We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hunter Mountain

Hunter, NY
+1 518-263-4223
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 125.00*
and up
Full-Day Ski Trip to Catskills Hunter Mountain from New York City
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Popular ski resort providing excellent runs and trails for downhill skiing, snowboarding, snowtubing and snowshoeing.
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good30%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“zip line” (35 reviews)
“day trip” (17 reviews)
“chair lift” (11 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
LOCATION
Hunter, NY
CONTACT
Website
+1 518-263-4223
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"zip line"
in 35 reviews
"day trip"
in 17 reviews
"chair lift"
in 11 reviews
"ski lift"
in 16 reviews
"ski resort"
in 15 reviews
"mid week"
in 7 reviews
"sky ride"
in 9 reviews
"natural snow"
in 8 reviews
"ski school"
in 10 reviews
"making snow"
in 4 reviews
"fall foliage"
in 5 reviews
"new york city"
in 5 reviews
"warm weather"
in 4 reviews
"two hours"
in 6 reviews
"the east coast"
in 4 reviews
"great snow"
in 5 reviews
"fire tower"
in 12 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Happy with the conditions and type of terrain. Good selection of food and drinks. Would be a good family mountain too.

Thank MariaK126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Nice trails,fantastic lodge.There are plenty of challenging trails and plenty of green trails.There also ungromed sides and glades to enjoy.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

We were there last year for vacation and we were kinda disappointed with the place, it’s commercialized and just too busy. I know that people went there to ski and etc however they don’t even have place where you could be free to play with...More

Thank The anonymous L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterMountain, Public Relations Manager at Hunter Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hello, We are sorry you feel this way. Please note that we offer Snow Tubing Friday nights through Sundays, and during holiday periods. Our Snow Tubing park is a fun alternative for those who wish to participate in an activity aside from skiing and riding....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

I've been coming to Hunter for many years and always was wondering why at the end the day I feel like throwing up, and then I realized that the whole mountain is covered with small bumps, kind of like mini-moguls. Even though they are small...More

1  Thank mitch5791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterMountain, Public Relations Manager at Hunter Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. If you visit us again in the future, please be sure to refer to our Snow Report, which gives you detailed information on our trail status including which trails our grooming team created fresh, smooth corduroy! You can find...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Mountain was maintained and groomed well considering the recent warm weather. Window staff was helpful and attentive. Restaurant/Bar was full of delicious new options and everything was family friendly.

Thank JoeKool79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

I am a strong skier that enjoys getting 25+ runs in a day and I was only able to get in 12 runs. My experience at Hunter mountain was completely horrible because the line to get on the high speed 6 person life (catskill flyer)...More

7  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterMountain, Public Relations Manager at Hunter Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hi Steven, Thank you for your feedback. Please be advised that during the time you were here, two of our lifts were down due to electrical issues. This was a very unfortunate event that created longer lines and wait times to access the slopes. We...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

I have been a Skier/ snowboarder or over 30 years .We rented a local house with several couples and our children for Presidents day weekend. We pre purchased a large group of lift tickets also. Several lifts are broken down, and with very limited ability...More

4  Thank Surfeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterMountain, Public Relations Manager at Hunter Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. Please be advised that during the time you were here, two of our lifts were down due to electrical issues. This was a very unfortunate event that created longer lines and wait times to access the slopes. We have...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Hunter was dealt a bad hand this weekend with snow conditions and lifts breaking, but they did not handle it very well. With only two main lifts running, the lift attendants were only concerned with sending the ski school up the lift. They only care...More

3  Thank Molly55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterMountain, Public Relations Manager at Hunter Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hi Molly, Thank you for your feedback. Please be advised that during the time you were here, two of our lifts were down due to electrical issues. This was a very unfortunate event that created longer lines and wait times to access the slopes. Yes,...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

I've been skiing at Hunter for many years. You could always depend on them making snow whenever the conditions permitted. But not anymore. They haven't made snow in weeks. What's going on Hunter? Windham now makes more snow than Hunter. The base is thin and...More

1  Thank skihappy_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

When you're not there to ski consider hiking the trails. Its 2 miles and an 800 foot climb to the summit of the mountain where there's a fire tower with the best view in the Catskills. The ski lift runs weekends from Memorial Day until...More

1  Thank JohnandJaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Hunter
The Pinnacle Condominiums
5 reviews
.18 km away
Kaatskill Mountain Club
244 reviews
.26 km away
Hunter Inn
136 reviews
1.13 km away
Scribner's Catskill Lodge
89 reviews
1.16 km away
Nearby Restaurants
VanWinkle's at the Kaatskill Mountain Club
62 reviews
.17 km away
The Prospect Restaurant
49 reviews
1.14 km away
Hunter Mountain Brewery
54 reviews
1.00 km away
Jagerberg Beer Hall & Alpine Tavern
6 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
New York Zipline Canopy Tours
300 reviews
.18 km away
Hudson-Chatam Winery Tasting Room
42 reviews
6.34 km away
Mountain Top Arboretum
13 reviews
6.69 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Bevanstraveller
6 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 991Sue12345 | Reviewed this property |
No, you do not need snow chains. Really.... we have lived in upstate NY for five decades - never needed them. If your vehicle has four wheel (or even two wheel) drive, you'll be fine as long as you take it easy if it is... More
0
Votes
rikam629
15 December 2017|
Answer
Response from SantaRon | Reviewed this property |
Hi, Check out their web page. They claim to have the largest snow tubing area in New York State. We were there in the summer but this looks cool enough to return in the winter! Not sure reservations are needed. Try calling... More
0
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor