We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Museum of Army Flying

| Middle Wallop, Stockbridge SO20 8DY, England
+44 1264 784421
Website
Share
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
We are one of the UK's leading museums for British military aviation history. Boasting 40 fixed wing and rotary aircraft on site, we have fascinating exhibits and a wonderful 'Apache Cafe' looking out over the busy Middle Wallop Army Air Corps airfield.
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good33%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
| Middle Wallop, Stockbridge SO20 8DY, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1264 784421
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"planes and helicopters"
in 13 reviews
"gift aided"
in 5 reviews
"outdoor play area"
in 5 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 11 reviews
"cafe upstairs"
in 5 reviews
"armed forces"
in 4 reviews
"cafe on site"
in 4 reviews
"on display"
in 12 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 12 reviews
"few hours"
in 11 reviews
"hot food"
in 4 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 5 reviews
"annual pass"
in 5 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 6 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 4 reviews
"airfield"
in 67 reviews
"gliders"
in 27 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Worthwhile going very good day out worth the money lots to see very friendly staff,, if you like first and Second World War rare memorabilia and up-to-date please this this is the place to go they is nice cafe call Apache which serves hot and...More

Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent a wonderful two and half hours here today. Loved seeing the aircraft and helicopters. The sopworth was my favourite. Also great to see the old photos as well as the stories of former members of the army air corp. Bit dated and has loads...More

Thank EJLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dogs are not allowed into the museum but they do have a dog walking area where you can sit and watch light aircraft and military helicopters take off and land. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We spent a very pleasant 4 hours there...More

Thank Dogvisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This museum is ok to spend an hour or two. The cafe is fine. However my first and overall impression was that reception staff were terrible. We arrived on 22 March 2018 after a long drive and the woman in the front desk was so...More

Thank H0rnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are very sorry that you had a negative experience with one of our members of staff on your visit to the Museum in March, especially after your long journey. If you look back through our previous trip advisor reviews they generally report positive experiences...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lots to look at well laid out things I have never seen before and I will go back again I found it a little difficult to find the sat nav took me round in a big circle

Thank jimmyrockola1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit to the Museum, when you eventually found it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

We visited with 3 young children. Cost was £35 and then over half of the interactive activities were extra (£1 each and we have 3 children). We only lasted less than 2 hours and had to leave as our young children were bored. I would...More

Thank WendyKizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

We are sorry you didn't have the desired experience with the Museum. As you may know we are due to undergo a £2.5million redevelopment later this year, which includes plans for more interactives and an enhanced indoor play area, hopefully this will mean a lot...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Reading the previous review I am amazed that it is so negative I visited for the first time last August and thought it was excellent and have been numerous times ever since, the last being wartime wallop this Monday the 28th The staff have always...More

Thank devtron1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you Devtron you're welcome at any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

The Apache Cafe have started advertising on the main road "Open 7days a week" "No need for a ticket". We thought we'd give it a go...It was 3:45 and the cafe closes at 4 - we shouldn't have bothered! The girl who served us looked...More

Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Very sorry that you had a disappointing visit. Our staff always try to respond to complaints in real time and I would hope would have done so if you made your points to them at the time. If you would like to get in touch...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Expensive to get in but you only pay once and then can enter for free for a year. We live locally so have been there a number of times. My boys (4 and 2) enjoy it but I think it is very outdated and the...More

Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseumArmyFlying, Manager at Museum of Army Flying, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

We are sorry you feel this way about the Museum. As you may know we are due to undergo a £2.5million redevelopment later this year, which includes plans for more interactives and an enhanced indoor play area. We hope you will return and like what...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

We visited this museum for my husband's 60th birthday and we weren't disappointed! We weren't quite sure what to expect but went on the recommendation of a friend. There are stories and exhibits to appeal to everyone, great planes, helicopters, gliders, models, and sections detailing...More

Thank ZhooZhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Stockbridge Hotels
Travelodge Andover hotel
208 reviews
6.79 km away
The Grosvenor
498 reviews
6.83 km away
Premier Inn Andover Hotel
659 reviews
7.08 km away
White Hart
228 reviews
8.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Hawk Inn
274 reviews
4.85 km away
White Horse Inn and Restaurant
274 reviews
6.00 km away
The Royal Oak
110 reviews
6.20 km away
Rosebourne
203 reviews
6.41 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hawk Conservancy Trust
2,200 reviews
5.80 km away
Western Air Thruxton
7 reviews
6.42 km away
Danebury Iron Age Hill Fort
37 reviews
7.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
CazzaLmartin
30 March 2018|
Answer
Response from Terence K | Reviewed this property |
No idea I am afraid - didn't take the flight.
0
Votes
srichards9999
14 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DAVIDMS20050 | Reviewed this property |
Only guide dogs I am sorry to say. There is a picnic area where if one of you is not interested you could possibly take a dog on a lead. There is not much shade so a big NO to leaving a dog in your car. Museums and dogs... More
1
Vote
Alida T
25 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DAVIDMS20050 | Reviewed this property |
No, no rides at Museum, all displays are static. You will see a few helicopters flying from the next door Army Air Corp base. Helicopters are expensive to fly - I think some flying schools give experience flights but at a... More
0
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor