We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lazy Jack

15 Wharf St. Boothbay Harbor, Pier 1, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1872
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Best Sail in Boothbay Harbor, ME

This was our 9th year sailing with Joe (Captain), his son, Michael and new First Mate, Nate. Our... read more

Reviewed 19 August 2014
Ginny C
,
Winchester
WHAT A RELAXING TIME

My family and I set sail on the lazy jack on the 11th of august. It was so peaceful and relaxing to... read more

Reviewed 18 August 2014
jackb322205
,
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Read all 141 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Lazy Jack takes her lines from the traditional Gloucester fishing schooners of the 1850's and has had a colorful and notorious history as a fishing and passenger charter schooner. During the early years, Lazy Jack sailed between the East Coast, Man O War Key, and Cuba running guns, rum, cigars, and bananas. Today Lazy Jack offers 2 hr. day sails or private charters from Pier 1 in Boothbay Harbor. This is a real-time sailing experience. Weather and conditions are variable and adjustments to the schedule may occur. We sail wind and tide and use the engine sparingly and as needed. This is not a narrated tour but highlights of the area will be pointed out, questions will be answered to the best of our ability and marine life may appear at will! Guests are encouraged to bring a slicker or warm shirt. Food and beverage are not provided but are allowed. And last but not least...come ready to have a grand time in one of the most senic places in Maine!
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good10%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“his son” (25 reviews)
“captain joe” (41 reviews)
“hour sail” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
LOCATION
15 Wharf St. Boothbay Harbor, Pier 1, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1872
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"his son"
in 25 reviews
"captain joe"
in 41 reviews
"hour sail"
in 15 reviews
"sailing experience"
in 9 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 7 reviews
"beautiful schooner"
in 3 reviews
"great sail"
in 5 reviews
"weather was perfect"
in 2 reviews
"mate"
in 33 reviews
"sails"
in 22 reviews
"wind"
in 20 reviews
"sailors"
in 9 reviews
"passengers"
in 12 reviews
"boat"
in 56 reviews
"boothbay"
in 19 reviews
"crew"
in 14 reviews
"board"
in 12 reviews
Filter

51 - 60 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was our 9th year sailing with Joe (Captain), his son, Michael and new First Mate, Nate. Our last day and final sail for the year was fantastic - perfect weather and great conversation. Captain Joe talked about the history of the schooner but let...More

1  Thank Ginny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family and I set sail on the lazy jack on the 11th of august. It was so peaceful and relaxing to be out on the water gliding over the waves. The captain and the first mate we very friendly and answered every question we...More

Thank jackb322205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Captain Joe gave us a great sail aboard the Lazy Jack. The vessel is the real deal, meaning that the all wood construction, wooden blocks, and vintage looking sails make for an authentic experience. Captain Joe did not bore us with running commentary about other...More

Thank BBS-FGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We took our three children (11 to 4) out for a 2 hour excursion and they all have now fallen in love with sailing. What more is there to say? Worth the time and money.

Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Enjoyed a great sail on the Lazy Jack this past Saturday. Perfect boat and crew if you're looking to enjoy the views and the water. This is not a touristy type of ride with someone belting a bunch of noise through speakers. This is a...More

1  Thank Paul Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

After reading the reviews my husband, friends and I were looking forward to sailing on the Lazy Jack. We were very disappointed. We were underwhelmed and the tour is overrated. It was extremely uncomfortable sitting on the boat. The captain refused to give any commentary...More

4  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captainjoe1, Owner at Lazy Jack, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hello Susan: Thanks for your review albeit inaccurate and clearly off the mark with many other reviews. I looked back over the manifest to find your name and the name of your party but couldn't find you, so I can't be sure which trip you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We picked this boat over the others due to the look and feel of the boat. It has more character and personality so we felt drawn to it although both had openings the day we went (Thursday). We went out at 3:00 in the afternoon...More

Thank bagelhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Ask me if I think you should take a sail on the Schooner Lazy Jack and I'll respond with a hearty, "Aye, aye!" We've enjoyed three outings on the Lazy Jack so far, and next time we vacation in Boothbay Harbor, ME, we will be...More

Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time on the Lazy Jack. I've done several other sailing trips in Boothbay Harbor, but this was the by far the best. Captain Joe was great - very friendly. It was just like having a friend take us sailing for the...More

Thank CatInHat114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We didn't have much wind but that didn't matter- it was a delightful trip and the captain and his son were very pleasant! I appreciated the light heartedness of their style- this is not a boat to go on and have rocks pointed out to...More

Thank SCES14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
523 reviews
.09 km away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
347 reviews
.22 km away
Topside Inn
1,125 reviews
.24 km away
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf Resort
145 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Downeast Ice Cream
580 reviews
.01 km away
Shannon's Unshelled
310 reviews
.13 km away
Ports of Italy
1,072 reviews
.11 km away
Wannawaf
172 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Abacus Gallery
36 reviews
.07 km away
Ed Brown's Wharfside Gallery
5 reviews
.13 km away
Schooner Eastwind
320 reviews
.03 km away
Tidal Transit Kayak
125 reviews
.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
David B
16 August 2016|
Answer
Response from captainjoe1 | Property representative |
Thank you for your question. We will still be sailing on the 14,15, and 16th. However, on the 16th we change from our 4 trip schedule to our fall 3 trip schedule. Our schedule until the 15th will be 10:00 am, 12:30 pm, 3:00... More
0
Votes
Courtney M
11 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from captainjoe1 | Property representative |
There is a head aboard the vessel. There are also restroom facilities at the site that can be used before departure.
0
Votes
927seema40
5 June 2016|
Answer
Response from captainjoe1 | Property representative |
Thanks for asking Smita. Yes you can bring food and drink on board. Beverages for adult consumption are also allowed.
0
Votes
;