We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: The Hive | Earle Road, Widnes WA8 0TA, England
Phone Number:
+44 870 085 2929
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 82 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 32
    Excellent
  • 15
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Fun for all

When with my girlfriend we had a good time but not if your a beginner. Lots of kids making its difficult to try and lurn. Might try again

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Joanne D
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 82: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I usually give go to Altrincham to went to Widnes and didn't enjoy enjoy as much much. The skates I received were in awful condition. I changed the first pair as I couldn't lace them up properly because they were broken, only to be replaced by another pair which were torn and damp. I also tripped in the second pair... More 

Helpful?
Thank ceetravelshere282017
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When with my girlfriend we had a good time but not if your a beginner. Lots of kids making its difficult to try and lurn. Might try again

Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Took my teen daughter on Tuesday half term for the Mega skate. Only about 10 people in when we arrived at 10am, once she was on the ice these men started skating really fast weaving in and out of the novice skaters and showering them with ice. this went on for one and a half hours, She decided she didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pam A
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this review

Hi Pam A, Thank you for your recent review of us here, may I ask if you approached any of our staff members and they could of discussed your concerns and corrected any behaviors which needed doing so on the day? I'm afraid I haven't been made aware on any issues during our half term in regards to the ice... More 

Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Having failed to find the rink the previous time I was passing, despite seeing the odd sign, I checked the map in advance and also phoned to ask how busy it was. "Just a couple of skaters on the ice" I was told, and indeed there were just the two, who left shortly after we arrived, whereupon we had the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Launcelyn
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this review

Hi Launcelyn, Thank you for taking your time to review us at Silver Blades Widnes. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to us. I will forward on your comments and proposals to our head office regarding the music during the day on site. Please may I ask which session you joined us for? Hope to see you at... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Went for my birthday as I haven't been in ages so thought we would go to silver blades was good 2 ice marshals 1 was skating around taking to a more experienced skater but was keeping a eye out but the other one was doing figure skating with two girls in the middle had to keep dodging them and kids... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mattay92
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this review

Dear "Mattay92" Thank you for taking your time to review your visit to us. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to us, I'm concerned to hear the ice marshalls on duty that day were not stopping the children from such ice skating behaviours. Please can you email me at widnes@silver-blades.co.uk to advise when you visited us so I... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We have been 2 times in the last 3 weeks with our 4 children it's costs just in £50 each visit it is rather expensive! Both of our visits were on Sunday afternoon the 1st visit we left after 35 mins as the music was more like a nightclub than a family roller disco it was so loud you had... More 

Helpful?
Thank gannon75
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this review

Dear "gannon75" Thank you for your recent review of us here, may I ask if you have one of our ice card memberships? They reduce the price you pay by £2.00 per person and are completely free, just pop to our website and select "Ice Card" on the top right of the screen. More 

Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2017

A little nervous at taking my kids here but a re-watch of Frozen over the holidays made it one of their "demands" I couldnt fault the staff here they helped us with our ice skates, the skating aids and some general tips when they saw we were struggling! Our youngest took to it with complete ease and all 3 of... More 

Helpful?
Thank hollyhannahhunt
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Hannah, Thank you for your recent visit to us, its great to hear when customers especially children are enjoying something new. Hope to see you at the rink again soon! More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Came here with family for a birthday. We went to the family session and it was very chaotic inside. Expensive if not booked as a group and I found it terrible to charge someone who was only spectating and not skating. Much more organisation is needed at this rink. When picking up my skates I asked the staff member for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nyxi666
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this review

Dear "Nyxi666" Thank you for your recent to us at Silver Blades Widnes, I'm sorry to hear there's been an issue with the ice skates you borrowed from ourselves, I will discuss with our skate hire department and resolve the situation for future customers. More 

1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Took my two boys 12 & 8 yrs for a skate Newyears eve. We normally go to the Altrincham rink, and certainly won't go to Widnes again. The skates provided for my 8year old were absolutely soaking wet, and in poor condition, but when I asked to change them was told they were the only pair left in that size... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mumof2boysNorthwich
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this review

Dear "Mumof2boysNorthwich" I'm sorry to hear you weren't happy with your visit to us, please can you contact me at your earliest convenience at widnes@silver-blades.co.uk so we can discuss your visit with us. More 

1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

How can I describe my experience other than a health and safety nightmare! Young children unsupervised in the main ice rink, skating in any direction, launching skating aid penguins across the ice, no skate marshal, not even any staff monitoring the chaos! The only staff to be seen were in the skate hire room messing around. There is no review... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chloe I
SilverBladesWidnes, Manager at SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Chloe, Thank you for your review of us here at Widnes. I did send an email to the email address you provided regarding the concerns you raised at the rink during your visit with us. If you would like to discuss your visit further, please can you reply to my email. More 

Travellers who viewed SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes also viewed

 

Been to SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Cheshire, Connecticut
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from SilverBlades Ice Rink Widnes staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?