We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 2430 W Crown Dr, Traverse City, MI 49685-6738
Phone Number:
+1 231-946-2975
Website
Description:

Located just 5 minutes from downtown Traverse City, The Crown Golf Club is...

Located just 5 minutes from downtown Traverse City, The Crown Golf Club is the centerpiece of a 286 acre residential golf community. Known for excellent conditions, the course is nestled into the rolling hills just southwest of town. The Championship 18 hole layout offers scenic vistas and elevations that will challenge your club selection. The course is inviting and playable, yet it will test all the skills of a low handicapper. With 4 sets of tees, any golfer can pick the perfect distance for their game.

 

The Crown Golf Club has a pro shop, PGA Professional on staff, driving range, putting green, beverage cart and full service restaurant and bar.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 14 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 4
    Excellent
  • 7
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
9:30 tee time with 3 old friends, arrived a little early and advised we could proceed to the first tee

Friendly staff with well maintained course. Price was fair for Seniors on a week day. Greens in great shape , not so much with the bunkers, hard sand and lots of stone. All in... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 September 2015
Wayne P
,
Traverse City MI
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2016

Made very welcome by the golf pro who assisted me in finding where everything was; driving range, putting green, first tee. The only problem I had was finding the first tee. Its not very well signposted from the driving range and I initially teed off from the eighth! Apart from that the course was well laid out and the greens... More 

Helpful?
Thank ssbn01
Traverse City MI
Level Contributor
205 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2015

Friendly staff with well maintained course. Price was fair for Seniors on a week day. Greens in great shape , not so much with the bunkers, hard sand and lots of stone. All in all one of the better golf clubs in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
Nick T, General Manager at The Crown Golf Club, responded to this review

Hi Wayne! Thank you so much for your kind words about the course. I’m glad we were able to accommodate your early arrival and get you out playing our beautiful course with your friends. I’m so happy you find us to be one of the better courses in the area – that is such an honor to hear! We appreciate... More 

London, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2015

Played this course in the AM on Thursday, August 27th 2015 with my 13 year old son. Surprisingly it was not busy. I was very impressed with the quality of this course. The tees, fairways and in particular the greens were in phenominal condition. The greens were of the best I've played and better than most private course I play... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gibber22
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent visit to our course. I am so happy that you enjoyed yourself and were so impressed with the quality. Our grounds crew is some of the best in the business and really strive to make it the best course in town! We are very proud of it! It is a... More 

Port Ludlow, Washington
Level Contributor
281 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

Played here yesterday with my brother. We were a twosome. Pace of play on front nine was a little slow, with a foursome of seniors in front of us, but we played through on hole #10 and we breezed through. The course is well maintained, especially the greens, with one or two exceptions. The rough is deep, making shots difficult.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our course. I’m glad overall you enjoyed your time and the experience playing. I hope that you will again join us at the Crown for another great round! Thank you again and looking forward to seeing you again soon! More 

South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2015

Arrived at course early was able to tee off right away. Everyone was friendly and offered advise for getting around. The course was well designed and perfect for a weekend hacker like myself. My wife wished there were more flat areas, but otherwise, thought it was not too difficult. It was not very crowded, so we enjoyed the scenery. Finished... More 

Helpful?
Thank markiv2015
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you Mark for your recent round at the Crown and taking the time to review us! We know you have a lot of choices when it comes to golf in the area and we are honored you chose to visit us! I’m glad that you found the course to be challenging – yet welcoming! I agree, there are some... More 

Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
216 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2015

First time golfing at this course. It did not disappoint us. Was more challenging than we thought. Some holes you had to shoot blind to, others have 90 degree dog legs. For you golfers who want a challenge give the Crown a go when you visit Traverse City, Michigan. Be careful of Cherry Festival week, it will be very busy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim N
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Golf Club, responded to this review

Jim, thank you for your review of your recent experience at The Crown. I’m so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the course to be challenging. We are so happy that you felt you could recommend us to other golfers (that’s such a great compliment ) and we look forward to welcoming not only... More 

DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
639 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

We stopped for some fresh air and golf. We enjoyed our company, however, every single shot was either ball above your feet or ball below your feet. I was amazed that we scored as well as we did, On the back nine, horrible, if you don't know the course, there were three holes that you have to drive down to... More 

Helpful?
Thank SharieN_13
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Golf Club, responded to this review

Sharie, Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your recent play at our course. I am so sorry that you have the opinion that you do. We pride ourselves on what we offer and have received many comments regarding the enjoyment of play. Unfortunately, we were unable to meet your expectations and we apologize. I am however happy that you... More 

Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2014

I took a fall golf trip with and old friend in western Michigan. The pro at one of the golf courses we played recommended the Crown in the Traverse City area. We were not disappointed. For late in the season the course was in very good shape. The greens were consistent and challenging. The course had several level changes which... More 

Helpful?
Thank GolfNut629
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about our course. I am so happy that you were given the recommendation to play so you could experience The Crown! We always enjoy meeting new people and showing them the wonderful golf that you can play "up north" and am glad that you were able to take advantage of our great fall rates,... More 

Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Level Contributor
360 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Golfed here last week for the first time in years. Honestly, should have been back well before this. The price was reasonable ($42/pp with cart), the course was in really good shape, there wasn't anyone close ahead of us, and no one pushing us. About 3 1/2 hours for my wife & I to golf 18 (which is a nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank MSkinner
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing about your experience at The Crown. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your visit and we agree....you should have been back sooner! We hope that your trip here will make you return time and time again to our beautiful course. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience and I look... More 

Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I played this course for the first time. The course was in good condition and playable for most anyone. However, the rough and some fairways were a series of bumps that rattled your teeth to drive in. It never got better and really took away from the enjoyment of the day. There is not much the owners... More 

Helpful?
Thank annika326
Nick T, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your visit to The Crown Golf Club. We hope that we will see you back very soon to play at the course and enjoy a magnificent meal after at Mulligan's! More 

Travellers who viewed The Crown Golf Club also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to The Crown Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?