We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Schooner Surprise

16 Public Lndg, Camden, ME 04843-1748
+1 207-236-4687
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great Day on the Water

Spent the afternoon - 2 hour cruise under sail. The Surprise is owned by a young couple. They... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Carol H
,
Delray Beach
via mobile
Great sail and hosts!

We really enjoyed the Surprise schooner sail.....the hosts are delightful and very knowledgeable... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed yesterday
RosannVermont
,
Chester, Vermont
Read all 416 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
A two hour sail and private charters out of Camden Harbor on the elegant Surprise, lets you experience both Camden and Penobscot Bay in a truly special and memorable way.
  • Excellent92%
  • Very good6%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“captain rob” (8 reviews)
“his wife” (11 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:30 - 20:30
LOCATION
16 Public Lndg, Camden, ME 04843-1748
CONTACT
Website
+1 207-236-4687
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 416 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Spent the afternoon - 2 hour cruise under sail. The Surprise is owned by a young couple. They alternate captaining the boat with another captain and Laird the first mate. We had a strong wind so except for entering and leaving the harbor we were...More

Thank Carol H
Reviewed yesterday

We really enjoyed the Surprise schooner sail.....the hosts are delightful and very knowledgeable about the area,

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank RosannVermont
Reviewed 2 days ago

What a wonderful ride! Just what we were hoping for. Beautiful way to spend some time on the water soaking in the views.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank WesterfieldVP
Reviewed 2 days ago

We had a very enjoyable time on the Schooner Surprise. The boat is beautiful and it was really fun helping to hoist the sails. Lovely evening in the harbor with a great captain who filled us in on the history of the ship and the...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank lindakZ8720YW
Reviewed 4 days ago

Been sailing on the Surprise for 7 years and it only gets better. New owners have made it more accessible on line and increased the number of sailings and special eventsMore

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Josh B
nicoletdar, Owner at Schooner Surprise, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Josh, Thanks so much for coming back year after year for a sail on Surprise. We are glad to hear that you are happy with some of the changes we have made and hope to sail with you again soon! All the best, Nicole...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

We sailed on the 3:00 slot. The ship was full...we were not prepared for how cold it was out on the water. Blankets and coats were provided. The attractive couple who own the ship were lovely, but it would have been nice to hear what...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Jacque P
nicoletdar, Owner at Schooner Surprise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks so much for your review of your sail on the Surprise. It is good to note how much chillier it can be on the water and to be prepared. We find having extra jackets and blankets has been useful for our guests. Hope to...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Using a local newspaper aimed at tourists, I found an excellent review of the Schooner "Surprise". It said of all the Schooner cruises in Camden this was by far the best. I have sailed on the "Surprise" twice, at different times of the day, and...More

Thank Kate C
nicoletdar, Owner at Schooner Surprise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello Kate, Thanks for your review of your sail aboard Surprise. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed about your sail. One thing that we cannot control is the weather and the wind. We do always give very guided tours telling people about...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a perfect afternoon on the water- being in a schooner that is almost 100 years old, just the experience was so much fun. It was exactly what we were looking for- a quick (but not too quick!) sail out and back. Nicole and...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Rose467
nicoletdar, Owner at Schooner Surprise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for your review of Surprise! We glad we were able to help make your 25th anniversary a special one. We hope to have you back again for your next anniversary. All the best, Nicole de Acevedo Ramos

Reviewed 1 week ago

Since it was early in the season, we were fortunate to sail with the owners and just a few others. What a treat to learn about the boat itself and the sailing life from those who clearly love it. Thank you, Nicole and Ramiro, for...More

Thank Peirins
Reviewed 1 week ago

Phantastic experience on 100 year old schooner with a very kind couple (skipper and his wife) who gave on top a lot of interesting explanations.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Andreas L
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fresh & Co.
905 reviews
.05 km away
Marriner's Restaurant
404 reviews
.11 km away
Camden Deli
736 reviews
.12 km away
Waterfront
1,030 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Camden Harbor Park and Amphitheatre
182 reviews
.14 km away
High Street Historic District
94 reviews
.03 km away
Camden Public Library
33 reviews
.16 km away
Ducktrap Bay Trading Co
14 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
eileen2255
Is there bathrooms onboard
19 August 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Wayne S | Reviewed this property |
Yes... great experience. There's only one sail with the music and desert... Also, if you ask, you can help them set the sails and steer the boat for awhile
0
Votes
eileen2255
Are there bathrooms onboard
19 August 2016|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from MSinBklyn | Reviewed this property |
There's a "head"-- in other words, a small on board portapotty!
0
Votes
t0mkane
What is cancellation policy if bad weather
26 July 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Steve K | Reviewed this property |
I was told by the owner a full refund or we could reschedule when the weather turned bad before our cruise. Lucky for us, we were able to go the next day. It was one of the highlights of our trip. I believe their... More
1
Vote