We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Captain Jack's Guide Service

Features Animals
St. George Island, FL, USA
More
About Captain Jack's Guide Service
Captain Jack's Guide Service offers inshore & offshore fishing charters and custom boat tours on St. George Island and Apalachicola. Let's catch some fish!
Read more
Travellers talk about

Captain Jack's Guide Service
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
41Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Amy S wrote a review Oct 2021
Lexington, Kentucky, United States11 contributions1 helpful vote
He was a no show. We discussed the date, time and where to meet. I then asked about cost and when he replied I texted 'see you tomorrow'. That was the end of the booking as far as I knew. We arrived 15 minutes early and immediately texted we were there. No response. A 2nd text was sent at what should have been our departure time. Again no response. We waited another 15 minutes and I called. He answered and as soon as I said who I was he hung up without saying anything else. An hour later he is still texting defensively. So disappointing since we rarely get to the gulf and we were very much looking forward to the experience.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from CaptainJackF, Owner at Captain Jack's Guide Service
Responded 19 Apr 2022
You know ive ran across some really strange folks the past couple of years. If you paied no deposit you had no trip. You never finished your part in your booking. Ive been stood up 5 times in 2021 because I wanted to trust my clients to show up. Everyone that go's through with the booking gets a rsvp which gets my attention that you really want to go fishing. EVEN WHEN I SENT RSVP'S IVE HAD FOLKS NOT SHOW UP. You are among a very few that fits the black list of rediculous people. I have fished thousands of people that followed protocol for my booking procedure. Ive never hung up on anyone that needed my services in the history of my fishing career. This is how i take care of my family it is my job and my life. So i understand being an exlaw enforcement officer that folks will just react and thier never at falt. You should have followed through to insure your day was booked solidly. Its not my responsibility to chase you down by phone to get you to follow through! If i said I'll see you tomorrow I would have been at the dock waiting 30 minutes earlier getting ready as i always do. October is a big month for some great fishing. So i probably most likely given that you didnt do your part someone else did there part and got a fishing trip. I stay busy. I have no time for folks not getting back with me on finishing up thier booking info. Im sorry that you feel this way but i dont believe nothing your saying is true. Or you would have had a trip. Have a nice day.
Read more
John C wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Our family of four had a great morning on the water with Captain Jack. Having grown up in the area, he is very knowledgeable about where to find the fish. After casting his net for the bait fish we were quickly on our way to catching our own fish. If the fish were not biting in one area, we didn't stay long and Captain Jack moved to another area. Captain Jack was very helpful with our various skill levels. Next time we go fishing in the area, I will call Captain Jack again. And, if you have a chance, ask Captain Jack if he has any of his honey for sale. We bought a jar and it is delicious!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Robyn A wrote a review Jun 2021
Homewood, Alabama3 contributions1 helpful vote
Captain Jack went out of his way to make sure we all had an enjoyable day fishing. He is professional, prepared and ready for action! He kept my 10, 12 and 14 year olds busy catching fish all morning! We were so grateful for the clean fish we had to prepare for dinner with friends!
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rod C wrote a review Aug 2020
Valdosta, Georgia3 contributions
I chartered Capt Jack mostly for the kids. He said he likes working with kids and he did not disappoint. He never got aggravated or short with the inexperienced fisherman he had that day. Within 5 minutes he had a pod of porpoises swimming in our wake. The next 5 minutes he had us on fish which never stopped during our 4 hour charter. He provided all the tackle and bait as well as baiting hooks and removing fish. He was a busy man but always was great with the kids, one who was learning to fish that day. He went straight to where the fish were, no looking around wasting fishing time. He cleaned every fish when the trip was over. He was not only professional but more importantly engaged and kind with ALL of us.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
gary wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
We traveled the gulf coast from texas to old town florida from october 19 thru the 29th. We decided to get some fishing in in Appalachicola, and were fortunate to call on jack frye's guide service first shot.He got back to us in less than 20 minutes from our text request, and were set up with a time and place for the next day. All handled professionally and easy to understand. We showed up at the dock to find a very nice catamaran bay boat outfitted very nicely for the trip, and all the fishing tackle ,in good repair, that we could possibly need. It didn't take very long to realize that Jack has an amazing depth of knowledge of the waters there, and truly loves what he is doing. The fact that he grew up there probably has alot to do with that!! We truly enjoyed our time on the water, and it was over too soon. So, I had no option but to come back a day or so later and do it again. Jack is a true professional and an honorable man, and I would encourage anyone who is looking for a great time to give him a try!! Thanks again Jack!! Gary and Marie Gebert.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from CaptainJackF, Owner at Captain Jack's Guide Service
Responded 4 Nov 2019
Thanks again Mr Gary! I look forward to seeing you guys again for a great trip. Travel safe my new friends. Untill next time🎣
Read more
Previous
123456