We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mount Washington Auto Road

1 Mount Washington Auto Road, Gorham, NH 03581
+1 603-466-3988
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
NH Signature Location

Mount Washington Stage Ride - great weather and tour to the top of the auto road and... read more

Reviewed yesterday
ukulelelady2016
,
Sandown, New Hampshire
They offer a guided tour to see the rare Bicknell's thrush!

Our experience was a little different in the fact that we took a guided tour up the mountain to... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
ladychild
,
West Hartford, Connecticut
Read all 1,444 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Since 1861, a spectacular, steep eight-mile scenic road that leads to the top of Mount Washington, the highest peak in the Northeast. Drive yourself or take a 2 hour guided tour in company vans. Mt. Washington State Park and the Mt Washington Observatory are at the summit.
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good19%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“auto road” (247 reviews)
“guided tour” (84 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
1 Mount Washington Auto Road, Gorham, NH 03581
CONTACT
Website
+1 603-466-3988
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"auto road"
in 247 reviews
"guided tour"
in 84 reviews
"afraid of heights"
in 91 reviews
"low gear"
in 69 reviews
"tree line"
in 49 reviews
"narrow road"
in 37 reviews
"drop offs"
in 21 reviews
"great drive"
in 24 reviews
"cog railway"
in 87 reviews
"white knuckle"
in 30 reviews
"coming down"
in 33 reviews
"audio cd"
in 25 reviews
"gift shop"
in 62 reviews
"bring a jacket"
in 24 reviews
"weather conditions"
in 20 reviews
"cloud cover"
in 19 reviews
"sunny day"
in 26 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Mount Washington Stage Ride - great weather and tour to the top of the auto road and back. Beautiful views, informative tour and area, so much to see!!

Thank ukulelelady2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

Our experience was a little different in the fact that we took a guided tour up the mountain to look for the rare Bicknell's thrush - only seen at certain high elevations. Even though we had a windy day and only fleeting glimpses of the...More

1  Thank ladychild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago

We lucked out and had perfect weather...not very cold, very little wind, and blue skies. Easy drive up until the last couple of thousand feet...my husband spent more time watching the road than the scenery at that point since there were no guard rails plus...More

Thank NCRedhead105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I haven't been up the auto road since I was ten or so, but da hubby wanted to ride our motorcycle up for the Ride to the Sky, so up we went, despite rain at the summit and a definite bit of fear of heights...More

Thank misschristina40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

This was my 4th time up to the top, once by foot while hiking, twice by motorcycle and this time by car for the first time. I was with someone who'd never been there before and I wanted to give her a good memory. There...More

Thank Eldor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I wanted to drive up the auto route myself but when I reached the start I was told that that day no private cars were allowed cause of a motorcycle event, but that I could go with a van and a driver instead. Cause the...More

Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howie W, General Manager at Mount Washington Auto Road, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Barbara! We're so glad you had a wonderful trip in spite of your initial disappointment in not driving yourself! The guided tours really do add a whole other dimension to the trip. Thanks for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Drive is not for the faint of heart or people who are scared of heights. There are NO guard rails, so if this bothers you, take the coach. I drove up once on my own in 2012 and was quite scared and my Jeeps brakes...More

Thank Peggy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howie W, General Manager at Mount Washington Auto Road, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Well stated, Peggy! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were lucky enough to go on a completely clear day! The $40 was completely worth it. Make sure you follow the directions given by the staff and stated on the envelope as to how to operate your car to go up and come down...More

1  Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We drove up on a somewhat cloudy day. This is definitely not the drive for the weak of heart. My one daughter was very scared and the other enjoyed it. It was really cool to drive up through the clouds, and then you were actually...More

Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The drive up was great, you can see the extreme change in the landscape by driving up more and more and also the significant temperature drop. The road is great and for experienced drivers it is enougj room, unfortunately the unexperienced ones don’t pull over...More

Thank Annikamikaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Gorham
Royalty Inn
602 reviews
11.78 km away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
378 reviews
11.84 km away
Top Notch Inn
744 reviews
11.89 km away
Northern Peak Motor Inn
66 reviews
11.95 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Libby's Bistro
139 reviews
11.71 km away
The WaterWheel
239 reviews
15.70 km away
Christmas Farm Inn
342 reviews
16.01 km away
Saalt Pub
236 reviews
11.71 km away
Nearby Attractions
Glen Ellis Falls
252 reviews
5.51 km away
Mount Washington State Park
50 reviews
6.58 km away
Mount Washington Valley
44 reviews
6.56 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
nstalloju
16 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Barbara B | Reviewed this property |
I haven’t been on a Sunday but when I went up there were only bikes and tour vans allowed so many people booked the tour. I had to wait 1 1/2 hours for my trip so if it’s good weather it might be busy. But there is a nice... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Brian N
4 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from mommaof8 | Reviewed this property |
I believe the snow coach is only available mid-december through march but maybe you can call and see if they are still operating since they may have snow still there. And like the above reviewer stated, it says $49 per... More
0
Votes
KariK214
31 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from midnightdream88 | Reviewed this property |
This is much scarier than the road to Hana in my opinion! No guardrails here on Mt Washington
0
Votes
;