We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

2 Lads Winery

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 16985 Smokey Hollow Rd, Traverse City, MI 49686-9749
Phone Number: +1 231-223-7722
Website
Today
11:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 16:00
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 17:00
Fee: Yes
Description:

2 Lads Winery is a small production facility located on Old Mission...

2 Lads Winery is a small production facility located on Old Mission Peninsula in Traverse City, Michigan. We currently have 23 acres of established vineyards. We specialize in cool climate dry red and sparkling wines and have small runs of white wines to round out the lot. Sustainably farming our land is paramount to the health of our soil, vines and grapes at 2 Lads Winery. Come taste the difference.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 232 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 110
    Excellent
  • 63
    Very good
  • 45
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Put this winery on your wine tasting list.

Really enjoyed our stop at this winery. It is very contemporary with some interesting wines. The late harvest Rieslings were not overly sweet, but with lots of great flavor. We... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
Irene S
,
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 231: English reviews
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really enjoyed our stop at this winery. It is very contemporary with some interesting wines. The late harvest Rieslings were not overly sweet, but with lots of great flavor. We visited in late morning, so it was not very busy. Had lots of great attention during our visit.

Helpful?
Thank Irene S
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Location and style of winery was great. Nice bar with great overview of the bay. Wine was ok but only due to bad crops due to weather from previous years.

Helpful?
Thank hammers1856
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2016

The location was nice but the staff was incredibly rude. We walked in, the place was crowded and a customer was sharing a complaint about being passed over during the extensive wait the hostess was abrupt and bordered on downright rude to a woman who had a legitimate complaint. We were handed a number and told the wait would be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie O
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

Its been here a few years yet previously never went that far-boy was I missing out! Views-stunning! Brought back some of their Rose-oh la la-watermelon tones-unique! while at the bar tasting wine look straight across thru their floor to ceiling glass windows and take in the beauty any time of the year-all seasons!

Helpful?
Thank TCfallcolors
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Wanted to explore the Mission Peninsula area. Found this winery. Very nice atmosphere. Knowledgeable staff. Good tasting wine. Bought a few bottles.

Helpful?
Thank VINCENT C
Mears, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

Their brochure said you would get your $5 tasting fee applied to the purchase of a bottle of wine, but they did not honor it. When our bus driver asked them about it, they called his boss and complained about him and us! Staff was unwelcoming. The Riesling was good but the pinot noir was about as full bodied as... More 

Helpful?
Thank SWG2015
2LadsWinery, Public Relations Manager at 2 Lads Winery, responded to this review

SWG2015, I'm sorry for the misunderstanding regarding our group tasting policy. Our complete group policy is on our website (http://www.2lwinery.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/Large-Group-Info.pdf) and all of the tour companies are completely aware of how our group tastings are conducted. We hope you forgive the miscommunication and give us another chance. More 

North Riverside, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2016

Stopped here while making our way around the Peninsula and was very pleased with the wines. They offer a nice selection and many varieties of wines. The staff was helpful with explaining the wines during the sampling. Prices here are coparable with most of the other wineries on the Peninsula.

Helpful?
Thank Ken R
Farmington Hills, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

Shared an afternoon with friend touring winery's. This is a younger winery compared to other along peninsula however I voted it the best tasting.

Helpful?
Thank Renee B
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

I love wine and this place was just opening up so they hooked us up with some delicious wine samples that we took outside and enjoyed a beautiful hillside view.

Helpful?
Thank Hayden K
Buena Park, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2016

At the tip of the wine trail. Great view of the bay from the tasting room. Wines were ok. Didn't think there was anything special we tasted. Staff was knowledgable and polite.

Helpful?
Thank kibtravels

Travellers who viewed 2 Lads Winery also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to 2 Lads Winery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 2 Lads Winery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?