We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 484 Emerald Hollow Mine Dr, Hiddenite, NC 28636-7393
Phone Number:
+1 828-635-1126
Website
Today
08:30 - 20:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:30 - 20:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

The one and only public emerald mine in the world, covering 69 acres.

The one and only public emerald mine in the world, covering 69 acres.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 288 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 117
    Excellent
  • 89
    Very good
  • 31
    Average
  • 23
    Poor
  • 28
    Terrible
Good and Not So Good.

Okay. So this was my second trip. Last trip I was 8 months pregnant, and I couldn't dig. My boyfriend, has been a rock/gem fanatic. He brought me last year, and I didn't dig... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
jorox_125
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 288: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Rockhounders- STAY AWAY. They salt the creek with poor quality specimens that are not remotely indigenous to the area. Expensive prices, and dismissive staff. Tourist family attraction- expensive but sure take the kids to easily find bright colored rocks and make the kiddos feel like experts. As a local rockhounder I was appalled and severely disappointed. I have been to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sam W
Management response:

Thank you for your visit to Emerald Hollow Mine. We apologize you did not have a positive experience with us. Areas of the dig site are roped off for safety and permit reasons, as well as some people who have paid to have their digging areas reserved. Keep in mind, our mine is not excavated like many others. Digging takes... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and my girlfriend went last year and again this year we waited eagerly for vacation since last year just to go sit in a hole and get filthy digging You can't go into it expecting to find the find of a century but if you stick to it and be thorough you will have some luck we found a... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Okay. So this was my second trip. Last trip I was 8 months pregnant, and I couldn't dig. My boyfriend, has been a rock/gem fanatic. He brought me last year, and I didn't dig because of being pregnant. But I absolutely enjoyed it enough that I wanted to come back this year. We spent a thousand bucks there in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jorox_125
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Let me start this review by saying obviously there are plenty of people who are finding gems and crystals here. This review is based solely on our one time experience as first time rock hunters. We paid the $25 each to sift in the creek and dig as well. We also paid the $3 and $7 for the respective rental... More 

Helpful?
Thank DreBrink
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been going here for years and have had a good time. A couple years back we noticed that the buckets of dirt that you get for sluicing had far less stones in them. This was disappointing but because the children liked it we still came. However this year they doubled the price making it completely unaffordable. . They... More 

Helpful?
Thank David H
Management response:

Thank you for visiting Emerald Hollow Mine! We apologize that you did not have a positive experience with us. The mine has been open for quite some time and we were beyond due for a price change. We did discontinue complimentary buckets, but have added more affordable bucket options. We have never allowed anyone to be under the sluiceway, at... More 

Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in Cherokee Smoking Mountains enroute to home, and took a detour to come to this place for gem panning based on friend's recommendation. The place is in the middle of no where, we were looking for place to have lunch while about 35 miles away from it, and everything was closed on Saturday, even some gas station. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank HaDa2000
Vinton, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Digging for gem stones was on my bucket list. Well, still is, because I want to go back. The staff was informative and friendly. Don't expect a lush green park, the digging site is exactly that, lots of holes. Plan to get dirty if you dig. We did not do the creek or buckets, I wanted to find something native... More 

Helpful?
Thank needabrakk
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Took my daughter to a bit of 1:1. We shoveled, dug with our hands, and literally sparkled (the dirt sparkles!). We slopped around in the creek, played in the water flume, & had a wonderful time. Staff members were very helpful directing us to dig sites & identifying finds (mostly local quartz & mica). Not your typical mother daughter adventure-... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank prickles2188
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

You have a few options on how you discover your gems. W had a 8 year old who enjoyed looking for the stones and gems for nearly 3-4 hours. Picnic tables are available and shade. If your there with small children they may over look gems due to size or expectations they like what you get at a store.. everyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annette L
chattanooga
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Fun fun FUN! A great sluice ready for your mud and rocks! Buy a bucket (or 2) and starting panning. People are there to help identify your treasures. Not a fancy place so don't wear your high heels. If you don't like dirt then this is not the place for you. Roll up your sleeves and enjoy yourself. You could... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank marykta

Been to Emerald Hollow Mine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Emerald Hollow Mine and other visitors
8 questions
Ask a question
New Bern, NC
Statesville, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Emerald Hollow Mine staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?