We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lakeland Wildlife Oasis

Features Animals
Hale, Milnthorpe LA7 7FE, England
+44 15395 63027
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Snow leopards and cub

The park seemed small from the car park, from paying on arrival I was informed of the different... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
sabrins2014
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
Hidden gem

After hearing about the birth of the new snow leopard, we decided to go and visit. On first... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
sarah b
,
St Helens, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 348 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Established for over 25 years, the Lakeland Wildlife Oasis hosts an incredible collection of insects, fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds and mammals. Perfect for families, the zoo is an all-weather attraction combining lush tropical halls and outdoor animal areas. Explore our evolutionary journey spanning over 300,000,000 years. The on site 'Wild Cafe' is open every day from 10am-4pm. No zoo entry is required to visit the cafe. Last entry for the zoo is 4:00pm. We are open every day except Christmas and Boxing Day.
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good28%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“snow leopard” (34 reviews)
“fruit bats” (15 reviews)
“red squirrels” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Hale, Milnthorpe LA7 7FE, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 15395 63027
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"snow leopard"
in 34 reviews
"fruit bats"
in 15 reviews
"red squirrels"
in 12 reviews
"the main attraction"
in 8 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 17 reviews
"unusual animals"
in 6 reviews
"lovely little place"
in 8 reviews
"gift shop"
in 20 reviews
"toasties"
in 6 reviews
"few hours"
in 14 reviews
"big zoo"
in 4 reviews
"keeper experience"
in 4 reviews
"lemur enclosure"
in 10 reviews
"indoor exhibits"
in 4 reviews
"leaf cutter ants"
in 19 reviews
"staff were friendly"
in 9 reviews
"butterfly house"
in 7 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

The park seemed small from the car park, from paying on arrival I was informed of the different animal species wildlife talks and feeding times which were all on a notice board behind the receptionist - which I thought was disappointing as no leaflet was...More

2  Thank sabrins2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Species signage, directional signage and visitor interpretation is one of our main priorities for development this September - we are very aware that the majority of the signage around the zoo is in poor condition. Resources...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

After hearing about the birth of the new snow leopard, we decided to go and visit. On first entering, the impression is that this seems a very small and maybe not a great place, but how wrong first impressions can be. In the words of...More

Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Sarah, Thank you for your positive review - our staff are working incredibly hard throughout summer and positive reviews like this really spur us on! We are a registered charity, initially set up as a family buisness, therefore we pride ourselves on directly contributing...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

Ok I went here today taking my two Grandkids (2 and 7) looking at some of the reviews I was a little unsure to be fair. Positives, the Animals all looked well cared for although we did see the Red Squirrel behaving oddly maybe going...More

Thank Iain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Iain, Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is valued and will be passed onto the team. We're glad to hear you appreciated our standard of animal care and our friendly staff. We believe we are competitively priced compared to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Looks small from the car park but, is a lot bigger than you think. Some of the enclosures are tatty but are being gradually upgraded. The snow leopards are the highlight. Our granddaughter loved the butterfly designer,and we thought it good fun too. The downside...More

Thank YorkshireBradfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our attraction - we are continually trying to improve our sight and facilities for our visitors. We are gradually making our way around the entire sight and renovating old structures and designs. Our cafe is currently undergoing...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for a look round it was really good will go again. The staff was helpful a nice shop too. Worth a visit, if you are in the area call in and have a look, you will enjoy.

Thank mary3153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your positive review - I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team here at the zoo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Bit overpriced for the limited number of animals in small enclosures - inside was the better of the 2 attractions. Broken or missing interactive activities for the kids which was a shame as a lot of young families arrived as we were leaving after 1...More

Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Anita, We're sorry to here that you did not enjoy your experience here at the zoo and specifically within our cafe. We are severely short staffed at the moment on the cafe (down two full time members of staff) due to unforeseen circumstances -...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I took my daughter away for a bit of mum and daughter bonding, we are both animal lovers. There are more animals since our last visit nearly 10 years ago. You can get up close to meerkats with a viewing dome. There are small animals...More

Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Stephanie, Thankyou for your kind review. I will be sure to pass this onto all our staff. Summer is a very busy time for us and positive comments such as these push us through! LWO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic to kill an hour or two. Great for small children. Highlights included snow leopards that have a 10 week old cub and you can walk under a glass tunnel that they climb over inside there enclosure. Lovely butterfly house.

Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your positive review! I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team here at the zoo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am a regular visitor the Oasis, but haven't been since January, what a surprise there was a Snow Leopard cub, utterly beautiful, lovely place just enough animals for a morning visit, the only down side is the glass on the Leopard tunnel is dirty...More

Thank SharSK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou for your positive review! We are continually aiming to improve our facilities and guest experiences - we were the first zoo in the UK to use a curved tunnel in a big cat enclosure. As a result, it was a case of trial and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did feel some of the fish tanks were too small for the amount of large fish in them but all were beautifully clean. The leaf cutter ants were fascinating and the butterflies were beautiful. Outside a bit varied with some enclosures too small and...More

Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildlife O, Manager at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sandra, Thankyou for you review and your concerns. Many of the issues you have highlighted are areas we ourselves are trying to improve upon and develop. We are aiming to move on our largest fish (our three pacu) soon - freeing up space within...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
The Cross Keys Hotel
143 reviews
4.00 km away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
451 reviews
4.14 km away
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
4 reviews
4.46 km away
Heversham Hotel
183 reviews
5.87 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Old Beetham Post Office
93 reviews
2.27 km away
Kings Arms
79 reviews
2.44 km away
Burger King
16 reviews
2.00 km away
Beetham Garden Cafe
246 reviews
2.42 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fairy Steps
53 reviews
2.33 km away
Greenlands Farm Village
289 reviews
3.98 km away
RSPB Leighton Moss Nature Reserve
393 reviews
4.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Susie B
8 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from elainesteedman | Reviewed this property |
It is all on level ground with paths leading all around the site, so I would say it was accessible for wheelchair users. The staff were very kind and friendly
1
Vote
Honest84
28 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Wildlife O | Property representative |
Thankyou for your query. We still do handling sessions within our bug encounter and meet the reptiles talks - animals typically used in these are cockroaches, stick insects, land snails, skinks and snakes. We do not... More
0
Votes
chrisflhall
10 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from manxmanpaul | Reviewed this property |
What did the staff say when you enquired about them?
1
Vote