Nikky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thanks for the great review Nikky, The cellar door is attached to the factory itself which is great so people can get the products straight from the source. You can certainly stay longer next time if you want - we have a self guided orchard...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by this nice, relaxed cider brewery. Good cider, friendly and helpful staff, and a really nice outdoor area to sit and relax. From the road it just looks like a shed but definitely worth a stop! Recommend the $12 cider tasting,...More

Thank Jls8_adl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thanks for the review - we think out tasting paddles are excellent value and well worth stopping in for as well. It's not so glamorous from the road, but the sun is better on the northern side for our cellar door. We hope you call...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

You can get a tasting paddle of ciders (with one hard ginger beer) and then chose some cider to take away. Lovely outdoor seating area and lots of Tasmanian produce available in the little shop. Nice vibe and you can watch the bottling going on....More

Thank AnnenJimEuropeTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

We generally are bottling most Thursdays and Fridays, but catch us in action early as we like to start early to make sure we get it done in time. The selection on the tasting paddle will continue to change, but hopefully there is something on...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We went here for our 20 year high school reunion Fantastic service and great choice of ciders and staff where kind enough to let us stay a little bit past closing time. Really Recommend this place drop in and have a cider. you can also...More

Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks for having your reunion with us Adam. Glad we could accommodate your group as we can be a bit flexible with our openings and closings for group bookings. Welcome back anytime. Cheers SCC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Get to taste a range of beverages made locally and selected cheeses. Great entertainment for a group of friends and family. Located in beautiful South Spreyton area with good easy parking.

Thank BRENTON J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks for the review Brenton, We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your recommendation to other potential visitors. We think the area is pretty special too. Cheers SCC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

I always like stopping at a winery or cidery and tasting a sample of drinks. Spreytons did not disappoint. The tasting board had 8 drinks to sample and they had a good range of flavours and styles. It was a lovely sunny day and we...More

Thank dip69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks you the great review dip69, we appreciate your feedback. Hopefully we will see you back again sometime. Cheers SCC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

This place was really uninviting.. There was no atmosphere the staff were not helpful at all. The tasting was terrible the glasses were dirty and only half filled and the cider tasted flat and warm. Not worth the drive!More

Thank Sallyhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spreyton2012, Manager at Spreyton Cider Co, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

We are sorry you didn't have a great experience visiting us Sally and we will take your feedback on board. The glasses should not of been dirty and we will address this immediately. The tasting paddle is a tasting and we do not fill the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Devonport
Argosy Motor Inn Devonport
121 reviews
6.22 km away
Quality Hotel Gateway
784 reviews
7.45 km away
Edgewater
136 reviews
7.60 km away
Barclay Motor Inn
82 reviews
8.31 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Anvers Cafe
319 reviews
6.61 km away
Barringwood Vineyard and Cellar Door Restaurant
36 reviews
6.72 km away
Belly's Bar & Grill
146 reviews
6.09 km away
Thai Imperial
162 reviews
5.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Prickly Mo
17 reviews
3.12 km away
House of Anvers Museum of Chocolate
392 reviews
6.60 km away
The Truffledore
12 reviews
6.79 km away
Antique Emporium
140 reviews
7.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ian J
14 September 2015|
Answer
Response from Spreyton2012 | Property representative |
Hi Ian, We have taken that feedback on board and adjusted out Trip Advisor listing to also include opening hours. Cheers, SCC Management
1
Vote
;