We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carolina National Golf Club

1643 Goley Hewett Rd SE, Bolivia, NC 28422-7686
+1 910-755-5200
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Exceeded expectations

We played the National last week on our bi annual golf tour. We were expecting it to be poor... read more

Reviewed 9 May 2017
hayburn6
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
Golf course condition

What's happened to Carolina National? Played the course today and was not impressed with bare spots... read more

Reviewed 29 April 2017
Tim G
via mobile
Read all 76 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Fred Couples 27 hole semi-private golf club. Full-service restaurant open to the public.
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good22%
  • Average9%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“greens” (30 reviews)
“bag drop” (5 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 06:00 - 19:00
LOCATION
1643 Goley Hewett Rd SE, Bolivia, NC 28422-7686
CONTACT
Website
+1 910-755-5200
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2017

We played the National last week on our bi annual golf tour. We were expecting it to be poor following comments on TA and by Pro shop staff at other courses. However the course was in excellent condition, with nice fairways and quick (hard to...More

Thank hayburn6
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thanks for the fantastic review. I couldn't have said it better myself. It has been dry already this season. We did not have as many April showers as we would like, so we weren't expecting May flowers :) Our conditions should only continue to improve...More

Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

What's happened to Carolina National? Played the course today and was not impressed with bare spots in fairways, no sand in the bunkers and wash areas around the course. Also, the club house is old. There was very little merchandise and they had NO golf...More

Thank Tim G
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Tim, New merchandise is coming in daily. New mowers are running. Come back in a few more weeks and see difference for yourself. See May 8th.

Reviewed 13 March 2017

This is my home course. Three nines that are very different. Picturesque. Near the Lockwood Folley River.

1  Thank Patricia W
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thanks Patricia. We are looking forward to a great summer and fall season. Hit 'em straight!

Reviewed 9 March 2017

What a joke.They do not oversees with Rye grass anymore so there is no real Bermuda grass just a few wisps over mud. Talk about thin lies.We came on a passport card for under 50 but I EXPECTED a lot more than I GOT. OH....More

3  Thank claring
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

See May 8th.

Reviewed 31 December 2016

Really like this golf course, it is a challenge for all levels of player but also very fair. I took advantage of their Pay the Date offer and it was well worth the short ride to Bolivia.

Thank jjsalemi
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

We try to offer great off-season deals without compromising quality. Thank you for the positive feedback.

Reviewed 15 November 2016

Would be tied for the nicest course we played. Well maintained, great layout that was challenging and fair. Good service from the staff and very nice visually to play. The pro shop was not stocked very well as it was late in season but still...More

1  Thank CHIP G
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

I will pass your compliments along to our staff. We take pride in providing a half-days worth of enjoyment. I will also relay your suggestion of improving our pro shop. we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 5 November 2016

This my friends, is a nice facility! The clubhouse has a well-stocked Pro shop and a Restaurant with a great menu at sensible prices. The 19th hole is very comfortable. The service from the bag drop to check-in, starter and wait staff was top notch....More

Thank 332Rich
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Freddie definitely created a challenge that will keep you coming back. Thank you for the positive review.

Reviewed 23 October 2016

We found this course many years ago when it first opened and they used a trailer for the pro shop. Even without a proper clubhouse, this course kept coming up on our playlist for our annual trek to North Carolina for a week of golf....More

Thank Michael L
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you for returning time after time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

I went to 4 golf courses in the oak island area and Carolina National is bar to none; the staff alone will make you drop the mic! Can't wait to go again when I am in the area; hit'em good! Burrell Brown

Thank Burrell B
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Thank you for your kind words. Our staff tries to make every guest feel special. We are heading into our best fall season yet! We can't wait until you return!

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Enjoy every round played here. Courses are in great shape. Highly recommend their 27 hole with lunch deal, it can't be beat.

Thank Mike W
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Thank you for your positive review. We are in the beginning of our best season for course conditions and weather. (we don't talk about those occasional hurricanes!) The rest of fall should be spectacular. Tell everyone you know.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Beaches-N-Cream
156 reviews
6.46 km away
Provision Company
403 reviews
7.26 km away
Patronies Pizza
144 reviews
7.33 km away
Archibald's Deli
93 reviews
6.74 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fort Apache
23 reviews
3.29 km away
Holden Beach
236 reviews
5.78 km away
Mary's Gone Wild
12 reviews
6.88 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Carolina National Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit