We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Diamond Jo Casino

301 Bell St, Dubuque, IA 52001-7004
+1 563-690-4800
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Small Casino

Not a large casino, but friendly staff and nice bar areas. There is a decent amount of gaming... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
DL5505
,
Minnesota
via mobile
Limited tables and mostly penny slots

We were not impressed with the selection of tables and slot machines. No keno and mostly penny... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Becky W
,
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
via mobile
Read all 436 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Dubuque, Iowa is overflowing with things to do and see. Try your luck in Dubuque's state-of-the-art casino, Diamond Jo, or enjoy all the sights, sounds and tastes of the city. No matter your particular taste, Dubuque has it!
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good35%
  • Average20%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“bowling alley” (43 reviews)
“sports bar” (22 reviews)
“slot machines” (25 reviews)
LOCATION
301 Bell St, Dubuque, IA 52001-7004
CONTACT
Website
+1 563-690-4800
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bowling alley"
in 43 reviews
"sports bar"
in 22 reviews
"slot machines"
in 25 reviews
"smoking is allowed"
in 6 reviews
"woodfire grill"
in 5 reviews
"non smokers"
in 8 reviews
"dueling pianos"
in 7 reviews
"penny machines"
in 7 reviews
"great buffet"
in 5 reviews
"table games"
in 12 reviews
"nice facility"
in 6 reviews
"staff was friendly"
in 6 reviews
"moon"
in 35 reviews
"gambling"
in 39 reviews
"smoky"
in 37 reviews
"cherry"
in 13 reviews
"upstairs"
in 23 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Not a large casino, but friendly staff and nice bar areas. There is a decent amount of gaming options available.

Thank DL5505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We were not impressed with the selection of tables and slot machines. No keno and mostly penny slots. Ventilation could be better in this casino. Air quality was poor.

Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went here on a bus trip for the day, I was here many years ago when it was a boat on the river. I was pleasantly surprise in this new place. The machines were tight and did not pay off a lot, the old...More

Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Boyd Customer Service at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Rich, Thanks for taking time to give us your feedback on your recent visit. We're glad to hear you like the new casino, we think it's pretty great too. Sorry to hear you didn't win big, but we look forward to making your next experience...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We always try to have a short visit in the casino just to do something different. We're not gamblers, but this casino has a really fun bowling alley in the upper floor of the casino. Unfortunately the time we visited had league bowling going on...More

Thank kimdH7049RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, other at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It's great to hear that you've enjoyed your time at Cherry Lanes. We appreciate your patronage and value you as a customer. We strive to provide an entertainment experience that everyone can enjoy, and while many areas of our property do allow smoking, we do...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Preffered over the Q. Easy to navigate, friendly staff, impressive variety of slots. Top notch atmosphere. Enjoyed my stay!! A housekeeper "Kody" put a smile on my face the entire time I played, splendid work ethic, charasmatic. They are lucky to have employees as such!...More

Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Boyd Customer Service at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Excellent! We are so happy to hear you had an awesome experience on your visit to Diamond Jo. We have passed along your comments to the Facilities Department as we love to see our Team Members get the recognition they deserve. We look forward to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Hit or miss. Slots are usually pretty tight. Buffet is great but Situated inside casino so unfortunately you are not able to bring children in for a meal. There are a bowling alley and sports bar on the upper level, sports bar closes early, bowling...More

Thank menfinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Boyd Customer Service at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Diamond Jo. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your experience, and that our service fell short of your expectations. Although children are not allowed on the casino floor and in the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

It was girls weekend and we ate at the sports bar (it was awesome) and then split up and half of us gambled and the other half went moonlight bowling! Had a blast! Would definately recommend checking it out! One of my friends won $500!...More

Thank CHRIS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Boyd Customer Service at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Chris, We are so glad to hear you had a 5 star experience with us! Congratulations to your friend on their win, and we look forward to your future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

ordered the chicken and could hardly eat it and or diid not fall off the bone cooed you pay for everything on plate and not cheapMore

Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Boyd Customer Service at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Jim, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at Woodfire Grille. We are disappointed to hear your experience fell short of the high service standards we set at our company. We are always looking at ways to improve...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

This is a beautiful property and the casino staff is very friendly. I really enjoyed the security officer at the door telling me I looked like I was 23... funny guy. One crotchety dealer (female in her 60's working Wednesday at 3pm), but everyone else...More

Thank Eatingsiouxcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

I had been to this casino about one year ago, and I thoroughly enjoyed myself again. Lots of low denomination slots so your money goes further. Had a problem with my free play and my player card and they were very helpful and pleasant. Will...More

Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreviousNext
12345644
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Dubuque
Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
1,803 reviews
.26 km away
Canfield Hotel
33 reviews
.37 km away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
2,463 reviews
.43 km away
Holiday Inn Dubuque
335 reviews
.48 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Caroline's Restaurant
793 reviews
.42 km away
Sunshine Family Restaurant
263 reviews
.39 km away
Vinny Vanucchi's
458 reviews
.42 km away
Pepper Sprout
242 reviews
.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
National Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium
1,325 reviews
.15 km away
Stone Cliff Winery
156 reviews
.51 km away
Dubuque Welcome Center
64 reviews
.44 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Booboo1Minnesota
13 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Ginny S | Property representative |
The Diamond Jo does not have a hotel, but Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark is right across the street. Hotel Julien and Holiday Inn are located a short distance away on Main St. We do provide shuttle service to area hotels... More
1
Vote
Lucy D
1 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Ginny S | Property representative |
Yes, you can choose to celebrate on Nov 7, 14 or 21! All Diamond Club members with a Nov birthday receive a free lunch or dinner buffet and free beverage at Tree Bar on any one of those dates. Print out your coupons at an... More
0
Votes