We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Alnwick Garden

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Denwick Lane, Alnwick NE66 1NQ, England
Phone Number:
+44 1665 511350
Website
Description:

The Alnwick Garden is one of the world’s most extraordinary contemporary...

The Alnwick Garden is one of the world’s most extraordinary contemporary gardens. From poisonous plants and treetop walkways to glorious roses and towering delphiniums, the Duchess of Northumberland’s vision for a forgotten plot is now a truly 21st century experience full of imagination and fun, all brought to life with water.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 48.37*
and up
Viking Coast and Alnwick Castle Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 3,040 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 1606
    Excellent
  • 772
    Very good
  • 336
    Average
  • 171
    Poor
  • 94
    Terrible
Lovely surprise

We went to Alnwick Gardens on New Year's Day, our last day in Alnwick. We were pleasantly surprised because it's winter and we didn't expect much. Even though the flowers and... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
Abi N
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,040 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,979: English reviews
uk
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

These gardens are wonderful. Very few plants at this time of year but interesting visit to poison garden. Cascade in full exciting operation and water features lovely. I love the gate as you approach the entrance, the effort they put into looking after children, older people and lonely local people is to be commended. Go to to the treehouse to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stoneleigh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Alnwick Gardens on New Year's Day, our last day in Alnwick. We were pleasantly surprised because it's winter and we didn't expect much. Even though the flowers and plants are not in bloom, we enjoyed the walk. Around the gardens and the water features, with their scientific explanations. We loved the labyrinth and the tour of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Abi N
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Alnwick gardens as a last minute decision on New Years Eve, having never been before. We were pleasantly surprised as what a lovely place it was for a stroll around the gardens - despite it being winter. I'm sure it must be 10 times better in the summer too once all the plants are in bloom. There's a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephs11_11
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was my son's wedding yesterday at the Alnwick Garden. I would like to thank everyone involved. The venue and the organisation were exceptional, highly recommended for anyone looking for a venue. The day exceeded everyone's expectations, we all stayed at the Hog's Head nearby, and buses connected it all together. They turn on the lights after dark with a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Even in December the gardens are interesting. We hope to make a return visit in early summer to see the gardens at their most colourful

Helpful?
1 Thank omwatt
Rothbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed the Christmas Tale last year and loved the Dark Garden at Halloween. So we were really looking forward to our visit to the Paradise in the build up to Christmas. We were three generations including seven very excited grandchildren! Sadly this visit was a major disappointment. Aside from lacking any seasonal flavour whatsoever, the whole thing was very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank fred n
AlnwickGarden, Guest Relations Manager at The Alnwick Garden, responded to this review

Dear Fred n Thank you for taking the time to write in with your review. I am terribly sorry to learn that you were left disappointed by the Christmas event "Paradise Tree" TAG and Magnetic Events who ran the event appreciate all forms of feedback to help us continually improve our services. I sincerely hope that you will continue to... More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the gardens for the picturesque ice skating as claimed on the website for the kids first skating experience. What a let down. It's a tiny ice rink that due to it being synthetic you cannot skate on, basically you walk around in a clockwise direction. We booked the 3.30 until 4 slot due to work commitments and I checked... More 

Helpful?
Thank katiem1705
AlnwickGarden, Guest Relations Manager at The Alnwick Garden, responded to this review

Dear Katiem Thank you for taking the time to write in with your recent review. It is disappointing to know that you were left unhappy with the experience, all skate tickets included access to the garden 10am until 4pm however as you had other commitments this was not an option. From 4.15 we did have an after hours ticketed event... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Alnwick gardens today to go what we thought was Ice skating but actually it's just a tiny plastic rink with no ice, way to small for the amount of people there and in fact quite dangerous, was on the rink for all 5 minutes but got a full refund which was good on their behalf but will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
AlnwickGarden, Guest Relations Manager at The Alnwick Garden, responded to this review

Dear Jayne I am sorry that you were let down by the skate experience and I am thrilled to know that your grievance was handled well by our team and dealt with at the time. wishing you a very Merry Christmas Warmest Regards More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a good day here with family, didn't stay long enough to see the Christmas lights but went through the Christmas markets and the gardens. My 5 year old niece loved it and was really interested in what was going on.

Helpful?
Thank Tom H
Saumur, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were bitterly disappointed on Sunday with our visit to Alnwick gardens. I cannot understand why they charge the same price during the winter as the rest of the year. All of the plants, bushes etc in the garden are in a dormant state, so quite literaly there are bare branches, pruned roses and no colour. The Christmas market was... More 

Helpful?
Thank 591Sue21
AlnwickGarden, Guest Relations Manager at The Alnwick Garden, responded to this review

Dear Sue, Thank you for taking the time to write in with your recent review. Our Winter Admission has a 36% reduction on it to reflect the Garden during its slumber months. We do not however reduce the entertainment and activities for families we increase them to celebrate the Christmas Season. It is a shame you did not enjoy the... More 

Travellers who viewed The Alnwick Garden also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 

Been to The Alnwick Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Alnwick Garden and other visitors
19 questions
Ask a question
Cramlington, United Kingdom
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from The Alnwick Garden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?