We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Great White Shark Tours

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 8 Swart Street | Kleinbaai, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Phone Number:
028 384 1418
Today
08:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 21:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

The owner and founder Brian McFarlane is a professional diver and skipper...

The owner and founder Brian McFarlane is a professional diver and skipper who has always made a living from the sea. He started diving for perlemoen (abalone) at a young age, then moved on to become a commercial fisherman for 6 years and spent another 6 years diving in search of wrecks along the southern coast of Africa. This was followed by the diving for diamonds from the sea-bed for the next 20 years.He has become a local legend with his fascinating tales about the sea and underwater experiences. During the time when Great White Shark fishing was allowed, Brian caught Great Whites, some weighing more than 1 tonne.Today, he dearly regrets this and now spends his time and efforts in finding the great beasts to be observed and photographed at close range. Brian has worked with the Great Whites for 18 years and has only had 6 non-sighting days in the last 10 years.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 132.77*
and up
Shark Cage Diving and Viewing in Kleinbaai
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 920 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 657
    Excellent
  • 85
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
YA JUST GOTTA DO THIS!

This was one of our highlights of our trip to South Africa. DO NOT come to this area without taking the time and effort to partake in the thrill of a life time. The people at... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed today
Kyle A

Similar Things to Do in Gansbaai

Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

920 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 773: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed today NEW

This was one of our highlights of our trip to South Africa. DO NOT come to this area without taking the time and effort to partake in the thrill of a life time. The people at Great White Shark Tours were awesome. My wife and I were booked by our BnB host at the last minute and it caused a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kyle A
Cradock, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Scared out of my mind, but totally worth every penny! All the information and guidance before, during and after was great at putting my fears to rest. Awesome experience and excellent customer service!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Marita D
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this review

Hallo Marita, Wow, you did it! Thanks for the review, and for choosing our company for No 1 on your bucket list! Regards for GWST team More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Super professional and knowledgable crew on board the Apex-Predator. Could not of asked for better. Got to go in to cage twice Water visibility when in the cage was terrible, hardly see your hand in front of your face. Better view from the boat which was disappointing. But still a fantastic experience. Sea sickness big issue. Take tablets!!

Helpful?
1 Thank BerEng82
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this review

Hallo cage diver, Thanks for taking the time to review your shark diving adventure with us... and for the compliments about our crew. We appreciate your understanding that murky waters is not a given and totally out of our control. Glad you enjoyed the super surface shark activity. Regards from theGWST team More 

Wuxi, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon with Great White Shark Tours and want to go again in winter, when the sea is even clearer. The staff at the dive centre and on the boat were friendly, well-informed and professional at all times, and inspired confidence. For a family the trip is a bit pricey but well worth it!

Helpful?
Thank ChristinaMargrethe66
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this review

Hi cage diver, Please do come back in winter!! During winter the currents bring in the warmer water (unbelievable, but true) and the visibility is excellent! Then you had the best of both, the excellent surface viewing and an underwater adventure of eye-to-eye encounters from the cage. Thanks for your review, it is much appreciated. Kind regards from the GWST... More 

Level Contributor
203 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It all started with a very friendly lady on the phone. Originally we wanted to do the early tour, but it was booked out, so we went with the later one. Before the tour there was a breakfast buffet. The food was alright, everything a bit rushed though. It followed an info video, some instructions and the handout of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nora W
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this review

Hallo Nora W, Thanks for taking the time to share your views about your shark cage diving trip with us all. We appreciate the feedback and will build on our strengths and give lots of attention to the matters of concern! Kind regards from the crew and the whole team. More 

Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

What an amazing experience. The only disappointing aspect was that the water was not very clear. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHEN THE WATER IS CLEARER SO THAT I MAY BOOK ANOTHER TRIP.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank ceverard
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this review

Hallo ceverard, We are so thrilled that you chose our company to brave the cold water for this lifetime adventure! The visibility improves dramatically during the winter months - from April - August. Unbelievable, but the water is warmer and this current influx clears the water. Visit our website newsletter archives where we explain the winter-summer seasons of shark cage... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The cage diving experience with the great whites was amazing and really well organized. The pick-up showed up in time, the arrival and the dive itself were well coordinated and I always felt safe and in good hands.

Helpful?
Thank BeDa R
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Our first time at Shark diving so we were all a little nervous and unsure of what to expect however this soon subsided once we reached the departure point and where we had a lovely breakfast followed by a presentation about what to expect. Everything about the tour was great and it was really well organised and operated smoothly. Prior... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Stacey W
Lemvig, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a few hours drive and we're very excited when we got there, there was a little something to eat and something to drink, and the briefing started right away. We were all charged as non-divers because the visibility was 0. They even offered us to come back another day if we wanted to. We got shown how to... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohannaGagel
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

the company was recommend to us by the hotel. we drove to gambsbai to find a great family run dive shop with a great breakfast, friendly staff and good information about what to expect. the shark encounter was animal and eco friendly. we had as much time as we wanted down in the cages to interact with the sharks. i... More 

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank elsiescott

Travellers who viewed Great White Shark Tours also viewed

 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Great White Shark Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Great White Shark Tours and other visitors
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Great White Shark Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?